Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

You are the munchster!

by Fanatrick - Jam Entry

You are the munchster!

Control a cute little munchster in his advanture of terrorizing households. The objective is to eat every person in the house without them catching you in stealth based gameplay. Hide under furniture, use the shadows to your advantage, turn off the lights and ambush the unsuspecting residents. Keep in mind while you're hiding in shadows residents can still detect you, just not as quickly as if you weren't hiding. Beware as the residents are perceptive, try to make as little noise and move as efficiently as you can through the rooms and bait them with your own vocal shout into their own deaths. Most importantly, don't lose heart as the levels get more challenging, and have fun!

When we were making You are the munchster we followed the compo rules. Every piece of the game was made in the 72h period either originally or through highly derived edits of third-party work.

Controls:
A,D - Movement
S - Drop through staircase platforms
Q - Bite
E - Vocal distraction
Spacebar - Hide underneath furniture
Mouse scroll - Zoom in/out
Left click - turn off the lights with switches

Credits:

Programming - Matthew Kresić
Graphic design/Pixel art - Antonela Juriša
Composer/SFX - Marko Pernarčić

Thank you for playing and have fun! =]

!Important!
Some browsers flag rarely or never downloaded .exe files which can be a pain for game dev jams like LudumDare. Here's the virustotal link just so you can be safe =]

Virustotal scan link:
https://www.virustotal.com/hr/file/39ead049089136e106197699b34ccfd08b3a4f90a67ef663a38d8e956607e5be/analysis/1440467162/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#163Overall(Jam)3.70
#197Mood(Jam)3.58
#202Innovation(Jam)3.45
#203Graphics(Jam)4.05
#203Theme(Jam)3.86
#251Audio(Jam)3.41
#317Fun(Jam)3.36
#352Humor(Jam)3.12

Comments

VoxelSquare says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:35am

Now this is the best game I've played on this LD yet. Although it's pretty hard.

iapc says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:39am

Fun mechanics, well-executed, hard though.

pnkthrepwood says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:45am

Very nice and polished!

Couldn't stop playing until made it through all the levels.

Demetz says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:53am

Oh man, i suck at this game, haha! great job though, really good game.

blurryroots says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:22am

This game is fun, although pretty hard ;) I really liked the sound and music.

Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:37am

There's a very fun game, I played many times trying to kill people by diferent way, i liked so much. Nice Job!

vinipereira says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:23pm

Was difficult to understand the mechanic it self, the bite button was a bad choice, because it make difficult to bite when you try to walk to the left and bite.

jofra says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:26pm

Very cool game! and a pretty hard one ;)
great mechacnics

SoulGame says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:27pm

Despite my efforts and my many tries, I couldn't figure out clearly the "bite or be kicked" mechanics. In the dark, from behind, I'm still kicked in the face! That's a shame because the overall work is stunning (sfx, animations <3, arts, controls) and the Munchster design is super cute, but I failed poorly :(

NoWandStudios says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:30pm

Very well-executed gameplay! I love details like sound when you walk. Nice job!

Fanatrick says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:35pm

The feedback is appreciated!

@SoulGame:
Most of the time the winning condition is just baiting someone near the object you're hiding behind, then biting without moving and making sound. If you try sneaking behind targets the dark won't help much since you're making too much noise.

jrhee says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:52pm

Awesome game- great mood and fun! Sometimes it's hard to figure out why I was detected.

glimaleite says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:57pm

Very hard game, but I like the mechanics, the AI and what can I say about the graphics, they look amazing! Loved the audio aswell. Congrats guys!

Silverfyre says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:57pm

Fun game, nice graphics, very well polished! Great work.

Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:05pm

Very cool game, but too hard for me (I only was able to finish the first level :P).

Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:37pm

Well polished! I liked the stealth elements.

mariti says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 2:15am

gg.

benmcnelly says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:45am

So good! Loved this game. Just the right amount of challenge. Hard, but you want to keep playing and get better. Love it.

crucknuk says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 11:53am

Well done! You should add more level for a next release !

McFood says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 11:59am

That was pretty hard. Great music though. And the lighting really completed the mood.
Excellent stealth game in just 3 days!

Aug 26, 2015 @ 12:10pm

Nice! Just a bit hard to begin with. And then only slightly less hard.

Gil4 says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 12:13pm

Wouldn't say the game is hard, just uses not that obvious mechanics, but for me figuring them out was part of the fun, nicely done.

Romaing says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 12:14pm

Really good idea, the gameplay is good, and it's fun to hide in the house waiting to eat everybody ! I would have liked more interaction than simple light, but it's a still a really impressive work !

