Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

The Truth

by HolyBlackCat - Compo Entry

Please post your feedback, it's valuable. Also, please post any bugs you've found.



* DESCRIPTION *
This game features epic story about a soldier with treachery, mysterious old man, kills and lots of jumping and shooting!

Written in C++ (SDL2,GLEW,OpenGL,OpenAL).



* HELP I'M STUCK *
Kill all 6 aliens.
Remember, you can shoot downwards.



* CHANGELOG *
4. Tweaked death screen - player now disappers smoothly.
3. Moved a dialogue texts a few pixels to the left.
2. Fixed collisions and camera.
1. Made game automatially open in fullscreen. Changed visual type of tiles in one small place at last level.
0. Uploaded.


*************
If it's not too hard for you, please try to get past the alien base! The real game with plot twists and enemies starts after! (Actually, after one short level after the base.)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#67Overall3.84
#73Mood3.78
#142Audio3.45
#213Theme3.78
#223Fun3.39
#258Graphics3.49
#565Innovation2.84
#683Humor2.22

Comments

TimWright says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:57am

Seem's like there is something going on with the soldier being a monster? Didn't get far enough to find out.

Mantlair says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:58am

Veeery good! The ending was unexpected. But I really felt bad at that plot twist. Which is probably the main idea of half of the games. Great bg music. If I wanna complain about something it is camera movement. But yeah i dont wanna. Great game!

GameQuester says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:21am

I dont know if it was a bug or if I didnt find a way. But after the point where you say that they are maybe peacefull I couldn't progress in the level. What I'm supposed to do at this point? Beside that it was a cool and atmospheric game with suitable music.

ireal says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:26am

Wow, that was great

OadT says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:44am

I loved the story, graphics and audio :)
But the camera movement is very strange, because of that I think also the controls generally feels quite weird and it was hard to get to the end. Also it would be nice if checkpoints would save automatically.

GameQuester says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:46am

I think the thing was that one of the aliens fall into a gap and so I couldn't kill him. I will definitely give it another try.

HolyBlackCat says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:50am

Thanks.

games-placeo says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:01am

Really great game.

mat1er says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:04am

Actually, I didn't wanted to kill the alien at first...
I only forced me when I understood I couldn't vote for the game if I don't kill them...
Made me feel pretty bad, though.

Teekeks says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:05am

Its hard to shoot down and jump, but it works and its fun to play.

NebulaOrbit says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:26am

Incredibly good! Love the art and setting!

Insality says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:41am

perfect story-game!
good job

Aug 24, 2015 @ 12:45pm

Really cool graphics and gameplay. I wish I knew how to make graphic applications in C++ :P

HolyBlackCat says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 12:57pm

@AdenMansonGames Thanks! Well, spend a few years on it and you will be able to do it too... :D

azakhary says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 1:02pm

Bugged on me, I died several times without doing anything, just standing near the wall. But, the game was pretty cool! Loved the story building, apparently this guys were pretty harmless, maybe the center is evil, but soldier seems understanding.. didn't get far enough to find out, because died several times without reason.

fraanns says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 1:08pm

Wonderful game
Great Sounds and Music
Good Story
Good Graphics
Just tweak the collision system, camera movement and maybe the key bindings and it is perfect.

OadT says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:25pm

The new camera system is definitely way better :)

HolyBlackCat says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:27pm

Thanks! :D

Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:30pm

That creepy music really set the mood - great work.

rogual says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:47pm

Ice cold, man.

This has everything you could want in a game. Betrayal. Deception. Redefinable keys.

The levels were satisfyingly long and really well put together. The story was compelling enough to keep me going even through the frustrating parts.

You made me feel bad at the reveal, too. It started off feeling like an obvious interpetation of the theme, but then you put that novel twist on it.

Great job.

HolyBlackCat says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:55pm

Thanks!

azakhary says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:04pm

Played it again, was pretty interesting :)

Zupoman says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:02pm

Played it whole. Great graphics, however the lack of death animations hit me a bit. The player character movement animation is well-done. The background music unfortunately became annoying after a few minutes, a bit too monotonic. Overall very good. I wish it was longer and had more enemies.

Sunflower says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:15pm

(WARNING: Might contain spoilers!)

The yay:
- graphics and audio
- somewhat challenging
- the general thought behind the story and use of theme

The nay:
- story execution (i.e. writing and specific events); while I get the general idea, I feel like it's incomplete or incoherent at some places and I can't put things together into a plausible picture. In particular, I don't know why such elaborate method of disposal has been chosen if simpler alternatives were likely available; or why the soldier was "abandoned", which would imply sustaining the illusion for absurdly long time; or how does one break through illusion and why the old guy couldn't. Upon closer inspection, this story feels somewhat contrived to me, as if the bad guys invented all this alien-slayer ploy just so that we can get a plot twist in the game, having little in-universe reason to do that otherwise. Or maybe there's some information I'm missing...?
- the soldier animation at the beginning looks weird without any arm movement ^^"

Mind, I generally found the game rather enjoyable and I do appreciate the attempt at story (it's probably still better than most of games around) and use of theme. However, having played a few story-driven games I might be more picky than average player. ^^"

HolyBlackCat says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:13pm

Well, I expected players to imagine lacking parts of the plot themselves. :D This is more interesting that showing every secret.

