Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Orbit

by roban101 - Compo Entry

On your way to eat earth you must first navigate your way through the solar system and the other planets, unfortunately for you some are heavily guarded and the easiest thing to do is to kill the guards and eat the planet too! All the way to earth, and a full stomach!

OBS! The help button does not work! The help will be located underneath here instead.

Controls / Help
- Use arrow keys to navigate the level select screen
- Click the enter/return key on the level select screen to enter a level
- Point in the direction you want to go with your mouse
- The further away you point the faster you will go
- Left click to shoot rocket
- To remove the forcefield surrounding the planets you need to kill at least 75% of the defenders
- More rockets can be found bouncing around in space
- You have only three hearts to complete a level, luckily for you they replenish after each try on a planet
- The game doesn't save what so ever, so if you quit you'll have to replay everything (Although it isn't very long)

I have plans to continue working on this game, fixing bugs and adding new content, and when that is done release it for tablets.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#344Graphics3.32
#585Theme3.21
#625Mood2.73
#660Overall2.92
#695Humor2.18
#697Innovation2.63
#731Fun2.63

Comments

chromebookbob says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:44am

interesting mood, but the help screen wasn't there...

CiderPunk says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:51am

very cool! could use a little feedback to indicate when you're hurt

sydream says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:54am

Nice touch on the arts, love the whale's gentle wobbles. could have done with some animations when dying, or killing the jellyfish-thingy. Good adherence to the theme

TwixtorTitan says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:33am

Nice artwork!

Deadeyejoe says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:55am

Interesting game ! love it :)

JayWoody says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:06am

I really liked the way you made the player monster twist as they turn. Also nicely done coding the AI on some of the enemies.

I would've really liked some sound in there. Also some of the hit boxes are maybe too big, like with the blowfish-type enemy.

Very nice game you did in such a short time! Nice!

Sunflower says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:20am

The yay:
- space whale!
- graphics create good mood

The nay:
- gameplay feels extremely clunky
- character hitbox is too large, often causing me to take damage even if sprite clearly didn't overlap with any danger
- random spawning can be very unfair; sometimes I started level very close to enemy and losing heart already, other times ammo packs spawned within force field
- ammo packs block my bullets
- no audio
- no in-game help ^^"
- level selection screen is a bit counter-intuitive; if I see the next planet somewhere down, I expect that down key will bring me there, not right
- Pluto needs more love ♥
- for some reason, main menu wasn't responding until I toggled fullscreen mode O.o"

Tips for the future:
- it's a good idea to make collect boxes at least as large as sprite (so that players won't experience hitting the collectible item and still not getting it) and hit boxes at most as large as sprite (so that players won't experience taking damage when missed a little)
- be careful with randomly generated levels; make sure to avoid very unfair or impossible to complete combinations
- do include your help screens in game ;)

Good luck with future gamedev~!

g_o says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 12:51pm

Pretty nice entry. The lack of music was noticeable, gotta recommend adding it next time, cause it's a part of the amazing mood the graphics made. So high quality visually, honestly! Especially for a compo.
The only thing that annoyed me was that the circle collision wasn't percise even though it's one of the main mechanics of the game (+it's relatively a simple code). It made me die a couple times. Make sure you don't use integer numbers or something. But except for that - great game design, even if not THAT original it's still well implemented. Well done!

Twiebs says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:15pm

Incredible graphics, the mood was perfect. Only complaint is the controls were not good and it could benefit from audio.

hobblygobbly says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:18pm

I LOVE the style of the planets and the fish animations are cool too. Gameplay is a little clunky and could use at least sound effects for the rockets

raducumiczzz says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:20pm

Everybody loves pluto so much:)). Great game, fun to play, a little hard on the control side. Music would help even more to extend the feel of the game. Great work what so ever!

Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:21pm

Good move, good game.

ezombort says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:56pm

I won! Enjoyed it, good job :)

zuurr says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:23am

i really like the art and animation (especially the procedural animation on the player)

Andrew says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:23am

Aiming seemed a bit off. Took a while to figure out where missiles will go.

liquidmedia says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:27am

missing some of the screens, help was not there and it did not seem to like any of the input, sorry just did not seem to work very well.

rotpar says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:29am

Nice graphics and interesting concept.

Pampattitude says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:40am

Didn't work with me. I got stuck with pluto in the middle of my screen even though I was clicking everywhere, smashing all my buttons to play :'(
I still could see the graphics where gorgeous!

bodsey says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:40am

Interesting because I also did a game about a monster in space ;) I didn't have a clear view of the level so it was hard sometimes, but I love the art

Acerio says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:46am

The graphics were interesting. I liked the wobble effect but there could have been some more animations like to the death or something.

Karai17 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:25am

Neat game, could have really used some audio though. Good job nonetheless!

BoskoSokolov says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:40pm

nice graphics :D

Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:39pm

Nice art, needs sound! The controls felt a little bit sluggish, but still - solid entry!

Shaw says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:52pm

Gameplay is very fluid, just moving around felt really good.

Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:56pm

I'll repeat what most people said. Love the art, mood is good, fits the theme. No audio at all is not good, you know what they say any audio is better than none. the controls also were clunky and was hard to aim which made game not as fun as it could be.

Pusty says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:16pm

I just ate earth 10/10

DruhinM says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:49pm

Interesting and very nice art work. Very good

boardtobits says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:03pm

a little tough to get the hang of, but cool art.

vividhelix says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:12am

it was good, but not immediately obvious how to choose the first stage (pluto) without reading instructions...

Geckoo1337 says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 4:52am

Nice artwork, but for me it didn't work properly. I see a planet "pluto", but I can do anything more. The help panel doesn't work. What has happened?

roban101 says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 5:01am

To everybody who can't come any further than Pluto on the screen, the problem is most likely that you aren't pressing the right key, you have to press the enter/return key on your keyboard (yeah I know I should've made it so you could click them..) to enter the selected planet, and use the left & right arrow keys to choose among the unlocked planets.

Dizzyman572 says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 6:20am

Hey roban101, I thought this was an interesting game. Shame there wasn't any sfx because that would've really made this game satisfying than it already is. One glaring problem that I see is that Pluto isn't blue it's actually red. Don't worry, it's a common mistake I just figured this out like 2 months ago. Overall though, I thought this was a good game.

Aug 26, 2015 @ 6:20am

Nice graphics! The game was pretty hard until I figured how to slow down a lot.

P.T.A says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:51pm

smooth controls, and the graphics are great, well done!

Aug 26, 2015 @ 4:16pm

The art is good and gameplay is fine. It would be nice if it has sound. But control seems hard when i want to turn 360 degrees.

Josh H says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 6:06pm

Very unique idea and I like it. The graphics were really nice too. Controls were a bit tricky, but not too bad. Good job!

namrog84 says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 5:30am

space whale!

dregamr says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 8:49am

It's a very cool game, but at the beginning I didn't know that when you see the planet yu need to press enter to play...I'm clumsy, sorry.

jofra says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 8:12pm

Was a bit confused at the "pluto screen" :s and it is a little hard to control, but it is a cool entry game!
Gj

crucknuk says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 3:38pm

I like how the monster move!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]