Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

The Monster Inside

by xWarZonex - Compo Entry

The Monster Inside...

First off, Hello guys! My name is Tanner Daniels! I'm a 16 year old Dubstep producer / Ex-Game developer. I don't Game Dev anymore, but I participate in every Ludum Dare. Ludum Dare is the only time I can look back on my past hobby. Ludum Dare is my most anticipated 3 weekend of the year, I've counted down the days since the last Ludum Dare! I'm supper excited about this entry! This is defiantly my best yet, and I hope you think so too. Keep in mind, I'm a dubstep producer.... Even if you guys rate me low, I will still feel like a winner from the experienced I've gained from this game.
Back to the point...

The Monster Inside is a game about the story of a kind monster at heart, who cannot control is rage. He is banished too the darkness, where it is even harder to control his rage. He cannot control the monster inside of him You must consume the light to keep your rage in check. You must avoid unfriendly objects, if you hit them, your rage increased by a random number. The point of the game is simple, don't let your rage reach 100%! If you reach 100 rage points, you go into rage mode, where you slaughter everything around you, including humans. When you enter rage mode, the rage becomes more than you can bear, you explode from rage if you don't consume a certain number of light before the 10 seconds! For more details, see the rules in the game.

This game, I stepped out of my comfort zone in aspects of art. I am a terrible artist, but this LD, I focused on improving my art, and I think it turned out well, but that's up to you to decide.

I AM A DUBSTEP PRODUCER, so I wanted to make audio the main focus of my game. I spent a long time making these songs (probably longer than I should) and I also modulated my own voice to create a sick vocal intro to this game! My goal and dream is to reach top 100 in audio... Pleas help me fufil my dream if you fill I deserve it!

Thankyou for playing this game! And I hope you enjoy playing the game as much as you enjoyed playing it! I wanted to do something outside the box that everyone else is thinking... And I think I achieved it.

-Tanner

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#27Audio4.04
#84Mood3.74
#234Theme3.74
#268Overall3.39
#344Graphics3.32
#361Fun3.17
#363Innovation3.17
#639Humor2.31

Comments

merrak says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:14am

The simpler art works pretty well here--music was very fitting!

Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:29am

I really like the introduction, puts you straight into the mood. The atmosphere through the whole game is amazing. The dubstep really fits in there. Good job!

ceosol says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:05pm

It sounds like you have multiple layers of songs playing at the same time. That is really interesting in terms of timing upbeats to match what is happening in the game. The design is simplistic, but the ambience is very intricate. Nice job.

MegasDragos1 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:34pm

Art is very good, nusic as well, and the game concept is very good! Good job!

whalebot says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:39pm

Nice concept. It got very difficult to grab light pieces when raging since I'd land on a corner, but overall this is pretty good.

Insality says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:47pm

He-he-hey! The Light-Darkness and nice music supporter! Great graphics and audio design. Good job!

candlesan says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:49pm

Great game! Love the mood. I like the animations and the art style. Good choice making everything dark so that hte lights really pop. The music was PERFECT. Maybe consider switching to a different amp'ed up track when you are raged.

daveh says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:50pm

Best experienced with headphones is definitely true. The audio was brilliant and really took the mood to the next level. The distorted voice-over was really creepy (in a good way!)

The machanics are solid and you're still having fun even when you get enraged because it just feels so intense. Loved this, great work!

xWarZonex says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:51pm

Thankyou guys for all the complements! I am really excited to see you all love it as much as I do.

At first, I was unsure if I what I was doing would turn out well, I'm a terrible artist, I'm not a expert programmer, and Dubstep in foreign to most games, but now I am very glad I went out of my comfort zone. I originally planned on doing simple black and white art(which it sorta is XD[but better]), I didn't plan on adding a lot of the feature's I ended up implementing, but you guys showed me it was worth the risk!

@Candlesan... I was considered adding extra amp-ed up music while in rage... But I didn't have to enough time. Plus, it would be a pain getting it to transition well.
@Whalebot... Thankyou, I'm going to try fixing that in a post-compo version.
@Everyone!... Thankyou for your support!

Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:24pm

Really cool game! I found it impossible to "de-rage" once that happened, but overall I really like the game. The audio sets the mood really well.

kirilllosev says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:33pm

I like how music goes along a gameplay. Also it's pretty addictive

tullyhansen says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:56am

Intro voiceover and music throughout both awesome. Great consistent tone throughout.