Aug 26, 2015 @ 12:46pm

Visually stunning and a great concept. I am amazed at the amount of work behind this game in such a short period of time!

Aug 26, 2015 @ 1:17pm

It's so hard to kill 3 gay man.
Music is repetitive.
But i like your stealth mechanic.

Otrora Games says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 2:02pm

Pretty innovative. Nice work!

Chris Olsen says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 2:33pm

I really had trouble biting the dudes even when they were super close, sorry I must suck as everyone else seemed to be fine!

TMW says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 2:48pm

Very nice game, but success is look like totally random. I failed too mutch and this was annoying :/ Btw awesome design, nice graphisc, lights, sounds and cute monster.

Fanatrick says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 2:45am

I added a youtube video showing a bit of gameplay and how the biting works. Obviously you'll miss the bite first few times, but it gets very easy once you get a hang of it :)

dydx says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 1:44am

Looks really impressive. Any chance of a mac or web build?

Aug 28, 2015 @ 2:53am

Great, great work! It's a nice idea, great graphics and has a great potential to grow even more. Keep developing!!

DarkBoulevard says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 4:36pm

This is an awesome game! It's really hard and remembering all of the instructions was impossible for me, It'd be perfect if it had a tutorial level... Anyways, those are just details! When I figured out what I had to do, it was amazing!

NuSan says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 5:38pm

Great mood and Arts. The gameplay feel good, but I didnt managed to go far. They seem to randomly see me so its rare I can bite them. Its a good idea, keep up the good work !

lbartolic says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 6:33am

This is a piece of really good work! The idea is original and the game looks very fun itself. Keep up a great work :)

Pomb says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 7:41pm

Great game, the ai could have maybe been a bit more aware and the music is a bit overpowering but I like the mood you are setting.

Karai17 says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 3:42am

Fun game! Controls were a bit clunky but it played well enough. Good job!

zeid says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 4:56am

Really good work on this stealth game! I found it really hard to reliably get kills though which made it a little frustrating.

Aug 30, 2015 @ 1:47pm

Nice style! Congrats!

Zeriver says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 6:33pm

Polished and fun to play game. At first biting mechanics were not intuitive, but when i got grasp on it, playing Munchster was really entertaining, solid game on all aspects.

KaiseanGames says ...
Sep 6, 2015 @ 5:49pm

Totalno dobra igra, braćo balkanci! :)

HotBoxGames says ...
Sep 8, 2015 @ 4:49pm

Fun game, great graphics, liked the music. Quite hard but that's how I like it xD

superfreak says ...
Sep 8, 2015 @ 5:14pm

Amazingly polished. Captivating mechanics which were equal parts frustratingly difficult and addictive amounts of fun. Thoroughly enjoyed.

NidzaKornjaca says ...
Sep 9, 2015 @ 4:47am

Job well done, nice graphics, gameplay and audio!

careless says ...
Sep 9, 2015 @ 3:28pm

Cool game - nice mechanics, the AI was great, really nice entry. One little bug - Had to reopen the game each time I died as it froze for me. Check out and rate my game also please :)

MechanicMoon says ...
Sep 10, 2015 @ 4:56pm

Very interesting gameplay! I like the art, the music and the atmosphere of the game, wonderful work :-)

felipeberquo says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 1:05pm

Although a hard game, the game was very fun to play!
Very polished too

schnerble says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 8:07pm

Definitely a hard one! Good stealth mechanics, though I struggled to move slowly enough to avoid alerting anyone. Nice work, anyway - graphics and sound are cool, and I like your use of the theme. There were some small problems with the text rendering on my machine for some reason, but nothing serious enough to worry about.

yuigoto says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 2:59am

Quite a fun game! The concept is pretty fun and the graphics are nicely done! The monster is pretty cute! ;D

Nice work on the soundtrack also, it really fits the game! :3

I'd like to see more of this! Good Work! :D

SoulGame says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 6:31am

Thanks for playing our game :) Since you watched the video, you've seen how the jazzman turns into a metal monster so I was wondering why you still downrated the theme? Also was wondering what did you mean by "it was very cheap."

Sparrow says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 12:41pm

Awesome game, some levels are hard others are easy. I love the creepy atmosphere of your game!

Sparrow says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 12:49pm

Sorry about the previous comment, was meant for another game but I was on the wrong tab XD.

This is a solid entry and it gave me metal gear solid vibes. The graphics look fantastic and the sounds fit perfect. Good job!

Ludipe says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 4:13pm

Awesome game! Really liked art and sound. I like this kind of reverse-stealth games where you play the monster.

great job! :D

SoulGame says ...
Sep 15, 2015 @ 5:09am

Thanks a lot for clarifying your feedback, I get your point now. Congrats btw!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]