Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Growing Up

by Sunflower - Compo Entry

A little entry I came up with about 10 hours before Compo finished. Since I couldn't think of anything better, I decided to submit a silly yet (hopefully) still fun game.

The game plays pretty much like regular snake, except it actually gives goals to reach. It has eight levels, each with more things to eat than the previous one. The game is pretty much controlled with arrow keys.

It's available for both Windows download and HTML5 play on GameJolt. I might embed the game right here within a few days if I get it to work.

Hope you enjoy~!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness68%
#457Humor2.71
#514Fun2.95
#639Audio2.06
#773Theme2.81
#779Mood2.40
#787Overall2.71
#793Graphics2.39
#921Innovation1.57

Comments

Kaev says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:57am

I really like the small things about this game.
Like a real snake you can see that you have some stuff in your stomach.
I also like that the icons actually change like at first you eat people and later you eat the moon and meteorites.
Pretty solid snake remake with a reachable goal! :)

raducumiczzz says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:49pm

I love the idea of having a goal to reach on every level. It keeps you pushing to the next level.
Food in you body is also a great thing. You added a great feel of progression to the game.
Overall very good work.

chromebookbob says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:20pm

interesting execution, but basically a clone of snake

sepharoth213 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:27pm

This game is a pretty competent snake clone, but I think it's underambitious. You have an entire snake engine here, there's a lot you could do with it! For starters, I think it's really weird that things like power plants and toxic waste cans are appearing out of thin air. That doesn't really make sense. Them all being there from the beginning and having to deal with a much longer snake would lead to a more interesting and different snake game.

A more ambitious tweak would be the fact that 'growing' happens on different maps. It would be awesome to see 1 map with big obstacles on it that you eventually grow to be able to eat! Something like snake X Katamari.

Otherwise, there's a decent amount of polish here. Congrats on the entry!

HolyBlackCat says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:08pm

Pretty nice!
Good game overall.

The yay:
Good sound.
Nice graphics.
Interesting idea with orders of magnitude.

The nay:
No smooth animation.
No backgrounds.
Old gameplay.

Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:31pm

Old but Gold, I like the discription of the difficultys.

Sunflower says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:29pm

Thanks for the feedback, people! Just to answer some of replies out there:
- yes, it's pretty generic snake, save for not-really-much-changing twist with targets and levels; didn't really get much inspiration this time round ^^"
- similarly, because of lacking inspiration I didn't really try to make anything more ambitious with the snake; this, and the fact it's more of a one-off project, I guess?
- I guess fruits and radioactive waste appearing from thin air make about as much sense as rapidly growing serpent, at some point capable of eating planets
- glad you people appreciate various sorts of little details I put in there; the core idea was simple, but I decided to wrap it nicely, for the heck of it; also, one of gameplay-related but hardly noticeable details is better support for U/S/Z-turns - if not for that, game would be quite unresponsive for such a quick switching

Also, I wonder if anyone (aside from me) completed all 8 levels. I confirmed it's quite possible even (especially) on Luminous Celerity speed!

Kuchalu says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:48pm

A well made game. Nice clean sound effects!

HayManMarc says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:43pm

Cute game. Nice and complete. Well done, Sunflower Girl!! :) We didn't see all the diffent things to eat until I read the other comments. Made it to the galaxies. :)

General says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:34pm

I like how you added additional gameplay dimension to the classic Snake. Good job for 10 hours!

Here're my video reviews: http://youtu.be/AkOdas_qL9A
Your game is at 36:56

eric777 says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 12:15am

I enjoyed this very much. Played difficulty 3 and 4. Did pretty good on 3, but could only get to the 4th screen on the hardest level after a few tries. The snake is very cute. Sound works, gfx are good.

Nicely done - had fun!

Odefus says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 2:26am

Well this sure brought up old addictions. Used to play the snake game on my first cell phone far more than I would like to admit. It may have taken an hour or two, countless of tries and crippled my arrow hand, but I did become The Serpent that Devours the Horizon on the luminous celerity difficulty.

While it's not very innovative, it is as far as snake clones go a good one. The quick turns are effortless to pull off, which as far as im concerned is the most important thing in a snake game. Fine work.

Sunflower says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 7:24am

Thank you all for your kind feedback!

@HayManMarc: Congratulations on reaching galaxies! By the way, "we"? Did you play with family? :)

@General: Glad you liked the twist and thank you very much for video review. That "aha!" moment when reaching second level was precisely what I was aiming for. ;)

@Odefus: Really glad someone else managed to complete the game on the fastest mode! And I agree, making quick turns more responsive required a little additional tweaking, but it was so worth it!

Aug 26, 2015 @ 11:26am

For 10 hours this is a really good effort! I'm a bit fan of snakelikes, oddly addictive for something so simple, nice job!

tweedle says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 9:44pm

Interesting take on a classic! Nice work getting this completed in only 10 hours. The writing is also really funny.
Thanks for sharing!

collaboration says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 9:54pm

Sorry, but it's only snake clone...

RougeRogue says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 11:18pm

What can be said here? Just some good old classic snake goodness with some twists here and there. It was, without a doubt, really enjoyable. There are also a lot of little details that made it just that bit more juicy. Now if you'll excuse me, this game reminded me of Metal Gear Solid: Snake Eater and I now need to go listen to its soundtrack.

HayManMarc says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 5:27pm

"Did you play with family?" Yes, played it with my 8 year old daughter. She said she thought it was cute. :)

tMalicet says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 9:38pm

Mmmmh, it's a bit light ... still it looks good!

SKT says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 5:25pm

I'm a "planet muncher" ^^ Fun little game, graphics are cute, too bad there isn't a music. Nice job !

OnionBlaze says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 10:38am

I like how you're able to eat bigger things as you go through each level. I kinda hoped to hear screaming people as I went and ate the buildings, haha. Good game! :)

SoulGame says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 2:25pm

Hey, I read you liked rhythm games in Melody Muncher's comments, so here is a link to ours: http://goo.gl/wphAJ3 (I must warn you, it's not as polished as his)

Not so often that I keep on playing a snake game (I must say I had bad feeling at first...). But the idea of zooming out is actually very cool, even if the simple arts doesn't really serve the idea, the concept is quite sufficient to keep me interested in what's next. Plus, being a snake which eats towns, works pretty damn well with the theme :D
I usually end up frustrated by snake games' controls and I rarely feel like it's my fault when I die. But here I found the controls surprisingly responsive and fair, and I died because of my very own clumsiness. I did managed to eat some planets on the way tho. (a ordinary snake's day...)

SoulGame says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 12:51am

(thanks for the cool feedback! just answered you on our game's page)

disperse says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 12:38am

Great job! I really liked your take on the snake game getting larger and larger.

nihilaleph says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 3:02am

"Oh how funny, I'm eating radioactive waste!... Wait... I'm eating a house?... Okay, now I'm as big Jormungandr, I guess it will end soon... Oh God, I can eat the stars now... Awesome!"
Gosh that was hard ^^; I guess it's been a long time without playing snake xp I was able to beat with snake gene, and with hare gene I was able to get to star size!

Anyway! Great take on the classic! Had lots of fun in such a simple tweak! I think having goals and levels was great~ Control was really smooth too, and really cute art xp
I did miss some more elaborated backgrounds (like stars in the later levels), smoother animation, and maybe a bgm? But you only had 10 hours, and still a lot of work was done~ Good job!

Divitos says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 7:07pm

Fun game!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]