AndreSilvs says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:17am

The fact that when you get to the alien base and see the "red ghosts" running away from you, you start wondering about them actually being a threat.
The mechanics were nice, I especially liked how the blue lasers were synchronized and you had to time your jumps.
Overall, well-made story and great game!

collaboration says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:26pm

Amazing mood, athospehre and music - I remembered my childhood...

djfariel says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 10:17am

1st Thought:
"Omg, customizable controls, this one is gonna be good."

Pros:
YOU CAN AIM DOWN WHILE JUMPING
#datleveldesign
The use of dialogue to make a story didn't result in awkwardness, great job.
I like the implementation of the "You're the Monster" theme.

Cons:
The old man's dialogue was kinda lame :P
Really, I just wanted to keep playing, so I guess that's not really a con.

Overall:
Great job. This was a really well done game. It could use some polish here and there, but I would be interested to see this progress past LD33.

022pedro says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 12:30am

Why did you take my gun away? :( Nice job on the game :)

AdayMC says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 8:36pm

Very good history and ambient, graphics did good job and music was so interesting. It reminds me to Flashback game, this gave me so good feelings.

Good job!

SamH says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 8:54pm

Nice work overall! My main complaint would be the kinda slippery controls, but you get used to it. The story is a good, mature take on the theme. The sun at the end is cute :)

Here, I hacked together a Linux version for you, with a Makefile and a minor change to the assets path: http://zoy.org/~sam/thetruth-linux.tar.gz

nihilaleph says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 1:17am

Great mood! Music was awesome, graphics were cool, although the animation was ok (btw, when there is that darker background the soldier leg almost disappear), I guess because the soldier only moved his legs...
Story was nice, although I couldn't do what I wanted (not kill the aliens and kill the lady xp)

Oh there is this one alien that would go immediately to the spikes and I couldn't kill it... Then I read here that I could actually shoot down! Really missed that part... Anyway, great job!

MAnimal says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 9:55pm

Wow, i m very thrilled with your game. Cool graphic, I think everything is on the right place, sometimes was hard to know what to do. Best entry i have seen until now.

Jelinib says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 7:18am

Wow, this was great! Heck of a lot of work for a compo entry.

I tried to use my gun multiple times at the end, but this was apparently not allowed due to plot device. I truly am a monster for letting them live, huh?

Fantastic music, art, story, and mood. Well done!

jodizzle says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 7:49am

Cool game entry. Even though it's minimal at this point, I appreciated many aspects of the gameplay: the nice tutorial area showing off what the player could do, the save point functionality worked perfectly (I would have placed some of the points in different locations, but still), the variable jumping height, the obstacles. It's all pretty standard fare, but the level design turned it into quite a nice little (and decently challenging) platformer-type game.

I wasn't a big fan of the story, but I don't judge any story made in 48 hours too harshly. I did like, however, the ghosty-alien creatures the player has to shoot in the first run through of the level. I was one of those players who went about shooting them right away, only realizing later that a) they didn't hurt me and b) they were running from me. I wouldn't say that that experience evoked any particularly powerful emotions, but it was a twist of some sort. If anything, I think too many things are directly spelled out to the player; the character dialogue is extremely revealing in a bad way. There are definitely some things that could be cleaned up in the thematic and "theatrical" departments.

One thing that bothered me about the graphics (which were overall fine) is that sometimes, because of the blocky, mono-colored-y style of the game, it was hard to distinguish between the different objects. I died a couple times during my first few runthroughs of the kill-the-aliens stage because I didn't pick out the spikes too well, and once or twice I second-guessed landing on the ground because I thought it was water. Chalk it up to me being stupid, tired, or it just not being an issue because there aren't that many objects/landscape features to begin with, but I think a more diverse color palette would help in this case.

Congrats on the entry!

xvw says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 10:44am

I enjoyed this game to the end! really nice!
The story is not amazing, but for a compo, you managed to make the game interesting with a great atmosphere!
Great overall! :)

oakus says ...
Sep 6, 2015 @ 9:26am

The game got my attention enought that I got throught it because I wanted to find out how it will end. It was just the right amount of difficulty to feel good about overcoming obstacles but not be frustrated by them. Would like to kill that woman at the end though :D

HotBoxGames says ...
Sep 8, 2015 @ 7:51pm

Very atmospheric, tragic story - which is fantastic.
The only thing I didn't like was the camera, it felt very rigid and resulted in the game being hard to play at times. I like that you have re-bindable controls, too!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]