Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Grave

by uheartbeast - Compo Entry

This game was built by one person in under 48 hours for the Ludum Dare 33 game jam.

Controls
Move Left - A
Move Right - D
Roll - Space
Attack - Left Mouse Button
Restart - R

This game is no longer available.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness82%
#15Graphics4.52
#24Overall4.05
#30Mood4.01
#38Fun3.96
#276Audio3.13
#431Theme3.45
#493Innovation2.95
#686Humor2.21

Comments

Aug 24, 2015 @ 1:37am

Best game. Turned out amazing and got to watch the whole thing get made :D

Komodo1138 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 1:45am

Great Game, Watched most of the game get made on Twitch. Thank you uHeartBeast for some great free entertainment.

Noah says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 1:55am

I love this game so much!

SoloGameDev says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:08am

Very Fun and Very Addicting.

EwChap says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:10am

Amazing. Quite a fun experience. Beautiful animations.

QuexD says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:24am

GG.

soggygames says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:25am

Watched the entire stream! Impressive game.

FlashMonkey says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:40am

I love the graphic style and the gameplay is so smooth i love it :).

mklee says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:37am

It's hard to believe this was made in a jam! The combat is very polished, lots of learning and understand how to position yourself and use your roll just properly. The animations are gorgeous for your character and every enemy. Really terrific stuff!

mactinite says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:09am

Now this is really awesome! The animations are great and the attacking feels great. Just wow!

DarkStar says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:25am

wow that is smooth. great game!

Gelatohead says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:35am

I'm pretty sure that if tumblr bloggers played this enough, they would be ready for the skeleton wars (tumblr joke). I actually enjoyed this. The health points should gradually move into the player, though (if they already do, I couldn't tell).

filiph says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:54am

You did this in 48 hours! Wow.

This is way too fun to play. The controls are spot on, the flow is there.

Not super innovative, but who cares. It's a great game, even outside LD.

DragonXVI says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:15am

Cool! Pretty simple enough, but well presented and good sense of physicality to the animations. The big guys're annoyin' :p

Devark says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:19am

Lovely aesthetic. I love your style of pixel art. Even though it was frustrating, I enjoyed getting blown back by that huge titan. Those spiraling exp orbs also bring me back to your Deep Magic days (old fan here). The game feels really nice and rewards skill, while also punishing mal-timed and greedy swings. Also screenshake! (Y)

Kahztein says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:52am

Visually stunning, combat is fluent and idea is simple but well executed.
Another great Ludum Dare entry from HeartBeast!

adamwoolridge says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:14am

Really swish art and animations! Really felt like I wanted to jump though! :) Good job!

Split82 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:20am

Excellent graphics and mood. Yes and all the animations were awesome. Reminds me a little bit of Risk of Rain.

Monokles says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:59am

Wow this is game is amazing, the mechanics feel extremely solid and very satisfying.

jorgemoag says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:21am

Great game. One of the best. Good job. Well done.

nicotuason says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 12:22pm

Even with a limited color palette, the art is striking. I love the animation on this. It looks dramatic and stylish. Great hack n slash mechanics too!

pirate_shell says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 12:53pm

This was one of the few LD entries I can say was really solidly built. I had no issue with the controls in any way. The combat felt fun and responsive and the delay the inputs had was delibarate and made for a much deeper combat system. The graphics were stellar and the atmosphere was on point. Overall, a awesome entry that felt very polished.

Aug 24, 2015 @ 1:17pm

I saw you making this on twitch. Great game, amazing graphics and I love your videos :)

LeoM says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 1:43pm

Very nice graphics and animations ! The big guy is very strong ! :s

Deadeyejoe says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 1:44pm

Great job ! everything is good ! but the game is a few repetitive :)

Aug 24, 2015 @ 1:48pm

Your game is so attmospheric, the silewet art looks really cool
the gameplay fun. :D

Aurel Bílý says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 1:55pm

Simple game, but quite nicely polished and fun. Very nice feedback on attacks, good timing and all :)

johnhackworth says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 1:57pm

One of my favorites!

Conk says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 1:58pm

This is amazing! really fun and brilliant art!

Lacaranian says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 1:58pm

Simple and sweet. Music was unobtrusive, mechanics were hard but fair after the tall guys appear (seemed to me like there was a Dark Souls influence, but I've been playing that lately). My favorite part may have actually been the background art - good use of parallax!

