Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Star Savior

by unnamed1334 - Jam Entry

The Dark Lord of SPAAAAAAACE has been a curse upon the universe for many years. There appeared no way to stop the The Dark Lord of SPAAAAAAACE's advance. The situation appeared hopeless. However, someone appeared who would change this. This savior would return peace to the universe. Pilot a star fighter, defeat hoards of enemies, and buy increasing potent upgr-

Oh wait, wrong game.

You are a pilot working for The Dark Lord of SPAAAAAAACE. You are given orders and expected to follow them under penalty of death. Not a lot happens in the backwater sector that you are currently assigned to. This makes it all the more strange when a single ship starts charging directly at the station you are positioned at. The communication devise suddenly clicks on and The Dark Lord of SPAAAAAAACE gives you your orders...


Controls:

W-A-S-D or arrow keys to move.
Space to fire your weapon.
R to restart. The game does not automatically restart when you die.

Hints:
If the text is to fast to read you can pause the game.

If it is to hard to read the text and dodge, you can die and the text will continue playing.

If you spend to much time on the first level, you are told what you are really meant to do.

Game too hard? Check the credits menu on the level select.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#331Humor(Jam)3.16
#381Mood(Jam)3.32
#477Theme(Jam)3.52
#663Overall(Jam)3.05
#766Graphics(Jam)2.85
#827Innovation(Jam)2.62
#880Fun(Jam)2.57
#1713Coolness37%

Comments

flokitall says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:32pm

Games in this action / "bullet-hell" genre are generally more fast paced, with a lot more emphasis on the player's movement in enemy fire. Perhaps increasing the player's speed would make the experience more enjoyable? That way you would need to dodge through the enemy bullets while also trying to take them out. Right now your ship feels somewhat sluggish.

I think your decision to make your own bullets destroy the bullets of your enemy was an interesting one. Most similar games just let projectiles pass through each other. I think that idea is worth exploring, although you'd need to give the player some way of pointing his weapon, not just shooting straight ahead. Right now hitting anything is difficult since you're firing in a straight line, just like your opponent, and your bullets are canceling each other. If however you were able to point your weapon, the game would become more about firing without intersecting the enemy line of fire, while also dodging things. Seems worth experimenting with...

Theme-wise I enjoyed it, the feeling that you're essentially a ship like all the rest, going against a super powerful hero, all while some evil overlord is explaining his vision. Well done :)

liquidmedia says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:46pm

Nice game I like some of the levels it did not seem to mater if you get hit by something.

Halleflux says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:40am

A very interesting story. Well done.

..Yeah, I don't have much else to say. It's really very well done.

Is there a way to complete the last level, or do you just die?

unnamed1334 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:00am

The last level can be completed.

The orbs can be destroyed with your gun (It takes 10 shots) but can only be damaged if the cheat code is not being held down when the bullet hits the orb (The code makes everything invincible not just you).

daveh says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:14am

It needed to be faster. I liked using other ships as cover from projectiles - devilish.

WASDMagician says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:52pm

I liked the theme of this, the switching of perspective is nice, the story line works quite well, a faster pace would have been benefitial I think, as would some audio.

peterkirk says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:11pm

I find the idea of a reversed-schmup really interesting.
I didn’t feel as if my actions of lack of actions had any consequences.

the31 says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:57am

Cool use of the theme! I like the reversal and second reversal. I much agree that the gameplay is kinda slow, though. It's also hard to read the white text on the suns (?). I noticed in the last level that you couldn't go down where the text appeared--maybe a semitransparent background would have helped readability. If the text gradually appeared it might have drawn my eye better too. Neat idea!

vegapomme27 says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 3:22pm

It's a bit too slow, I think. It should be faster and nervous. It's pretty cool that you had time to do so much levels; but I would have focused on the gameplay.
Nice work tho

Aug 30, 2015 @ 10:42am

Really cool story! Awesomely written and cool starship graphics!

Sep 1, 2015 @ 3:51pm

Nice game!

If you want to make a version 2.0, you should speed up the player and bullets, use some explosion/dust particle effects, and maybe get this Unity asset for the backgrounds https://www.assetstore.unity3d.com/en/#!/content/7095

Norgg says ...
Sep 9, 2015 @ 4:04pm

Played through it to the end, there seems to be a hint that there's maybe some alternative end to level 1? I've tried shooting the "player" for quite a while, hitting them a bunch of times before giving up and flying on past.

I agree with @flokitall that the pace was a bit slow. The plot was interesting, though kind of unsatisfying at the end.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]