Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Sir Uthyr and Nemea

by Creative Sectors - Jam Entry

Welcome everyone!

It's Kardfogú here in the colors of the Creative Sectors. Another solo Ludum Dare. Except I got a lil' bit of testing and scripting help from our good leader ETC (Ernesty The Creator).

Gameplay stuff!
This is practically an extremely short RPG with lots of talk and without the grinding and fighting part.
This time I went for a bit more gameplay and a bit more content and a bit more of deep stuff. Well, Humor and Audio surely lacks, but I hope everything else will make up for it.
The controls are easy, you need 4 arrows and a nice spacebar and you already got everything under control.

As there isn't much to talk about, I'd like to write some anti description instead:

The latest+1 generation RPG, Sir Uthyr and Nemea brings everyone the absolute best RPG experience ever. Released for windows and consoles so new they don't even exist, Sir Uthyr and Nemea continues - I mean really continues - the Slashalot saga with an epic story to behold.
/*Except, this time we actually have a story to begin with!*/

Play as Sir Uthyr the evil knight of Neighboria and do evil stuff! Then play as Nemea, the Nemean lion to end the evil tyranny of your previous player character!

Anti-Features:
- Up to 10 minutes of exciting gameplay!
- Wondrous items of might and magic, the game contains as much as 0 different items!
- Not exactly overdressed female protagonist in the second part of the game!
- Even more mythologically accurate - that is to say underdressed - female monsters!
- Now with 2 different soundtracks, each one is at least 2 second long and plays in a loop.
- Animated 6 dimensional water, because that's the most important ever!
- Well-hidden-linear almost nearly-sandbox-like-ishly-looking gameplay in world that is almost as open as a closed door!
- Not-so-secret endings!
- The base game includes 4 different types of female monsters!
- No Bonus free DLC for you, you forgot to preorder the game!*
*Post LD correction, "Bad Kitty DLC" included in Post LD release.

Well, other than these, I don't have much to say for now, let's try it out!


Credits:

Again, extra special mega-thanks for my grandma for being awesome and feeding me for ~25 years, especially now. She worked hard so that I won't starve to death while developing this game. Not to mention the industrial amount of tea I consumed.

Thanks to Near for not slapping mah face, she helped with the ideas too.
Another slight lil' thanks to Morgoroth who didn't do much this time, but I'm mentioning him just so that I can make fun of it. =^-^=
Mega-thanks to XenoDragon - a friend of mine and the leader of Creative Sectors - for this chance to prove myself and for helping me with a lil' bit of Ruby script, a bit of game testing and grammar - as I'm too damn tired to test my game for myself at this point - and for in general being a friend of mine which helps a lot.
Additional thanks to my senior at workplace, he must have worked hard to keep the place running without the whole stuff exploding. He's awesome.

Special thanks to kittens of the world. Kitties are awesome, badass and cute.

Post LD:
Post Ludum Dare version 1.01 2015.09.14. changes:
- "Bad Kitty DLC" added.
Download Link: https://www.dropbox.com/s/53at19om3alcus6/Post%20LD%20%2333%20Sir%20Uthyr%20and%20Nemea.exe?dl=0

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#429Mood(Jam)3.27
#492Humor(Jam)2.85
#511Fun(Jam)3.08
#548Overall(Jam)3.19
#549Audio(Jam)2.68
#612Graphics(Jam)3.20
#628Theme(Jam)3.31
#745Innovation(Jam)2.73

Comments

Biruts says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 12:54am

Very nice project guys, i really love it, please check our game too and if you liked it give us a vote. Look for Road to hell and enjoy.

okmmjyygv says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 5:58pm

Good job!

Sep 13, 2015 @ 9:28am

Nice solo effort, not a lot of gameplay though.

Sep 13, 2015 @ 10:03am

Thank you all for your words I'm happy you liked it. X)

Creative Sectors: Kardfogú

Sep 13, 2015 @ 10:09am

Would be nice if there was a way to quickly advance the dialogue (or if there was, if I knew what it was).

Sep 13, 2015 @ 10:26am

@Slashee the Cow: I think you're right, but at the time I was barely able to finish in time, sorry for that. ^^'

goodbadokay says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 4:37pm

Awesome! Tried to reach all endings. Very like this SNES'esque style.

Darkflint says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 6:16pm

Alone your description is worth 5 stars! Good game with an interesting double-interpration of the theme.

nihilaleph says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 11:48pm

There isn't much of gameplay, but it was a short but nice story to read! I liked the old RPG mood with the graphics and audio! The twist with the theme was also good!
Some more story would be nice, but there is only much time to do it ^^;
Great job!

PS: Nice description!

DruhinM says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 4:27am

Nice job

Sep 14, 2015 @ 9:51am

"And that night, on this barren knoll, the ghosts of RPG Maker rose once again to wreak havoc upon the world and cause pestilence and destruction in their wake."

Would recommend.

Sep 14, 2015 @ 2:29pm

Thank you guys, you are awesome, I'm happy I managed to please so many great gentleman!

...and yep, RPG Maker is like punks: Definitely Not Dead.
/* or if it is dead, it doesn't matter, I'm proficient with necromancy anyways */

Creative Sectors: Kardfogú

MercuryXGames says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 4:18pm

good!

goodbadokay says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 5:09pm

Oh, I forgot to note about one bug: if Nemea will try to leave the city after taking up all books, learning Rage ability and killing all guards (but not sir Uthur), game freazes without ending.

Also: why no Bonus free DLC for me? I've tried to preorder the game!
Cool game, cool description, intresting to investigate everything there.

DalaiLlama says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 6:02pm

Great game! I actually messed up the first time so I went and booted the game up again to go for the other ending. Worth it.

Sep 14, 2015 @ 6:13pm

@goodbadokay: Thanks for finding that bug, it looks weird, I wasn't able to reproduce the bug, I got an ending screen as intended, I'll try to fix that anyways. I really appreciate finding that bug for me!

Well, too bad about the DLC thing. X)
If I can reach you in any way later - for example an e-mail -, I'll try to send you a Bonus DLC, I already have an idea that involves a "mythologically accurate" Nemean lion.

Thank you for your time. X)

goodbadokay says ...
Sep 15, 2015 @ 7:23am

@Creative Sectors
I've come to this ending, when Nemea was in the hat. But may be it was just accident. I'll check on updated version.

Thanks for DLC, I'll definitely play it on consoles so new they don't even exist =)
(or on Windows).

goodbadokay says ...
Sep 16, 2015 @ 10:58am

Oh, nice DLC =)
Also, bug was fixed there. I've checked first version again, bug was found again. DLC has no significant bugs.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]