Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

No Pictures Please

by Quetzakol - Compo Entry

Hi !

Here is my participation to the 33rd edition of Ludum Dare ! In this puzzle game, you are an evil creature living in a cave. Some explorers want to take pictures of you but you can't allow it. That's why you are going to kill them all before they get out of the cave.

Some mechanics include hitting someone, throwing its body on other explorers or creating a shock wave that will make stalactites fall. The game is a mix of reflection and good timing. There are 14 levels. I wish I had time to make more but I had no time.

Don't hesitate to comment my game :) !

EDIT : It seems that the Linux version doesn't work, if anyone has a problem with it, please let me know.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness81%
#108Fun3.66
#155Overall3.62
#172Innovation3.50
#188Theme3.83
#259Mood3.30
#330Humor3.00
#412Audio2.85
#475Graphics3.07

Comments

Crypto137 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 1:45pm

An interesting puzzle game, but the difficulty is tuned to be way too hard. You need to be absolutely perfect in order to just beat the level.

I'd recommened lowering the difficulty and creating a rating system for each level, rewarding for doing well, and not punishing for not doing absolutely perfect.

The graphics are decent, and the theme is pretty fun and innovative. I think that with some more work done it might be a fun game.

Nnnnneeeedddd says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 1:50pm

This game is awesome, I love the puzzleness. Fantastic entry (one of the best I have seen so far)

Nizl says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:00pm

Wow! That was really good :O

Dodging the tennis balls or bullets is quite difficult, but it's really cool to come up with a own strategy on how to solve the puzzle.

Also I found it really cool that you can basically pick everything up and throw it!
One thing that somehow irks me are the controls. They are ok I think but if you get hasty you just press everything and hope to kill everyone haha.
Good job!

Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:12pm

Really good game. Just bad that no real end.

Kalkatos says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:33pm

Great, great puzzle game! I had a good time with this one.

Almost perfect compo game. Just need some adjustments on the difficulty curve, make it more gradually increasing. Level 5, for instance, is way more difficult than the following levels.

But that's hard to adjust in 48 hours. So, I think its ok! :) Congratulations!

@SamPotasz says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:17pm

Good! Difficult! Good!

Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:27pm

The puzzle structure is quite good, but sometimes the level is easier beaten without doing what the tutorial instructions says...

RadioLemon says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:34pm

Fun puzzle game that got pretty hard at times, but I never felt like it was impossible, good flow. If there were more levels I would defiantly play them. The earthquake is OP.

Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:37pm

Nice game with an interesting concept and challenging gameplay.

Don_Martinez says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:59pm

Great Puzzle Design! One of my favorites for sure.

KeyboardCat says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:00pm

A little difficult but that's a really great game.

Good job !

aprotasenya says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:03pm

Tricky puzzler, which does not look as such at the beginning. This is interesting. I plus to what Crypto137 said about the difficulty, though.
I liked how you introduce new mechanics and objects level by level and then reuse them. And the fact that the tasks of the level are bite-sized: nothing complicated, everything is simple to understand (but way difficult to perform at times).

VividReality says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:26pm

I liked playing this game because it offers a variety of methods and strategies. It was fun, good effort!

SoulGame says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:59pm

I first thought it would be a fighting/rampage game, but it quickly turned out to be a pretty clever puzzle game with an interesting take of the theme. Kinda subtle after all. I felt the speed of my character was a bit slow but still okay. Appreciated the Throw mecanics which takes a very cool part in resolving puzzles. Nice work!

S0rax says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:24pm

It's a really good puzzle game, and the difficulty is growing. Noce job ;)

rudra says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:41pm

Quite nice puzzle game, initially seemed to be easy at first site, but became harder on progress, well done !

UltraRat says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 9:16am

Cool. Like most other difficult puzzle games a reset button would be nice as often I'd realize I'd screwed up the second I went down.

Aug 26, 2015 @ 12:31pm

Really neat game, love the different ways to kill the people! I included it in part 6 of my Ludum Dare 33 Compilation video series, if you would like to take a look :) https://youtu.be/keaznjOtLXA

AndreSilvs says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 1:16pm

Fun and innovative game and fits the theme very well. However you've made the levels very difficult and it takes many tries to get it right. I had to play a few times to see where the explorers would head or to throw things perfectly. This should be somewhat easier.
Other than that it's a fun idea for a game.

TicZo says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 2:12pm

Some of the puzzles seem to hard but the game is interesting and fun Btw i found a way to cheat the game kill everyone on one side then go forever to the other side and use attack always since the levels do let you move out of the camera view

Quetzakol says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 2:55pm

Thank you all for playing my game :) I know some levels are very hard but I had no time to adjust that :/

@TicZo : I know this cheat, actually the monster should not have been able to go out of the screen but one of the things I forgot ^^

jcwelgemoed says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 6:25pm

fun game.just a bit tough.
:)

napoleon says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 10:16pm

THE HARDEST GAME I HAVE EVER PLAYED. NOT KIDDING.

dunin says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 6:41pm

I didn't expect a puzzle game, I was pleasantly surprised!
cool concept!

Sep 9, 2015 @ 2:20pm

Very enjoyable puzzle game. There were moments where the difficulty seemed to ramp up a lot, but those tended to be the "time to lean a new move" moments (like jumping or doing the sonic boom in a jump instead of when falling), which is where you want your difficulty bumps. Different type of puzzle game and I enjoyed being able to throw anything on the screen.

Louspirit says ...
Sep 10, 2015 @ 2:44pm

Very good game, appreciated it ! I even didn't feel the puzzleness because it is enjoyable to control the monster with arrows :)

camthestar says ...
Sep 15, 2015 @ 12:25am

Really cool game and the graphics were pretty good. It was maybe a little too difficult though

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]