Sunflower says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 1:58pm

Got to level 6 with 100+ kills, got defeated by a stoopid bird.

The yay:
- animation!
- graphics in general
- somewhat fun
- the giant enemy

The nay:
- I feel like I don't know everything I should; for example, the white orbs left from enemies might or might not be experience, and I can't see how much is left till the next level, and I don't know if levelling up does anything else aside from restoring some bit of health...?
- the battle/movement didn't feel exactly smooth to me; maybe it has something to do with how you cannot move when attacking and that it takes a bit of time after attack before I can move?

Pretty cool (if maybe not very innovative) entry overall. ^^

01101101 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:00pm

Nice game, combat feels pretty good! I especially like the mood and the art, well done!

Pheonise says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:01pm

This game is great!
Combat felt a little jagged when dealing with many birds, but overall I loved it!

chrissou says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:04pm

Great graphics and animations! Awesome game

azakhary says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:04pm

Love the style and graphics, fighting seems pretty actionable and it's generally fun to play. The only thing is, I kinda want to jump all the time, but I can only roll. This felt like a game where player wants to actually smash everyone easily and enjoy the view, but you made it hard. Not sure if it's good or bad, but was nice experience anyway.

Shaw says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:07pm

Excellent game, mood is fantastic, graphics are spot on. Seriously well done.

Sunflower says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:08pm

Oh, also, the attack with mouse seems pretty unnecessary to me. I mean, mouse position doesn't really seem to be used, so it wouldn't hurt to make the game keyboard only rather than having player control movement with one hand and a single attack button with another. ^^"

recursor says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:11pm

Lovely pixel art and solid polished game play from a simple concept. This is how you do Ludum Dare. Nice!

TagliatL says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:21pm

Nice controller, nice mood and nice graphics!
I killed 66 enemies!

Manou says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:25pm

Awesome art direction, make it a metroidvania !

Odefus says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:27pm

While it doesn't innovate much, it is very solid at what it does. The fluid animations and the screenshakes make the game feel very impactful. Was also fun to notice the enemies do friendly fire as well.

Fine work, skeleton!

folex70 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:43pm

awesome

OxyOxspring says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:53pm

Practically perfect in every way!~

dusho says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:26pm

great game, love the animations.. was trying to jump all the time.. don't know why

conormn says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:33pm

Very well executed. Love the roll.

sydream says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:39pm

Nice work, love the art style (I envy so much your ability to make pixel art so perfectly and easily), good gameplay though would have been nice few more touches like additional weaponary/bonus ability/etc. Overall i like it and it's well aligned with the theme

Polyganz says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:39pm

Plays well, wish there was more and a keyboard mapping for the attack or some more control over the attacks. Great job!

pi_pi3 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:23pm

This is awesome. I love it.

Jared Sartin says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:45pm

Super pretty! Can't wait to see more!

stoarch says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:33pm

So good gameplay. Daemon souls in 2d. And very difficult. Thank you. You're awesome

PixlWalkr says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:43pm

Art and mood are nice, the battle is also good.

uheartbeast says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:45pm

Thank you everyone for you positive comments and great feedback!

Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:48pm

Exceptionally polished, from the animation to the controls to the subtle heart-beat sound effect in the background. I felt that the game was a little easy at first, but things quickly ramped up when that giant knight showed up and ruined my day.
An excellent game.

Techblogogy says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:55pm

Amazing game, very fun to play. The art style and mood blend together nicely. Great Job! :)

sleepYxy says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:05pm

Wow great and addicting game! Polished art, subtle soundtrack and effects, and simple but great mechanics.

Although it is tough that your dodge does not cancel the attack animation but maybe that is to the benefit of the difficulty of timing you attacks spot on.

That big guy, dude.. great emphasis on the strength of his blows and doing friendly fire. :)

rnlf says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:17pm

Pretty cool game! It really has style! The controls are a bit weird and a bit laptop-unfriendly. Besides that really, really cool!

jsmars says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:22pm

Very nice overall and great simplistic style!

kidando says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:23pm

One of the best games I played so far. Would have been nice to have some heavy background music playing. I see mad potential with this one. Maybe even mobile since it's got simple controls. Hope to see this develop after ldJam. #respect

DavidErosa says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:36pm

Wow, great entry, simple but effective. The big guy is really hard to beat!

MaesK says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:17pm

Awesome, excellent graphics and animations. Fun and interesting.

