Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Troopers' Starship

by AlexPGilbert - Jam Entry

Troopers' Starship is a first person shooter game where you take the place of an escaped alien in a laboratory facility. Navigate through the maze like facility, avoiding and killing guards, and finally come face to face with "The Scientist"

Controls are:
WADS to move, Left click to claw, Hold and release space for a 'lunge'

Tools used: Unity 5 with Probuilder, Photoshop, Spriter, Spriter2Unity PLugin (https://github.com/Dharengo/Spriter2UnityDX)

CREDITS
--------------------------
Programming & Level Design: Alexander Gilbert (http://alexpgilbert.com/)
Art & Animations: Stephanie Rivo (Stephanie.Rivo@gmail.com)

with Special Thanks to
Maurice Kelly (reezlife@gmail.com) and Nick Gilbert for the loops and SFX

Notes from the dev
----------------------------
The game is a little hard and unforgiving. The key is to take things slow and plan your attacks. Attacks aggro nearby mobs, so be aware of that.

For those who are getting stuck and want to just warp to the last boss fight there is a cheat...

Hold the keys P, O, and B all at the same time to warp in front of the door to the boss' lair!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness62%
#47Theme(Jam)4.18
#121Mood(Jam)3.79
#137Fun(Jam)3.64
#145Overall(Jam)3.73
#219Graphics(Jam)4.02
#245Innovation(Jam)3.39
#431Audio(Jam)3.02
#533Humor(Jam)2.76

Comments

Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:07pm

Thanks for letting us play your game!

What I liked:

Great original art style and graphics. Liked the stealth based gameplay and pouncing on the troopers with the jump attack, screw them.

Areas to develop:

Like you guys said, it's pretty punishing (not a bad thing generally), but I found it quite hard to get the timings on the attacks down consistently. Even with the stamina bar sometimes it's hard to work out when you can attack.

Great work! Congratulations!

Nate says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:09pm

I love the idea! The tentacles floating on screen where cool too. It made me feel like the alien. I wish the level design would allow me to play stealthily rather than just attacking the guards head on. Perhaps adding a crouch button would help. Overall, you guys did a good job.

Tridecimal says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:10pm

First off, those graphics were amazing. I have always loved billboard sprites in 3d games. Second, the lunge animation was fantastic. I never got tired of it. Finally, this was a hard game (as you said), and I loved it. The boss itself wasn't too hard but the real difficulty of it was figuring out how to beat him. I spent the time I had walking back to him to think of a strategy to beat him. I ended up walking to a capsule on the other side of the room each time he broke one so my life would have time to regenerate. Seriously, this was a really well done game. Great job!

kaype says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 2:30am

Getting a really big doom vibe from this.
Nice work!

m3_on says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 2:31am

As a fan of the cheesy but fun Starship Troopers series I love your take on Troopers Starship and letting me play as the bugs! I like the 2D cutout style for the soliders and the style overall.

mooncalf says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:07am

Yep, this game is tough. Aside from that, the mouse sensitivity was fickle and got me killed several times. But this was a cool monster game from 1st person, nice job!

Mark T says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:10pm

Love it! Eventually got pretty good at killing the gaurds, but one missed lunge could be your doom!

bakakyo says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 5:15pm

Nice stealth based gameplay! Oh my it's really hard to get the timing on the attacks xD But I liked the mood and characters very much.

benmcnelly says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 11:54pm

Highest ratings I am giving any game I have played so far! I love mixing the 3d and 2d, and +1 for easing people into the gameplay. Also huge fan of the leaping death spike and all the animation. Well put together!

lykanthrope says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 12:15am

Awesome style and lots of fun!

The artwork was great, and animations were delightful.

If I were going to nit pick a few things. The Text tended to run off the screen if you had it at 1024x768 resolution. Perhaps a slightly smaller text. You could still die if you're in the pounce-kill animation, I thought it would be nice to gain a temporary shield from one of the troopers.

Overall, this was a fantastic entry! I loved both Starship Trooper in its book and movie format (for different reasons). Next you'll have to make a BrainBug who can learn the map layout from kills!

ponk says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 10:25pm

Cool entry :) ! It reminds me all the hours that I spent playing Natural Selection :p

fermenter says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 11:42pm

Great entry. Very cute/well done art, and lunging was really fun!

jcsirron says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 12:12am

This is a solid entry! I particularly liked the doom-ish feel of the game.

