Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Internship Adventure

by dancingmad - Jam Entry

You work in a video game as a monster.
Get yourself killed by Heroes while your boss yells at you.
Discover the joy of working behind the scene - as an unpaid intern in the video game industry!

------ HOW TO PLAY
Arrow - Move
S - Skip dialogs
D - Play Dead
F - Fight
Space - Jump

------ INSTALLATION
If the game doesn't launch, you will have to install XNA redist, it is included in the ZIP file

------ CREDITS
Programmation & Dialogs - Martin Bousquet (@bousquetm)
Art - Pascal Pouvereau & Roxanne Hinh
Music & Sound - Louis Leroux & Victor Guéroult

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#5Theme(Jam)4.50
#6Innovation(Jam)4.31
#9Overall(Jam)4.33
#14Humor(Jam)4.45
#21Graphics(Jam)4.65
#23Fun(Jam)4.07
#24Audio(Jam)4.22
#29Mood(Jam)4.23

Comments

Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:14pm

Unfortunately, this wouldn't run for me. Tried to launch twice and nothing came up. Looks like the graphics are awesome from the screenshots.

Tselmek says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:16pm

These names sound like it was made by a french team :P
Joke aside, this is perfect in every aspect, the sounds, the music, the graphics, the mechanics, the story, the humour, everything is perfect! Congratulations!
Nice take on the theme and hilarious dialogs, and the sounds that were with them, I laughed a lot.

TicZo says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:17pm

It seems like when i start the game it crashes immediatly

Rocketship says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:21pm

Haha this game was excellent! The art is gorgeous and the sounds fit the theme very well. I especially liked the talking gibberish. The idea is very fun and well executed. Great job!

dancingmad says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:27pm

@CrazyMinnowStudio: have you tried to install XNA redist? It'd included in the zip file.

@Tselmek: thanks a lot dude! and yes, we are a French team.

@TicZo: sorry to hear that... I'll look into the problem.

congusbongus says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:31pm

I gave you a perfect score; no complaints this was funny and fun! Very interesting 4th-wall humour.

darklightteam says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:46pm

Great treatment of the theme with great dialogs and gameplay

Nikteddy92 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:49pm

I love the graphic style! Nice entry! :D

Scripturus says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:38pm

Most realistic internship simulator ever, 10/10

GertJohnny says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:48pm

Looks interesting but I can't get it to load even with XNA installed.

glerikud says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:53pm

This is awesome. Great graphics with interesting gameplay. :)

For the cons:
- You should state in your description that players will have to install the XNA redist package.
- The game felt a little slow with the dialogues.

blurryroots says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:53pm

I really like the topic ;) Great atmosphere and beautiful aesthetics. Also very enjoyable mechanics. All around just awesome. Would like to play more of that!

jrhee says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:56pm

Wow, awesome entry!!!

gdquest says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 8:09am

A really lovely game! It feels very fresh and looks great.

Togimaro says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 11:41am

Too short but excellent! There are brilliant gameplay ideas and the game is really fun

Aug 26, 2015 @ 2:14pm

Absolutely gorgeous game, the art-style is very unique and coherent. Great job!

Chris Olsen says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 2:47pm

Nice work!

jofra says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:04pm

awesome work! love the background especialy the sky.
gj

OberynMartell says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 4:28pm

Best game I played so far!
Everything was well done!
Good job!

CADmiy says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 4:33pm

Behind the scenes of an adventure game. That was great! Cool idea, flawless gameplay!

Xinelu says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 7:07pm

Mein got, nice graphics!!!!!! 5/5

avultima says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 7:15pm

What an interesting concept! I hope you guys continue with this idea! Good dialog, fitting music and very easy to look at art. Keep it up!

Matzigon says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 7:17pm

The best game I saw so far! 5/5 :D
Made me smile and interested for the whole length. Bravo.

Macecraft says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 7:20pm

Really, really loved the concept, dialogue and gameplay of this! Well done!

AzureAspect says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 1:43pm

I just couldn't help me keeping from chuckling, perfect humour!
This game SHOULD continue :)

Reisen says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 6:36pm

Brilliant!

LandoSystems says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 6:39pm

Great game! Lots of polish, clever idea, great execution. Very well done!

Aug 27, 2015 @ 7:02pm

Next time I'll play a platformer I'll think of Mike in the monster costume.. Brilliant!

Shackhal says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 8:57pm

Great game. An internship monster doing his job, nice idea! The graphics are great, the music is very cool, it have humor and all of that gives a great mood.

The only part I didn't like is the boss's speech. It's slow, specially during encounters.

But it's fun.

Overall, is a very good game. Well done.

FireTwin says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 10:07pm

The graphics and the idea is reallly really good. Well done. I didn't finish it, but it seems like a ton of content to do in such a limited time.