StrideWide says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:34pm

Impressive, love how juiced this is.

ajopart says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:52pm

Reaaaallly fun to play. I miss some punchy music to make it epic. Graphics are amazing

GFM says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:33pm

Great graphics!

The game was fun, but then I felt like there were way more things than I could possibly react to. Like, birds were coming from both sides and I couldn't roll out of danger, as there were skeletons nearby... I had to choose what would hit me... Instead of only getting harder, it gets unfairer.

Also, I found the controls scheme to be somewhat weird... Why space and mouse button? There's no use of the mouse pointer, so it could had been any keyboard button...

Still, the game has a simple and fun combat system! Well done!

Vaida says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:34pm

The animations look amazing and give the game an awesome feel. The game feels satisfying to play, due to the attention to detail: the particles, the sound effects and the screen shake. If I had to pick on something, I would say that the background art and audio could have been improved, but I do realise that the time limit made polish everywhere impossible. Great job! :)

Andrew Deem says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:29pm

WOW! Gotta love a game where you feel like a total badass. Good controls, cool design, really FUN. The art is good too.

TestSubject06 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:29pm

Fantastic!

redzero says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:41pm

awesome game! That giant knight is scary at the begining, but isn't hard to dodge his attacks. Btw, RIP LD33.

Zammalad says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:52pm

One the better entries in the event. Watched a lot of the development while I was working on my own entry.

Graphics are probably the entries best asset but overall the whole game is polished well and is nice to play.

Well done.

tuben999 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:13pm

Could be roll dodging all day! :D overall really solid game audio could be a bit more "satisfying" good work! :)

chromebookbob says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:24pm

I love the rolling animation, its so fluid

johnnwfs says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:34pm

Great game overall. With all the high praise I don't need to add more. If anything could be tweaked it'd be that - at least when I played, I could stand in one spot and just keep swinging and mostly kept from getting hit until the boss arrived (with a bit of movement to pick up health). May have been a quirk of my round. (And to sandwich the compliment, excellent job overall)

thristhart says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:05pm

Beautiful and clean! I feel like the theme is only really present in that you have a skeleton sprite. Maybe that's an issue with the theme, though...

madcapacity says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:25pm

Great game, the combat felt weighty. I loved your art! Played through a couple of time.

KunoNoOni says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:29pm

Mind = Blown.

Meursault says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:54pm

Great game, the art style is awesome. the controlls feel a little bit to indirectly. Also the the huge enemy is a big spike in difficulty. Befor that everything is very easy. Therefore its a bit frustrating. But alltogether a very good game :-)

Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:56pm

Awesome submission!

Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:01am

Very fun to play, although the giant was pretty frustrating. Also, I have no idea what the white orbs did.

CodeNMore says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:14am

Love how this game looks, plays, everything!

Bsevers18 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:29am

well done! turned out great, very moody. Thanks for all your tutorials that helped me make my game :D

Cerberus says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:46am

It was a really good game. Loved the graphics and the smoothness in the controls. it was a really thought out game. congrats!

TeamNerdLife says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:11am

Really enjoy the animation and the game!

LandoSystems says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:19am

Beautiful game, has a great feel. Made me feel like I was on a Game Boy :)

Frump says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:56am

Awesome game man! Thanks for the videos too. I referenced your random gen videos a lot during the making of my LD33 game.

omaha says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:25am

Mood, graphics, fun, it's all here. I'm amazed at how much you managed to squeeze out of two or three basic sounds. Visually stunning.

boardtobits says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:30am

Cool fighting game, excellent controls. Nice graphics, too.

randoman says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:07am

Graphics are great! Didn't last long when the big guy showed up, but it was fun! Congrats on the entry!

Birke says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:50am

Feels good to play and the art and animation is really awesome. Wish I could jump. Don't know what I would use it for but it feels like it should be there. Had 36 kills

mantis says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:27am

Really great game. Amazing graphics too!

Nikteddy92 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:19am

OMG THIS IS GREAT!
I really love the graphic style! Is clean and perfect!
And the gameplay is GREAT! Best game so far! Well Done!

Druid says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:02am

Amazing game Heartbeast! Also, you have my thanks here http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-33/?action=preview&uid=39781 :D I was able to make my game thanks to your tutorials :)

Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:23am

One of my favourites so far, with awesome art. The controls worked so well and fighting gameplay was quite addictive. Very polished entry.

