Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

A Heart between Parts

by LeafThief - Jam Entry

A Heart between Parts is a classic Point and Click adventure game. You take on the role of a "scientific" experiment, a monster, made to be loved but hated by its own creator. You have to escape the room he locked you in.

CONTROLS AND HEADS UP:
Left Click - Interact
Right Click - Examine

There was an inventory bug in the original version which has since been fixed. So enjoy! :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness87%
#10Graphics(Jam)4.75
#15Mood(Jam)4.43
#35Overall(Jam)4.11
#47Theme(Jam)4.18
#72Audio(Jam)3.86
#561Humor(Jam)2.72

Comments

scorched says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:58pm

Completed the game. Overall it's good but has some things to fix like contour around the head and the annoying bug with inventory (didn't read the description until writing this post). Also the first item use was a bit tricky to figure out :-)

whalebot says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:25pm

Inventory selection was a bit janky for some reason, but the art is gorgeous, and I liked some of the free verse poetry happening in the dialogue.

DruhinM says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:14am

Art is superb

Manou says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:21am

A nice tribute to old point&click adventures ! Wonderful entry !

nwdg says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:23am

I really like the mood and the scripting! Very well done! Too bad for the nasty inventory bug!

collaboration says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:36am

Amazing art, awesome and challenging oldschool gamedesign, this is really reeally cool!

Chris Olsen says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:51am

Very nice work. Shame about the bugs was really into it till it stopped me.

Lane says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:52am

Pretty impressive art, reminded me of DoTT! Narrative was pretty interesting too. Overall kept me immersed like any other game I would play would have.

Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:55am

My favourite game so far. Absolutely loved the art and text, thought it was really nicely done. Big fan of old school adventures games so this hit the spot.

Meursault says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:59am

I really like your game. The art is beautiful. Only the interaction/inventory is a little buggy. Nice work.

Snippety says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:00pm

The visual style is amazing. I love the atmosphere of the game. Awesome entry.

fullmontis says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:06pm

I could not finish it because of the inventory bug you talk about. It is a shame cause I really like the game! The graphics are amazing and the mood of the game is super.

pyokoanarogue says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:17pm

Totes Amazes!

goodolvic says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:37pm

Ahh, excellent! This is what I tried to do as well: a short adventure that takes place in a single room. You did an excellent job. Good luck with that bug!

Ellian says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:22pm

Completed the game. Maybe a little short/easy, but the writing was excellent, the art amazing and the overall atmosphere great! :D
Nice job. :)

Pierrec says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:40pm

It's pretty and cute, but I still prefer your less gamish games :)

StaNov says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:50pm

Graphics and music are absolutely amazing! It's clear it's not your first adventure :) And the rhyming is charming :)

The story is kinda confusing though. And I wanted to use dat flower for something! I was like "Oh cool, I wonder for what is the flower here!"

I looked up your game after you commented mine.
-- the creator of The Letterpress Imp :)

cbstegeman says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:14pm

Really awesome atmosphere and graphics. I didn't find the story confusing, it was cool, and I loved the rhyming. Excellent work as always!

nihilaleph says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 4:44am

Awesome! Great art, atmosphere, writting! Just lovely!

Fanatrick says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 1:05pm

Strong art game, very sick for the limited timeframe! o.o

Tselmek says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 1:27pm

Really nice graphics and nice old-english narrative!

Aug 26, 2015 @ 2:24pm

Fantastic artwork and a nice story.

GhostBomb says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 2:33pm

Lovely art and animation very reminiscent of older point and click games.

Techblogogy says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 2:34pm

This was a very nice game. Art is great, music is fantastic. It felt a bit short, but hey it was made in only 72 hours.

Overall great job!

DarkwindMedia says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 2:53pm

This was really great! A very well rounded project. Good stuff!

Datamosh says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 2:59pm

Superb atmosphere. Great entry!

Literal Games says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:16pm

A really fantastic entry! Fantastic graphics and I loved the Shakespearian-esque dialog!