Problems I noticed:
I think the game mechanics could do with a little more polishing, for instance the death animation needed a dead sprite at the end to show you are playing dead. Also, perhaps some sort of indicator to show the hero is going die on the next hit, because the speaker tells you to stop hitting 2 seconds after, which is a little late. Last thing, the pacing was a little slow in general, the triggers for the dialogue starting in particular.

Very well done! I wish I could make so much content in 3 days too! :)

cxsquared says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 11:14pm

Everything about this is so perfect and fun. Really amazing job. Sometimes the text goes on a little long but since there is a skip button it make up for it. Really amazing job.

Ventura says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 6:16pm

Really cool. Amazing game, it's like a theater simulator. Everybody who likes to do theather would love this game. Also the marks that you get when you perform is nice.

Oran Bar says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 8:45pm

Really nice idea, at first I thought it was cheap, but after playing it I have to say, the execution was solid.
I really liked the fact that you are the player's enemy, and that you don't have to BEAT him to "win" the game.
Sound was a bit repetitive and annoying.
This isn't the funniest game to play, but still, the best i've played in this Ludum dare, mood is good, art is nice, idea is great.
Good job

Dizzyman572 says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 4:47am

So this is what it's like to work for a video game. I loved the humor in this game! There are tons of cool jokes in here which gave me a good giggle. The art style also looks amazing, I loved how the background shifted. Overall, this was a really great game. 5/5 :)

Zeriver says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 9:05am

The best LD entry i have played so far! Interesting approach to the theme, unconventional and challanging gameplay. Changing music and background stage (cool effect by the way) when hero arrives was really neat. Great game!

crucknuk says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 6:57pm

Excellent entry! Really good approach of the theme! Graphics and audio are really good!

Sep 4, 2015 @ 12:17pm

Wow, this was great. Favourite game I've played so far. Everything felt so polished and thought out. The graphics were great and the change in lighting depending when it was time to play worked so well. Such a clever use of the theme also and can't fault you in any of the areas. Awesome job and nice to finally see the behind the scenes of a game set.

xvw says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 6:47pm

This game is perfect, you made an awesome work on it!!

Overall, innovation, theme, graphics, fun... not a single stain... just perfect! <3

Bravo!

Sep 10, 2015 @ 4:02pm

Pssst - You have been featured on Ludum Dare to Believe! Check it out here - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UJLrUmnvGcA

whalebot says ...
Sep 10, 2015 @ 5:37pm

This is an absolutely stellar entry. Well freaking done.

LeoM says ...
Sep 10, 2015 @ 8:09pm

Drôle
Belle interprétation du thème.
Quelques petits beugs quand on contrarie un peu le patron mais dans l'ensemble tout est bien léché comme il faut. ;)

Teesquared says ...
Sep 11, 2015 @ 2:55am

Rosencrantz and Guildenstern Are Monsters. Funny take on the theme. Animations and graphics are really done well. Very clever how you worked challenges into the gameplay.

Stending says ...
Sep 12, 2015 @ 9:46am

Wow, you did so well!
Awesome game, fun, polished, everything! full 5/5 for me!

About the infography, you say that it's open source? Where can we get it? That could be super interessant to learn some stuff!

Stending says ...
Sep 12, 2015 @ 10:06am

Oh sorry, forget that, I didn't see it in the zip file!
Again, congratulations. :)

dancingmad says ...
Sep 12, 2015 @ 11:23pm

Thanks everyone for your comments !

@Stending
Yes, the source code is in the zip but graphics are not inside.
I'll make a post about graphics sunday.

Pascal
I'll make a post about it sunday.

SkullPixel says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 12:25am

I felt like I was being told what to do by a minion from Despicable Me. Which is great! Nice job!

Sep 13, 2015 @ 1:00am

Really cool game! Very clever and fun to play :D

Pat AfterMoon says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 10:44am

Excellent, excellent et excellent !
J'ai adoré, mes enfants ont adoré, et on s'est bien marré !

Just a few remarks :
- The 1st main character is a little confusing, for me it looks like a skull (2 oranges eyes) and is turned opposite as intended. I only recognize it as a worm when it attacks.
- About the dialogs, when playing, I wasn't sure if there are only 2 speaking persons (the coach and me) or 3 (the coach, the hero and me).

I've given you the best score for Innovation, Theme and Humor combined !

Vladirien says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 12:09pm

Great idea overall, the artistic direction is really good and I found the dialogues quite fun.

Erkberg says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 2:49pm

A very interesting game. The basic idea is great, the different challenges provide quite the variety and the visuals are beautiful. It's also quite funny. Good job overall!

RiaDelva says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 10:40pm

I think this was the most fun game I played so far! Love the idea and execution, love the art, love the dialogue! And it's all so cute! :D

jsmars says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 11:34pm

Wow nice job! Very beautiful backgrounds, and gameplay hit the head on the nail with the theme, and humor was great!

Oct 20, 2015 @ 12:30pm

Very well made game. Love it. I included it in my Ludum Dare 33 Compilation video series, if you would like to take a look :) https://youtu.be/t2uXuiSquSk

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]