NuSan says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:47am

Great art work, specialy animations. I think the first phase without the boss is a bit long, would love having a way to speed up thing when your confident. Keep up the good work.

Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:04pm

Masterpiece!

DiscoFish says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:11pm

Great game!

hexagore says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:12pm

I like the sprite work here, simple but effective. Pretty upset about having to watch an advert in order to play this though. :(

theshadowteam says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:43pm

Nice graphic, like the style.

Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:00pm

very good game. love how the enemies can hit each other

gty says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:08pm

Was following you since I saw a rolling gif you've posted. The game is amazing, the feel is great (besides the time between you finish an attack and rolling is a bit too much). Congratulations, one of the best games I've played so far in ld33!

Orni says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:59pm

wow, this looks breathtakingly good. solid animation work!

loved every second of it

uheartbeast says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:31pm

hexagore, ooops forgot to uncheck that box on Game Jolt. Fixed now.

You should have been able to avoid any ads on itch, though.

Thanks for the feedback I'm glad you enjoyed it.

gnuwilliam says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:03pm

Love it!

Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:18pm

Best looking game so far. really rally enjoyed playing it and will play it again.
thanks for your awesome content, saw many of your tutorials and learn a few things i could use this ludum dare. :)

Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:54pm

great game, and will vote very highly, but wouldn't go as far as others saying it's the best(there's some epic entries so even the tiniest things can knock it off top spot) i got bored after a while, same old kill raven, kill knight, kill giant..wanted more content(and from all the surprised comment about amount of work in GameMaker, expected more content too) don't get me wrong it was a real blast until it got repetitive too quickly. Sounds like i'm being negative now - not the intention - it's actually really good, just pointing out why it's not my winner.

S0lll0s says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:59pm

Very nice graphics, smooth gameplay and well-polished. A soundtrack would have been cool of course.

Aug 26, 2015 @ 1:10am

Great animation and controls! Really impressive for a compo entry. The coins (or whatever that it is) have some weird crazy attraction, though, and they are not really used for anything. Apart from that, great job!

dydx says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 1:23am

Great moment when the big guy comes around at level 4. Somehow I missed him in the screenshot above, so it was huge shock for me. Really fun, though I have no idea how I can get past that guy...

A_Cat5 says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 2:14am

This game is very hard and fun! ;)

benmcnelly says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 2:45am

Love the style, would be fun to play a more built out version.

tehPHEN says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 5:31am

Amazing! Well done for the Compo. Hitboxes were fluid, and dodging hits felt good! I didn't quite understand the orbs though.. but they felt good to collect!

vividhelix says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 5:46am

Great game! Amazing compo entry!

randomhuman says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 7:49am

Great graphics and animation, and satisfying gameplay.

Caracole says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 10:20am

Your art style is marvelous, it really gives the game a visual identity that stands out.
Great job !

DBl4ck says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 10:42am

Cool game!!! Great style, really fun and challenging.

jordinuco says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 11:54am

Great game for a compo! Playable and with a boss! Good job

Sparrow says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 12:06pm

Love it, has a Darksouls vibe going on.

Jimjam says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 12:06pm

That was a lot of fun!

lukepilgrim says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:03pm

great work. best game so far! simple, fun, motivating.

kirilllosev says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 4:42pm

Masterpiece. Don't have anything bad to say about this game

kaype says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 7:44pm

These graphics are top notch.
The controls felt a bit unresponsive though.
This is one of the best entries I've seen so far.

mar3k says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 8:04pm

Amazing game, great art and mechanics. If the game would have a map and it wouldn't be an arena, then it would be the ultimate game :D But I totally get that it would be impossible in 48 hrs none the less it is a great game!

Ithildin says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 8:11pm

Awesome graphics and great controls. A brilliant entry for a compo, congrats!! :)

TheZiggy says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 9:28pm

Really fun and really good graphics!

Maramasa says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 9:30pm

Awesome! Great visuals and solid gameplay :D

HThomson says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 9:48pm

The level of polish on this game is incredible for only 48 hours. I personally love the roll/dodge animation, it feels so fluid. Great job!

Aug 26, 2015 @ 10:30pm

So much fun! Once I got rolling down it was quite rewarding. Combat felt great. Difficulty shot up a bit when the big guys came out. Would definitely play again!

P.T.A says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 11:12pm

This is a great game, i liked a lot, good job.

superfreak says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 11:23pm

LOVE the player feedback, art and animations (especially confetti crows!!!!) Brilliant stuff, thoroughly enjoyed playing.