Kubees says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:32pm

Nice, I like it a lot! Graphic is masterpiece!

pirate_shell says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 5:02pm

Another very solid entry! I feel the art, music, writing and overall atmosphere kept it together the most as they were outstanding. The gameplay was by no means bad, it was simple, but effective. Overall, a really solid entry that maybe could have stood to be a touch longer. But being left wanting more is definitely a good sign of the game's quality~

Headmade says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 10:46pm

Such wonderful art, especially like the color palette.
Everything is just lovely.

Super minor complaint is that the characters mouth is moving even when here mouth is sewn shut.

Frump says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 3:42am

Really great. Excellent art and animation, good fitting music. It played exactly like you expect of an adventure game. I had a bit of trouble figuring out to use the page on the branch but everything else was easily figured out. I would like to see how the rest plays out if you expand it.

Aug 27, 2015 @ 5:31am

Wow, it looks amazing, the story was great and the atmosphere was wonderful. Really good stuff, this is my kind of game and I loved it. Well done!

Fantasieleben says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 11:39am

Very impressive art and story.

Aug 27, 2015 @ 11:44am

Holy...

Sunflower says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 11:50am

After some playing around made it to the end. Kinda overlooked the fact that I can combine items. ^^"

The yay:
- art + audio = mood (I particularly enjoyed the music)
- well implemented adventure game mechanics
- story & dialogue

The nay:
- "empty" actions; i.e. some actions (interact, use item etc.) wouldn't provide any dialogue or anything (even something like "I'd better not touch it" or "I don't think it'd work" or "branch alone can't make a torch", except more ye olde Englishe); I'd like to get any feedback, even very brief

I don't know if you plan on continuing the adventures of not-really-monster-girl, but I'd welcome it very much if you did. :3

Arnage says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 11:50am

I'd think you could have made her a bit more hideous. Sure, she's sewn together and ghastly pale, which would probably scare most people, but she is not necessary ugly. Especially her face looks more cute than horrific in the art, while the story implies otherwise.

Overall a great experience though, loved the mood you managed to evoke.

KaiseanGames says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 11:54am

Well done.

Obvious_San says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 12:29pm

The art and graphics are top notch :) Great atmosphere!

LeoM says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 1:48pm

Very nice one.
Graphics, and ambiance are very well executed.
A bit more frames for the animations could be great but it's 72h so ok ! ^^

Drunkteam says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 4:02pm

omg... the art is so cool... But the window just freezes from the very beginning :-(

zatyka says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 2:59am

Such an eerie little adventure. Probably my favorite entry thus far, though admittedly, I have a soft spot for point and click adventures. The art was superb, the premise was perfect for the theme, and everything really came together for a great experience. My only complaint is the detection boxes were a little wonky. I probably tried to do that final combination (I don't want to spoil anything) about 15 times before I hit the right spot.

I really did love this, and hope you can turn it into something bigger (like your last LD entry) :)

Aug 28, 2015 @ 5:45pm

That was beautiful! Just like old times! <3

OxyOxspring says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 5:49pm

Absolutely fantastic...

GFM says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 10:46pm

Hands down, awesome graphics!

I did felt the story to be somewhat rushed... It's complete, but it slightly disappoints me for having a single path, with one option at each moment... You could explore examine pretty much everything, but that was it...
I also felt like that, for someone who had just been brought alive, she developed her conscience pretty quickly...
But I admit that those two complaints are pretty pointless, given the 72 hours time frame in which this was done... It's a pretty amazing feat to do this much. Take those complaints as "I really liked this, but I wish there was more...".

The audio was also really great, and greatly improved the game's mood!

Amazing entry!!

radmars says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 1:41am

This game's mood is superb. Art is fantastic and I loved the slightly warped perspective giving the room an eerie and whimsical nature. Point and click adventures are hard to pull off, however I really enjoyed this! Got hung up a few places with the interface but overall really really nice entry. I immediately felt sucked into the world the moment i saw it! Great job!

rnlf says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 8:20am

Good to see another point and click :-)

Really, really beautiful art and matching music. Nice take on the theme and very moody setting. Good work!

