Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Angry Bull

by Maxxim - Compo Entry

You are an angry zombie bull, trying to hide in the woods. But the damn hikers are every where. Get them all before they can escape and reveal your hideout.

How to play:

WASD to move
SPACE to attack
Use AP(aggro points) to upgrade your skills

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#269Humor3.18
#532Fun2.93
#541Graphics2.94
#558Audio2.49
#669Theme3.05
#698Mood2.61
#730Innovation2.56
#738Overall2.80
#1504Coolness44%

Comments

terop says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:10pm

very nice 3d graphics.

moon519 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:16pm

The concept is good, I laughed when I heard the sound effects, so this is nice ;D The controls are not very good, too slow and too slippery.
I enjoyed playing :)

Shina69 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:41am

Honestly i was expecting some more action and blood other than collapsed well-designed 3D blocks on a slow rhythm pace. Not the best i have seen today but neither the worst.

jcourt says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:41am

Just looking at the description I wouldn't think it would be very good, but its actually pretty fun.

djfariel says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:43am

A few typos here and there in text, no big deal.

I almost agreed with the moon519, but then I played a few rounds and got up to about level 4 in everything and the controls were phenomenal.

That said, the hikers need to not come from the edge, or at least not be able to return to the edge that they came from. I understand that this gives a degree of strategy in waiting for the hikers to get far enough in and striking from behind, BUT every once in a while a hiker just pops out, goes "oh no, I'm outta here."

pcmccull says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:49am

Really funny concept and great sound effect!

wavegunner232 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:36am

the concept is great but it is confusing and times and in wbgl its really laggy (but its wbgl) anyway overall a pretty great game

wavegunner232 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:37am

a great game overall my only problem is it can be confusing

FZeroRacer says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:56am

It's a good concept but it's just really slow at the start which hurts the game a lot.

Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:00am

In my opinion it takes to long to level up.

Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:34am

I had so much fun! Hiding in the woods and then charging at the hikers is a fabulous idea!! This game has great potential.

Fanatrick says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:37am

Proper ragdolls would've made this game really really fun! I scored 650 :)

Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:48am

Got addicted to this game for a bit, played a solid 7 rounds before the sleep deprivation kicked in. The controls were very slippery but oddly made the game more addictive.

Kaltic says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:02am

A little slow, even after leveling. Like the idea though if only there was more impact with movement and collisions.

Geckoo1337 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:04am

Nice project. Maybe too slow to be really enjoyable, but it's good enough. Thank you for this entry ++

ZacharyD says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:31am

Great sound effects! It's fun, and I like the controls.

Caspila says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:00am

hahaha i love the fact that the humans bounce against each other too. Very nice humour. Controls not that great though, felt as slippery as ice. It was fun anyways!

Boehrsi says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:39am

Well done, a bit slow controls, but nice graphics and the sound was great :D

Leopoldine says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:43am

A bit slow but fun game.
Keep working on it to perform ur game ; )

Shaw says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:03am

Graphics are nice, shadows a good, game is simple and fun, good job.

dhargan says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:14am

good game. it lacks the theme part since it is not "you are the bull" but still, i like it. very funny audio :D

Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:41pm

Pros:
-Nice Graphics.
-Hillarious Sounds.
-I like the upgrade system.
Cons:
-When you build it for web player, always tick stream.
-Controls are a bit difficult to handle.

Graphics:What you would expect from Unity. 5/5.
Audio:Excellent sound fx, but could do with some music. 4/5.
Concept:Nice idea! Suits the theme. 5/5.
Controls:Needs work. 3/5.
Overall:Great game! I would rate this game highly, but I didn't participate. I hope it wins! 5/5.

RoboNebula says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:05pm

The graphics are nice, but turning is very slow and an animaton would also be nice

gnuwilliam says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:09pm

Nice concept and graphics!

Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:10pm

537 points :)
Good game, controls could do with being faster but apart from that really good effort :)

ChrisFagan says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:27pm

It was fun though the controls were a little slow, especially when turning. I enjoyed it though!

Pierrec says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:48pm

At first I was worried by the bull speed, but I understood the upgrade thing later. I think the upgrades shouls be more effective (we don't really feel the speed/agility upgrade unless ungrading 3 points at once). Otherwise it's more fun to play than I would have expected.
Also, sometimes people die by themselves. Bug or feature? anyway it's funny

zanenga says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:49pm

Awesome concept! I think the controls could be a little tighter.

Boberro says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:43pm

Addicting

KAGSme says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:11pm

I like the blocky, lego-like, visuals. It feels like the game could benefit from a faster and more frantic feeling bull as it feels a little to slow for my liking. at least it moves around with some weight.

Goodzilla says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:01pm

Fun to play and I like the scenario!

ruthiepee says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:22pm

Cool game, I like the concept a lot. I feel like it could be more fun if the bull were faster at first, but I like the upgrade system you implemented. Great sound effects.

Feetsalot says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:22pm

Very fluid controls, however it is annoying that the hikers spawn from the outside as if you are near there spawn they just immeadeatly walk back into the wall and you lose. Otherwise great concept! ;D

struffy says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:06pm

I really like the idea of a bull - rather than just an another angry goat sim - its hinting at protecting its turf from ramblers crossing the field.

you could add control override of some sort for ramblers that have red. it might pull you toward them.

corupta says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:50pm

Nice job with the idea and graphics. Controlling the bull(an interesting animal to choose, because of how they move) feels like drifting.

Aug 26, 2015 @ 2:45am

Yeah, i had to play this again today. It makes me giggle!

Dianouille says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 6:03pm

It's a little hard to handle the controls at first, but I like the concept of upgrading. Good job ! :)

Biruts says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 12:52am

Very nice project guys, i really love it, please check our game too and if you liked it give us a vote. Look for Road to hell and enjoy.

El Cabaro says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 12:59am

This wasn't what i was expecting but it was great. This game struck a good nerve with me. It's so simple that it's amusing. That's what makes it great. I believe i'll keep this one around...

Aug 30, 2015 @ 1:44am

Cool low poly. Liked how the guys fell over when I touched them.

barigorokarl says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 9:00am

Haha, nice one. A little more responsive controls were nice, maybe a dash foreward on attack. But otherwise the funniest entry today :-D

sararyCow says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 7:45pm

I found controls a bit unresponsive but overall I could enjoy the game. Nice graphics.

REIN1 says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 10:22am

Very addictive.

arzi says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 8:01am

I like the concept, but the bull was way too slow. Also would be good to have at least some animation in the bull.

Kai20 says ...
Sep 10, 2015 @ 3:17pm

sorry but i feel drunk as hell

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]