AgentParsec says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 12:09am

Only complaint I have is using the mouse button for attack in a game where the mouse position doesn't matter. I kept drifting it out of the window unconsciously, which in turn caused me to click away from the window and lose control of the game. I was usually dead by the time I got back to it. Otherwise, nice job.

01010111 says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 5:27am

Really engaging action! I feel like if there were a few more meaningful ways to interact with the fighting system, I could sink some serious hours into playing this! I feel like the audio could have used a little more work, but I can feel the love you put into all the art, animation, and game feel! Amazing work!

Aug 27, 2015 @ 8:39am

Got an error: MissingKeyMissing Key-Pair-Id query parameter or cookie value

Chris Olsen says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 10:22am

Nice game! Couldda done with a TINY bit more responsiveness on the combos but overall quite engaging and challenging.

Divitos says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 11:33am

That was.
Well.
That was......

How?

Aug 27, 2015 @ 2:26pm

The animations and environment are really well done. I could just play this game as a stealth game having to roll around all the enemy attacks. My only criticism would be the click being attack. It's awkward on trackpads, and could easily be switched to the T key or something similar. Great job.

hoqjed says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 4:33pm

Wow. Like others have said, very addictive game. The theme is there but it's kind of just a sprite swap between the enemies and the player. But quibble aside, great presentation, gameplay was challenging yet fair, very dark souls-esque. Fantastic entry, wonderful job!!

Hamsternator says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 5:49pm

SERIOUSLY!? How did you manage to make this in such a short time!? I'm super impressed! Not only were the graphics great, but the controls and gameplay were really solid.

If I had to point out anything it would be that I didn't feel like "the monster". I mean, I can clearly see that you play as a skeleton, but the other creatures felt evil...er. Like we played a righteous skeleton ^^

Would defend my grave after death again.

Mr. Jif says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 6:21pm

Love the style and the orbs floating toward you. Giant guy was terrifying and amazing. Good job!

Aug 27, 2015 @ 8:21pm

Great graphics, really captures a dark mood. Nice gameplay too, but I'd like it to get harder faster. Great sense of movement in the combat.

Aug 28, 2015 @ 6:48am

Dat BOSS WHAO!!! fun game. :-)

bumbu says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 9:36am

Very nicely done

plusultra says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 9:42am

great animation! the hits feel really solid!

funkysquid says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 9:52am

Epic!

Piotrek says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 9:55am

Very smooth combat, animations looks awesome.
Nice game.

treeman says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 10:03am

Fantastic! Animations and graphics are incredible and it's fun too!

Fallenthief says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 10:05am

Awesome game, very fun with a great art style.

SoulGame says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 10:17am

Super awesome compo. I'm a fan of Dark Soul and I mostly hate 2D fighting games cause they pretty much always end up in boring beat'm all. But you have managed to bring that "Dark Soul" feel into your 2D combats, and that's freakin' great => each sword swing I choose to start MEANS something, it's engaging, challenging, rewarding and of course, punitive. Not sure if you were indeed inspired by the Souls series, but in any case, you demonstrate brilliant game design and realization (oh yeah, forgot to say that mood and arts are top notch, even the animations look cool and add to the feel).
5/5

tmpxyz says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 10:47am

The motions are great, really a nice work!

GhostBomb says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 10:48am

Really fun tactical brawler that has a satisfyingly brutal difficulty. The difficulty spikes pretty hard with the first giant enemy and I don't really understand the choice for using left click when there's no mouse controls but those are minor nitpicks.

MrMordem says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 10:49am

Awesome game, overall feels very polished, great graphics that create an atmosphere :)

madalaski says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 11:02am

Fantastic graphics, really fun, didnt have much humor but it made up for it with it's innovative gameplay.

Ibai Aizpurua says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 11:33am

Great game with AMAZING animations!! The music and sounds are a little bit cold for my taste.

Flygamer101 says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 12:16pm

Great game :D got like 35 kills. Problem was, the xp orb things would sometimes just float around the player, not go into them, forcing the player to reach out and grab them. But who cares? This game is too fun to notice bugs :D

Datamosh says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 1:23pm

Very fun game!

CrownCity says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 1:54pm

I'm no telling you something new when I say that the fighting part of this game is awesome! I really enjoyed playing it.
This could turn out to something even greater with more work.
You can see that you've put a lot of work in the graphics and unfortunately missed some time for the audio and the level build up (level 4 becomes intense compared to level 3).
But yeah all together it's still a very nice entry!

