Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Specimen

by jsmars - Compo Entry

Phew! Here is my LD33 entry! Been coding approx 18h both days, but still tons more I wanted to get in the game.

Hope you like it!

Controls:
Xbox 360 controller recommended!
Arrows + Space/Z

POST COMPO EDITION RELEASED!
I've made some changes to the movement/controls and some other minor changes after feedback. Hopefully a more enjoyable version for some! :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness63%
#136Audio3.48
#143Graphics3.85
#154Mood3.55
#181Overall3.55
#460Fun3.03
#519Humor2.59
#634Innovation2.73
#801Theme2.72

Comments

snade says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:39pm

Didn't play with a xbox 360 controller. was quite hard to do the wall jumps. Might wanna tweak this a bit?

Spyboy says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:43pm

I have a cheap laptop but it lag too much on it, sorry I can't vote for you.

mde says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:02pm

Your graphics were great and the sounds have well fitted for the game but I think that your game does not match the Tema.

Pusty says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:08pm

Well was was to play but after finding all serums I wasn't able to progress. Great Game anyways :D

jsmars says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:13pm

After you find all the specimens you should bring them to the testing chamber, it's a bit hard to find. Atip, it's close to the marine lab.
For the theme you will have to play the entire game :)

wicht says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:23pm

Nice entry, really like the art. Mechanics are good. Balance is nice, not to easy. Would have loved to see the monster in the end ;)

Zerkruemler says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:25pm

Nice athmosphere and funny graphics, but not so clear how to proceed. I tried to solve the jumping parts, but since I am not a very experienced platformer specialist I kept falling down more than 10 times in lab 0. Ok, not my type of game. The controls should be more forgiving in my opinion. But maybe this is exactly the challenge of the game. I don't know.
The texts of the dialogs are sometimes too big to fit on the screen. This is strange.

jsmars says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:27pm

Thanks for the feedback! If lab 0 is too hard you can try to go to the other areas first and the powerups will help you there :)

Aelius says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:33pm

The graphics and sound are wonderful but these jumps are so frustrating: the gravity is too high, the guy is sliding for hours and the wall jumps don't work unless you press the key in that direction which makes it impossible to jump away from a wall.

Ferret says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:40pm

Hut hut hut hut hut hut hut.

Best jump sound ever. It took a really long time to figure out how to get into the test chamber. And I caught that half life reference :P

Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:09pm

awesome art style

ronsap123 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:12pm

Awesome work! A little bit hard to play, but very fun when you get used to the controls!

hgcummings says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:18pm

Great mood, graphics and sfx. The different environments (e.g. the marine lab) were really well done, and it seemed really solid overall. I thought the animations on the player character's sprite were really well done and kind of amusing (especially the falling and climbing modes). Agree with what some others have said that the movement seemed a bit unforgiving, but perhaps I just don't play platformers enough. Took me a while to get started: A lot of aimless wandering around without much new to see, although it helped that the game is generally quite slick and good-looking.

Ozeotropo says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:26pm

Nice entry! I made it to the end. Has some lag issues, but was very nice overall. Loved the half-life references :)

TerinHD says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:31am

Control scheme on the keyboard made wall jumping really difficult.

Good style and audio though.

jsmars says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 8:48pm

Now I've released a post-compo version with some better platforming controls and other minor changes which should make the game more enjoyable for you guys. Hope you enjoy it! :)

Kuchalu says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 2:24pm

Such good graphics.

dunin says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 3:56pm

Need some polish (I didn't play the post compo...) but nice fx and intro!

Biruts says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 3:25pm

Very nice project guys, i really love it, please check our game too and if you liked it give us a vote. Look for Road to hell and enjoy.

bentglasstube says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 3:03am

I enjoyed the game. The music was particularly nice - reminiscent of metroid, but the jump sound was kind of annoying after a while.

Niebule says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 3:31pm

I liked the game, through and through... all though the melody that comes in the background music is slightly too high-pitch for my poor ears ^_^ I think it didn't really fit the theme (or maybe I just didn't get the end), but I really enjoyed the game, all in all. Thanks for a fun 10 min game play! :D

uheartbeast says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 11:09pm

Jumping was a bit strange but the graphics and mood were amazing. Great job.

Oct 13, 2015 @ 1:05pm

Nice graphics, cool game. I included it in my Ludum Dare 33 Compilation video series, if you would like to take a look :) https://youtu.be/Ee0UBhVOJOc

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]