Aug 28, 2015 @ 12:36am

Combat is a bit buggy and there is not much feedback to the player when it comes to it's surroundings. I have a similar entry, you can try it out and see how I made the enemies.
Other than that, great job on the art and theme :)

Aug 28, 2015 @ 12:52am

This is really fun. At first I thought the lack of a sprint and respawning at the beginning was going to have me quit quickly. However, I ended up playing through and attempting the boss several times. I eventually did give up, as the penalty of having to walk all the way back to the boss before immediately dying when I did the wrong thing was too much. The animations are great, and the lunge attack is very satisfying. Nice entry.

RoundFork says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 10:22am

@roaringcatgames I really appreciate the feedback and the fact that you stuck with it :) The respawn logic was written towards the very end and when it didnt work the way I anticipated I threw it all out and just put the player back at the beginning. I apologize for putting everyone through that. There will be an update coming soon that will put in place a proper respawn system as well as a more fair (not easier) combat system.

Thanks to everyone for the awesome feedback!!

BuffaloPhil says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 4:45pm

Great game. Love the drawings, the creature arms especially. Nice detail to show the lunge marker projected on the floor. Rad shit guys :)

Aug 30, 2015 @ 7:54am

Well made overall and the 2D art is great and looks cool in the 3D environment (although I'd have gone with a plain floor/ceiling sprite so you can't tell that the stationary objects are turning). Really neat sound effects too :D

Sep 2, 2015 @ 8:23am

Very cool game. I really enjoyed the lunge attack!

pi_pi3 says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 4:47pm

This game is great. Love the artstyle.

Zeriver says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 3:53pm

Pretty solid game although i had to play in window mode otherwise i couldn't start the game (i was stuck in main menu). I always like starship troopers related content so i might be a bit biased rating this game, anyway good job

ajayajayaj says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 4:18pm

Awesome! But there is a glitch where the lunge does not work.

Sep 5, 2015 @ 6:21pm

Nice game! I love the mix of 2D characters in a 3D environment with modern lighting. The 2D artwork is great, and the music was very fitting. Overall I had fun playing, but here are a few things I noticed in case you decide to take this further.

1. The colliders should be disabled on dead troopers so they don't interfere with movement.

2. Add progressive waypoints so you don't have to traverse a bunch of map you've already done.

2. Increase movement speed.

Great job!

chuckeles says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 8:01pm

Cool style. Great game :) although I found myself only using the lunge.

Mutt says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 9:06pm

I really, really liked the idea behind this. Really loved the tentacle spike things that made you feel like an alien.

It was a little hard to enjoy the game though, mostly because of the respawn system. Glad to hear you're fixing this in a post jam version -- I know how it is to not have time to fix broken stuff. :P

Some thoughts on how you could make a post jam version really cool:

* Make the character move faster, and maybe add a sprint button that drains stamina. If you're revamping the combat, you could even play around with allowing multiple lunges before running out of stamina, but with the risk of not having enough stamina left to sprint to cover.

* The sneak mode is WAY too slow, I never used it. I don't think the game necessarily needs a sneak button though.

* The animation and game feel is a little off. It's a little too fluid and 'juicy.' It needs more 'crunch' to it, if that makes sense. It's hard to say how you do that - I thinks its about making the animation faster, and happen in bursts. Like after you lunge and impale a guy, it should have a moment of anticipation, and then the animation of ripping him apart should happen really fast. Play around with it, I guess.

Anyways, like I said, I really loved the idea behind this, and the basic design. It makes me want to try my hand at a 3d game next ludum dare :)

Drauthius says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 10:08pm

I really like the art style, and would have loved to have some more sound effects (when landing and tearing someone to pieces or hitting the test tubes, etc.). The pacing is a bit slow (movement wise), especially if you die a lot like I did.

sergicollado says ...
Sep 6, 2015 @ 9:30pm

I liked graphics to mix 2d in 3D so well resolved and nice idea killing jump. It's so cool!

Galvesmash says ...
Sep 7, 2015 @ 12:27am

I liked the 2D graphics mixed with the 3D scenario, the jump attack was really cool!
The only problem is there is no checkpoints.

cyrixd says ...
Sep 7, 2015 @ 11:56am

Loved the art style, really nice blend of 3D environments with 2D sprites. Controls were excellent too, it was incredibly satisfying the land the lunge. Had a lot of fun nailing guards with it. I think the level design could be improved, since I never felt like there were any particularly clever solutions, most of the time I was just baiting the AI or hiding behind walls they refused to go around. Very nice atmosphere though, and impressively polished. Great work!

Sep 13, 2015 @ 4:52pm

Cool graphics, neat game! I included it in part 29 of my Ludum Dare 33 Compilation video series, if you would like to take a look :) https://youtu.be/s8htp2RZS7I

MAnimal says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 6:23am

Nice entry. Very good mood. Interesting of using 2d models in 3d.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]