OnionBlaze says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 8:33am

Beautiful art! Took me a while to figure out where the first item is, hahah. Overall amazing.

mar3k says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 5:09pm

Amazing art and sound effects!

commodoreKid says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 10:27pm

It has a really nice mood as expected from you :) It was short and that was the only negative thing I guess. I know you didn't like the theme but you still did great!

nassi says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 6:20pm

My only complaint is the thing @Sunflower already mentioned: for example clicking the slippers didn't do anything, which was a tad confusing. Oh, and of course it could've been a tad longer ^^.

Superb game, really liked the aesthetic and the writing. My favorite lines were the ones when clicking the... books and potions(?) shelf in the storage room - that dramatic pause was just perfect!

Patacorow says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 9:05pm

HOW ARE YOU SO GOOD AT MAKING THESE??

Jezzamon says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 9:49pm

Looks nice :)
I wished it was longer though. I guess that's partly because the gif someone posted on twitter about this game they gave away most of the puzzles. Oh well.

NidzaKornjaca says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 8:22am

Great look and feel, wish it was longer, but alas.

bigbuggames says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 11:56am

Art and music are incredible, felt like playing an old clicking adventure, the feeling was just great. Very, very good job, the only problem is that you only had 72 hours to do it, I'd love to play a full length game like this one :D

dickpoelen says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 1:57pm

Lovely little game, with great art

Managore says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 3:06pm

Simply stunning. So much beautiful art, and a story that incorporates the theme really well. Honestly there's nothing I can think of that could improve this experience, except to wish it were longer! Thank you!!

Finn says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 10:52pm

Short and sweet, I liked it. Did have to do a bit of pixel hinting to find the branch, and the mouse acceleration is abysmal, but that's a quirk with the AGS engine. Art is stellar, though her head looks a bit odd.

Joror says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 11:20pm

Very nicely done! Had some unknown interaction things (slippers? generator?), but three old-school puzzles in there, and a heap of exposition. :)

pixzleone says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 1:59pm

Veery cool. Good job!

Pusty says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 3:23pm

Awesome art! :D

disperse says ...
Sep 7, 2015 @ 1:42am

Superb. Beautiful pixel art, great music, wonderful story.

Kizler says ...
Sep 7, 2015 @ 3:25am

Seeing the warning I was afraid it was gonna hit me rough in the feels. Fortunately, it was a great feeling I got at the end of the game. That was very cool.

HellBlazer says ...
Sep 8, 2015 @ 2:28am

Nice art, and cool idea for the theme. The writing style feels a bit awkward and forced to me, though. Still, always nice to see adventure games on here.

freaknarf says ...
Sep 9, 2015 @ 9:20am

Awesome mood and visuals, i almost felt like i was playing one of Lucas Arts' 90's advendure game...
Wonderfull use of a limited (and original) color palette, interesting (and weird) story, and old school gamefeel/gameplay...
It was a bit short, this means it was great enough to make us want to play more !
A few interactions felt like they were somehow missing, but this is not disturbing, just some extra polish you could add. Also the "g" letter confused me at first when text was scrolling fast :) Not a real problem compared to the awesome work delivered...
Great job ! Great vibe !

Drauthius says ...
Sep 9, 2015 @ 6:01pm

That was great! I really liked the mood, story and text. Exceptional work. Only downsides were that certain characters of the font were hard to read, it was a bit hard to click on certain things, and the torch covered the text. Also, the ending was a bit abrupt, but I assume that time ran out.

crucknuk says ...
Sep 9, 2015 @ 7:31pm

Excellent entry! Art style is amazing! Congratulation!

David Yates says ...
Sep 11, 2015 @ 5:17am

Cool to see an AGS game! Nice work with this one. I like the rhyming dialogue, even though some of the rhymes where a bit of a stretch.

Sep 12, 2015 @ 11:50pm

Fantastic entry. The art was superb!

pavel_insight says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 9:11pm

Love to see a point-n-click adventure on LD!

Sep 14, 2015 @ 11:54am

Awesome writing, great graphics, nice game! I included it in part 30 of my Ludum Dare 33 Compilation video series, if you would like to take a look :) https://youtu.be/aghqdpQgwgA

Dec 1, 2015 @ 4:30am

I also included your game in an article of my favorites from this jam and added a trophy to your Ludum Dare profile!! :) http://fireside.gamejolt.com/post/jam-favorites-ludum-dare-33-part-2-jbncejqm

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]