Unept says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:18pm

Great job overall. The simple graphics worked well. Great song. :) Unique touch on the countdown after reaching rage, that added a lot to the game. Great mood. Good job.

Team Luminous says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:19pm

I felt sorry for the monster. Trying so hard not to kill everyone.

Aug 26, 2015 @ 12:27am

I personally think you nailed the Mood section of the rating. The audio is excellent, as you had hoped. The graphics are simple, but work very well with the rest of the game. The gameplay could be improved; sometimes not enough lights spawn within the rage to calm the monster, and the ones that do are difficult to collect. All in all, I think you did a great job bringing this concept to completion. 4.5/5

jeapple says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 6:32am

Nice dark world, don't mind completely black.
hahahaha.

squarepug says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:26pm

I think you succeeded in making audio the main focus, it works brilliantly. Love the intro voiceover, and then the gameplay is really good too. This is already a very good game, which considering the time constraints of ludum dare, is very impressive. Great job!

ZzCalvinzZ says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 4:54pm

pretty good job....the integration was well done with the gameplay and the music...your 16 and an "ex" game dev!? Great job!

Donni11 says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 10:11pm

Wow ! Amazing game! It gets me so nervous when the monster goes mad!

Aug 27, 2015 @ 5:35am

Amazing music, with a superb minimalist art style and gameplay which work perfectly together and deliver a great mood. Overall, really, really good entry.

LMT says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 2:57pm

I enjoyed the ambience and the music very much. It was very intense. I could see the theme through the music which was certainly interesting

rodobodolfo says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 2:21am

yeah dubstep! it was really cool. Heres an idea: My first play I got the drop just at the same time as I got the rage and it was unbelievable cool!!
the second play I was not so lucky. You should find a way to progamatically vary the intensity according to the rage level. really great entry!!!

Javabot says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 3:33am

Incredible music and game play. I am so jealous.

Aug 28, 2015 @ 1:53pm

AMAZING!

tanjent says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 5:13pm

I see super potential in this one. Some ideas: The music is already "top notch" for the sub-theme (rage) ... so just need to fit the rest to make it even tighter! Inspiration from Anarchist-movement design/fonts could be an easy 10x multiplier for the overall look/menus/etc. Black+Red+White = very basic good colors, keep it. Make the intro skippable, remove the ":" sign in all the status texts. I think the little d00d should move faster and have a bit of tremor/shake when idle so you know he is about to explode. Also an extra effect could be background lights/screen blink in tempo with different snare hits/wubs.

AlivEMouZ says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 2:26am

Awesome dude nice game! Hey everyone, if Tanner say he's 6,4 feet tall, DONT BELIEVE HIM!! =3 <3

Aug 29, 2015 @ 4:47am

You can tell that sound production was an important part of this for you. It looks pretty good, and I think the aesthetic and the decisions were smart for the limitations on time.

OnlySlightly says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 4:48am

Great job with the audio! And cool concept. I liked all visual effects that incurred while raging. Great job!

Saf says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 8:27pm

You should consider removing the Humor criterion to improve the average ratings for the game. Loved the game, took me by surprise! Great job.

congusbongus says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 12:10pm

Good stuff

Geckoo1337 says ...
Sep 6, 2015 @ 10:19pm

Music is great - maybe the low level is a little bit too loud for me, but I am not an expert. Gameplay is simple and fun. I like the simple aesthetic so as to immerge the player in a dark environment - the soul of a monster. Well done. Thank you ++

crucknuk says ...
Sep 12, 2015 @ 4:50pm

Well you make good music in its genre.
It adds to the ambiance of the game and i believe it is important :)
You show that you are actually good at music, i felt monstruous with it :)
so 4 stars for the music, well deserved :)

Sep 14, 2015 @ 8:40pm

Well, I can say, the game is quite innovative, I haven't seen anything like that since the NES game Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde, so that's a strong point.

Storywise it was simple, but kinda deep, something that perfectly fits Ludum Dare I think, not to mention it does fit the theme nicely.

The visuals are really rad, it really goes with the theme of the game, your choice of visual art style is simply perfect.

Forcing the Dubstep thing onto it on the other hand was a bad move. It just doesn't fit IMHO, kinda feels the exact opposite as it should: monstrous.

The mood was fitting, I liked it.

Keep up the good work!

Creative Sectors: Kardfogú

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]