Aug 28, 2015 @ 4:00pm

This needs to be extended into a bad to the bone arcade graveyard defending hero slaying brawler to rival the addictive properties of LUFTRAUSERS! Lots of potential for a really cool full game here! DO IT!

Mach60KAS says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 4:38pm

I loved the animation work, but from the gifs and whatnot I kinda expected more. Gameplay got a little old pretty fast, but the graphics are fairly stunning so I'm still a fan. Keep it up!

voidstar33 says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 5:34pm

Excellent work. Great art and game play. Very polished.

Pickens Inc. says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 6:23pm

You sure have a lot of ratings! I'm jealous of your skill! I felt a lot of Dark souls in this, it was visually stunning and had fluid controls. The gameplay was fun for a time, however, but to me soon became a tad repetitive.

Awpteamoose says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 7:48pm

Only three comments about Dark Souls? This is the fourth!

Couldn't get past the giant knight though, seems like there are no invincibility frames on rolls. Muscle memory, eh.

uheartbeast says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 8:11pm

:)

There should be invincibility frames on rolls. The secret to the the big guys it to just stay under him ;) Thanks for playing.

euske says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 11:04pm

The atmosphere is great. I wish I could use keyboard for attack.

Resonious says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 11:24pm

EXCELLENT art/animation. Looks suuuper smooth. Plays pretty smoothly too - excellent entry man.

MinionStudios says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 11:42pm

totally great gameplay, lots of mood to this one!

aprotasenya says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 11:45pm

Nice and solid! I've got the feeling that possibly my player was laggy a tiny bit? Gif looks smoother than was my gameplay. Anyway, there's potential for a greatly smooth and fast dynamic. Congrats on making a very good game! :)

HellBlazer says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 4:55am

Very nice action game with sweet art style and animations. Would have been cool to have actual progression through a level, but of course it's already very impressive as is for a 48-hour entry. Maybe we'll see a new version developed further in the future uh?

HappyHour says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 6:43am

Really diggin' the visuals. :)
I think the game could feel a little more fluid if you could cancel your attacks into the roll, but that's just a personal taste. Solid entry, overall.

OnionBlaze says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 2:21pm

Loved the combat system. Great job! :D

Zeriver says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 3:10pm

Whoaw amazing game as always, i love the combo fighting system. Graphics + animations are beautiful, mood is also pretty good.

Well i tried to make use of some skills i've learned from your tutorials, but it's nothing compared to yours.

Aug 29, 2015 @ 5:09pm

Nice Game

Aug 29, 2015 @ 7:18pm

I really loved how the game felt to play :) I loved the art style and thought that overall it was very polished for a 48 hour entry.

graebor says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 7:28pm

Awesome graphical style. Had some fun getting the hang of combat and then got absolutely decimated by the big guy :)

SpringCabal says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 8:49pm

Took me a couple of tries to kill the big guy and then a new one spawned.
The game is fun but it's a bit too difficult. Audio is good although I felt music was lacking - this felt more like ambient sound.

MrTwister says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 1:24am

Wow. awesome game! Incredibly well polished.
Loved the animations and the grayscale palette.
For such an action-packed game it could have used a bit more of an upbeat tune though.
I can't believe this is a Compo entry though! Definitely among the best I've played so far. Good work!

dpisarcik says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 1:33am

Incredibly fun game with beautiful sprite work. I'd love to see what you're capable of with more time.

shawn42 says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 1:45am

Pretty amazing really. Nice feel from the controls and interesting fighting mechanics. Great work.

Aug 30, 2015 @ 2:37am

Animations and visuals are amazing and killing the big guys is epic!
I saw your progress posts during the 48 hours and this was one of the games I was really looking forward to play. Very well done!
Would be great if the white orbs could heal the player during the level though. I would be able to play much longer each time.

Azlen says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 2:53am

I really like the graphics for this game

6DownStudios says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 3:10am

Outstanding entry! Visually superb, demonstration of pixel art in one of its purest forms-shape and gesture the utmost importance when animating with so few colors, shows how a very skilled artist can fool the eye and achieve fluidity with just a few finely crafted frames.

