Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Consume

by Rocketship - Jam Entry

You are a monster among people, trying to quench your hunger by consuming them. Don't let people notice you consuming their fellow human beings or they'll eventually alert the ghost busters.. or something along those lines.

HOW TO PLAY:
W - Move forward
A - Move left
D - Move Right

Get close to your target and click them to consume them to get your hunger-level down
If people notice you consuming someone, they'll run away and raise the alert level. If you manage to stop them, the alert level doesn't rise.

EDIT: Squashed some tiny little bugs

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness82%
#14Mood(Jam)4.44
#361Graphics(Jam)3.72
#435Theme(Jam)3.57
#588Overall(Jam)3.14
#670Innovation(Jam)2.82
#827Fun(Jam)2.65
#906Humor(Jam)1.92

Comments

Vaida says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:54pm

The shader and audio give this game a huge creepy atmosphere! The gameplay was a bit hard to understand, in the sense that I didn't get how the Alert part worked. The hovering character and the black particles were a nice touch. Overall, nicely done! :)

Elenesski says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:06pm

Fun time. Love the mood created by the music. Cool concept. The only issue I had was that sometimes I could get behind a building and couldn't see what was going on.

pirate_shell says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:40pm

As a mood piece it works quite well~

pixelgriffin says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:14pm

I quite like the mood of the game. I really feel evil! It would be nice if there was a way to lead a target somewhere dark so I can't be seen. Good concept!

Halleflux says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:21pm

Fantastic mood. It would been cool if there was a story slowly revealed over the time that you play. Well done!

WubAlliance says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:29am

The screen effects in this game are just brilliant. Every little touch makes the game a thousand times better. The sounds made me jump at first, but grew on me after a while. Keep it up!

rotpar says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:30am

Eerie and atmospheric.

Andrew says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:33am

Extra points for mood. I felt there could have been more done with the scenery though.

randomhuman says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:36am

Great visual effects and audio, gives it a very oppressive atmosphere.

tmpxyz says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:41pm

The graphics is quite good, something to learn.

MFEP says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:53pm

Really nice use of visual effects, they create an unique atmosphere. Clicking on people is a little bit frustrating though, I'd rather use a keyboard key for that purpose

block97 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:48pm

Audio and art style was really nice and it really helps with the mood of the game. Very cool game, Congrats!

dancingmad says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:52pm

this game is promising. A little more effort on the controls would have improved a lot the gameplay though. Also, nice graphics and atmoshpere!

egor-idiot says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:53pm

Very cool atmosphere!
Dark and creepy.

wdebowicz says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:53pm

I'm impressed, that you get such result using so simply graphics. Mood is awesome, I feel like a worker going to work in some Factory district. I don't get how the "alarm" works, because I could not make it grow to max even when I tried.

Rocketship says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:02pm

Thanks everyone for the feedback! The alert mechanism works in a bit of a wonky way.

jackrugile says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 6:24am

Holy crap, I love the aesthetic and the creepy glitches!

Rongon says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 6:37am

Really creepy atmosphere, I loved the effects (especially that screen shake glitch).
If only targets had a little more alive feeling to them, like running away when witnessing "consuming".

Tuism says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 6:53am

The creepiness reigns supreme in this one! I could actually feel the anxiety and tension right from off the bat, well done on the shader work!

But after getting into the game a bit, one realises that there's not much to be afraid of, and the tension drops off significantly. Wish the game mechanics actually fed into the tension.

Some odd choices that you've made:

Why do you have to get close AND click ON the victim? It feels unnecessary and unwieldy. Your victim is already highlighted. Use that highlight, press a key/button. Done.

The lack of visual or any feedback about when you'll be spotted or not is irritating. No vision cones, sphere of influence, noise circles, whatever. An ambiguous stealth game is a sucky one as the player feels randomly done in.

Aug 26, 2015 @ 7:05am

Wonderful creepy atmosphere and camera/sound effects. I wish the game play had a bit more depth, but nice job!

Piotrek says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 7:06am

6 for mood!

fullmontis says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 7:08am

The game is quite interesting. Great mood and sound effects. Gameplay is a little too simple, and I found it annoying that I could not move faster than the other guys cause it meant that if I didn't catch a guy first I could not catch him anymore. Besides that, this was an enjoyable game :)

Boberro says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 7:29am

Wow. Creepy. One problem I had was with the camera - it's possible to have whole view blocked by the wall.

Aug 26, 2015 @ 7:43am

Really great mood!!

wg_phancock says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 9:09am

The static/grain effects and accompanying sounds were a nice touch and really made for a nice 5/5 mood.

The gameplay comes off as a bit simple and not as rewarding as it could be when you consume someone or cause alert to go up. Some more feedback in the form of vision cones or alert bubbles or something there would have been nice.

Still, you pulled off the creepy vibe really well!

dregamr says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 10:22am

Misterious...strange...but ridiculously addictive. Good job!! ;)

Aug 26, 2015 @ 10:30am

Great atmosphere, loved the screen warping effects.

Aug 26, 2015 @ 2:08pm

Super creepy atmosphere. I included it in part 7 of my Ludum Dare 33 Compilation video series, if you would like to take a look :) youtu.be/Ly6pR3C_dVc

01101101 says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 2:46pm

The mood is really good here, even if the character movement kinda break the immersion a bit (the fact that you just slide on the ground without any animation)
It was a nice, dark experience anyway, good job!

Dell says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 2:52pm

Great use of effects to create a creepy atmosphere!

LeoM says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 4:29pm

Nice ambiance but a bit to easy.
I tried to trigger the alert at the max and I was feed before... :s

HThomson says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 6:07pm

Fantastic mood, especially liked the static and screen distortion, gave the whole thing a handheld cam horror film feeling.

Gameplay was a little dull and whilst the slow movement helped with the creepy mood and fits the theme you've established it did mean that the game lost momentum quite quickly, chasing humans down long stretches of road soon became quite tedious. Perhaps you could find some mechanic or ability that adds variety to chasing the humans whilst staying consistent with your theme, like a shadowy tongue that yanks humans towards you but has a cooldown or something.

Anyway other than that it's a very impressive game, great job :)

andreiichim says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 1:23am

Great screen effects and sound effects. I love the mood.
The gameplay is a little too slow, and that makes it a bit frustrating.

Grouflon says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 8:07am

The mood is awesome. Congratulation !

Aug 27, 2015 @ 6:17pm

reat game. Great job in creating that creepy mood despite the reduced visuls. I agree that the world seems believable and lively - just because of the road and the way the houses and alleys are arranged.
Awesome job!

voidstar33 says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 8:16pm

creepy visuals, creepy effects, creepy sound. Overall the creepiest game till now. Wonderful presentation. Gameplay wasn't that entertaining though.

derr says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 9:47am

The graphic effects are just like in a creepy movie. I especially liked the one when the street somehow curved for a second. The same is true for the music, it's really creepy. Well done!

cbstegeman says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 2:55pm

The mood and glitchy effects are cool!

wooltech says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 4:32pm

The atmosphere is wonderful.

yuigoto says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 8:08pm

Spooky and nice! The shader and the glitches, the audio, it all gives a nice atmosphere and sets up a really nice mood for the game! :)

The controls feel a bit slow, though. But nice entry! :D

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]