Aug 30, 2015 @ 3:38am

Pretty cool, I love the simplicity, art worked really nicely, music helped create the mood. I played about 4 times and got up to 48 kills before I gave up. I think the difficulty could ramp faster. Maybe I missed something but would be cool if coins did something. Amazing work overall!

Lukbebalduke says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 3:55am

The animations are really smooth! Good "hack n slash" mechanic.
Overall, impresive entry =)

FrederickK says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 4:17am

Incredible!

Aug 30, 2015 @ 4:17am

Nice art and sound. Great combat and animation.

madmaw says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 4:17am

A game where you get to play a skeleton. Don't mind if I do

Karai17 says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 5:22am

Game works well enough but the lack of content is damaging.

Modoc73 says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 7:20am

Controls felt a bit sluggish, but otherwise well done!

ChuiGum says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 7:26am

Awesome graphics, loved the mood. Very calm, and very fun. I've always loved combat games, awesome job!

fistmaker says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 9:46am

Very simple game, but man did it come out great! Controls are tight and the gameplay is challenging! Awesome entry.

Miltage says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 10:37am

Everything is on point here, except being unable to restart without having to close the application. Great entry.

Matzigon says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 11:13am

The graphics are really good! I think it could be more fluid if you could attack while moving. Great game!

crucknuk says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 11:24am

I love the atmosphere, I miss some music ;)
very nice work (>^o^)>

applejam says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 12:11pm

Very nice action game, looking forward to expanded version with plot and stuff

uheartbeast says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 1:48pm

Miltage, You can press "R" to restart :) Thanks for the comment.

zuurr says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 3:51pm

nice atmosphere and gameplay. reminds me of dark souls somewhat.

Beau Lamb says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 8:58pm

Really fun :) good job

Gaius Baltar says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 10:48pm

I loved the game, I just didn't like that I wasn't able to turn when I was using my sword

Tuism says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 2:37pm

Well put together :D Great graphics and animation, great great juice. Well paced. Good meaty combat. Could do with more variation, but hey, 48 hours :)

OFF says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 6:30pm

Classic but perfect

OFF says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 6:34pm

Classic but perfect.

guoboism says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 1:46am

Great job! A very cool fight game!

PIXEL^3 says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 1:47am

Excellent mood set by beautiful graphics and a somber ambiance. Probably the closest you could get to a 2D Dark Souls in 48 hours of dev time. The battle system is already pretty solid. You could easily expand this into a metroidvania or something similar. Add some bosses at the very least.

nihilaleph says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 2:12am

Awesome! Can't beat the big knight though xp

jackrugile says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 6:15am

Amazing graphics! Such a beautiful art style.

NidzaKornjaca says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 9:21am

Great look, great feel, simple yet fun.

Headmade says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 9:34am

Really impressive entry. Nice visuals and gameplay. Seems very polished.

freaknarf says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 9:44am

Nice gamefeel and pixel art ! I loved animations and art direction (good looking monochromatic layers ...)
Mixing keyboard and mouse was a bit weird here but that still feels good...
Well done ! good job :)

Frozen Stick says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 11:29am

Really great pixel art and game mechanic.The controls are a bit...of..But it was a great game at all!But it misses music!

Will Edwards says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 11:55am

Excellent animations and effects!

Might look nice with an unsampling filter like 2xSal?

Had to come back to read the controls instructions; would be better if they were in-game.

Really missing a jump :)

Almax27 says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 12:08pm

Great polish and weight to the combat, although I did find his attack frustratingly slow at times.

Grhyll says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 1:46pm

Here's a pretty game!! The animations are perfect.
The big guy seems a bit strong, not sure if I understood all the subtilities of the gameplay because he kills me without any issue.
The sfx are nice, but the music a bit repetitiv.

Tselmek says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 3:08pm

Amazing pixelart, as always. The mechanics feel really great and the challenge is here even though the big dudes are very OP. Great entry.

walsh9 says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 3:44pm

The art is beautiful. The animations are fluid and controls are tight. On top of all that the combat is fun and tactical. What a great game!

camlang says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 4:59pm

A rare gem on the compo. Hard enough, with amazing animations and overall control. Well done, indeed.

OmarShehata says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 5:42pm

Definitely awesome! The combat system was a lot of fun. I was just starting to feel it was too ease when that huge knight came in! I think that was the most fun because that's when you HAD to roll, otherwise you'd die.

rogberth says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 8:53pm

Love everything of this game!!! Please consider making a full game with this!

Finn says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 11:14pm

Quite a nice game, I like it. I would say that the combat feels a bit stiff for what it's trying to be, it's not as nimble as I would've liked it.

Sep 2, 2015 @ 3:56am

This is actually quite fun!

Thorig says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 7:41am

This really plays well. The animations are smooth, just like the controls.

dickpoelen says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 9:00am

Very nice! Why'd you go for the mouse button, and not just a key for attack though?

OldPeculier says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 6:30pm

Terrific. Simply wonderful art style combined with solid gameplay and good diversity. Love it.

jofra says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 9:34pm

One of the best games in LD for sure :) awesome gameplay.
Gj

wooltech says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 12:52am

Great graphics, and the low sounds fit it well. Couldn't find a way to restart from the game over screen, so had to reload but it was fun so I didn't mind the delay!

Kchetes says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 4:56am

Amazing stuff! Good job Ben!

kikaz says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 2:11pm

Great game entry, good job !

Sep 6, 2015 @ 10:45am

Beautiful graphics, great game. I included it in part 18 of my Ludum Dare 33 Compilation video series, if you would like to take a look :) https://youtu.be/U5AMORGkiRk

SoloDuoTeam says ...
Sep 7, 2015 @ 6:21pm

Very nice animations. The comb attack is a nice touch. I would have preferred having a sort of level instead of a fied place but that is just a personal opinion. One of the best for this LD33.

nassi says ...
Sep 8, 2015 @ 11:44am

Got to 48 kills or something, sometimes luck just isn't on your side and the enemies swarm you on both sides of the giant. Have to agree with the people who suggested moving the attack button to the keyboard, didn't really feel right having FPS control setup in a sidescrolling game where the mouse position isn't even used. While the gameplay was nice and methodical (got a Dark Souls vibe from this), I would've preferred if it had just a bit more depth with maybe a few different attacks per mob. Wouldn't have minded if the same applied to the player. Well, that would've meant a lot more animating work, so it's understandable to not have those things. Nice aesthetic and pretty solid gameplay, good job.

MAnimal says ...
Sep 11, 2015 @ 3:46pm

Very nice graphics. It was fun to play.

Sep 11, 2015 @ 4:09pm

Psst - you have been featured in todays LUDUM DARE TO BELIEVE! https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=g2nO6BNooPI

deepnight says ...
Sep 11, 2015 @ 9:18pm

Really great art & animations! The combat system is a bit rigid at the beginning but it feels/works better when you first meet giant knights.
The sounds were a little basic, but I'm not 100% sure they did work properly on my PC.
Good entry :)

bloomingbuds says ...
Sep 12, 2015 @ 11:44am

Nice game!

Xanjos says ...
Sep 12, 2015 @ 4:04pm

Pace seemed a bit slow but mechanics were pretty solid plus I like the art style. Kinda wish you could do more stuff like being able to roll backwards or rolling behind enemies so you can hit them for critical damage.

valid4life says ...
Sep 12, 2015 @ 7:29pm

Great game! I loved the flow to it. Very moody and feels right!

sergicollado says ...
Sep 12, 2015 @ 9:16pm

I liked so much, graphics, animations and really fun

Patomkin says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 10:05am

The combat mechanics are simply awesome with their heavy feel, but seem a little bit too close to being unresponsive. Amazing entry :)

pixzleone says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 3:52pm

Really cool, hard to put down.
Good job!

dcolgan says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 4:44pm

Garden variety hack and slash. What sets it apart is the look. Incredible design, but the same take as a lot of people are doing with the theme. Nothing original there. Controls felt unresponsive at points. Despite some of its shortcomings, it was really quite fun. The control setup though was fluid and intuitive. Could be much better if made into a more dimensional streets of rage style brawler.

CtrlAltTea says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 12:36am

Quite addictive! Great art style, polished gameplay, very impressive!

Jishenaz says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 2:32am

Awesome art and gameplay! This was a really fun game. The only thing that it's missing is music. I died from the big guy.

xvw says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 4:50am

Addictive game ! And beautyful !

egor-idiot says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 7:19am

Cool game!

ponywolf says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 5:14pm

The animations are awesome.

Sep 14, 2015 @ 8:48pm

Really well done and slick title. Nice job for 48 hours. Fun!

Geckoo1337 says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 9:41pm

Impressive project. All is perfect in this polished game - mood, animation, gameplay... Maybe one of the best entries for this LD session. Neat. Thank you ++

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]