Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Crop Circles 2015

by broiledvictory - Compo Entry

TIP: THINK OF MOVEMENT AS MORE GLIDING THAN ACTIVE KEY PRESSING, WITH ONLY A SLIGHT TAP IF YOU'RE HOLDING IT DOWN YOU'RE DOING IT WRONG, DO ARROW KEY IN OPPOSITE DIRECTION TO STOP

TRY THE NEW VERSION, TOO!

THE STANDALONE DOWNLOADS ARE NOW DIRECT .ZIP DOWNLOADS

MAC AND LINUX UNTESTED

COULD NOT GET EMBEDDED PLAYER ON THIS SITE WORKING: GO TO WEB LINK IF YOU PREFER

**For some reason at the last minute, full screen broke the UI, or at least wide-screen did.**

My first game jam with an engine I'm not too familiar with.

I wanted to do a game jam this badly, however I did not like the selected theme, this game was made a bit late as I had scrapped the original idea I had, involving abduction, this was scrapped due to not being sure how to program some AI. I kept this demo level in the bonus levels, merely to showcase what I had done.

Definitely not one of the better games of the jam, the graphics are a bit ugly, too.

The physics of the UFO control are still a bit wonky. You gotta trace the stencil to make a crop circle.

**Tools used**

I used Modplug Tracker and Greasemonkey's atrk-bu.py script for music.

Audacity distortion of a sound I made with my mouth for the UFO's flatten sound effect.

Unity Engine using C# scripting.

pikselapp.com for the art.

POST-LD33 BUILD PLEASE TRY THIS TOO AND TALK ABOUT IT TOO(FIXED CONTROLS, FIXED PHYSICS [thanks dalbinblue so much for the fix!!!], BETTER UFO MOVEMENT + MORE CLARIFICATION IN GAMEPLAY

Windows/Mac/Linux Post-LD33 build: https://docs.google.com/uc?export=download&confirm=KQ06&id=0B5S2gNWJ45a3TEtTQTdQWWk3Xzg

Web Post-LD33 build: http://googledrive.com/host/0B5S2gNWJ45a3flVZLXJ6czY1dGpHUEpjTm9IYm1IcGNKQk16LVRONWRTQ0U4R0ZNWEY4enc/web.html

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness52%
#315Innovation3.24
#462Audio2.73
#863Theme2.46
#897Fun2.14
#920Overall2.34

Comments

amras0000 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:49am

Regarding the Download: it would be much easier if the files were zipped up into one file.

panda says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:04am

Original! And kudos for having your own music! The ship's hard to steer, but of course that's part of the idea. I did terribly! Thanks for including a Web version!

SudoDave says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:05am

is it just me or are the controls a little off, They didn't seam to respond right.

it's a good idea, but could use some polish.

Latency says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:06am

Cool concept, the controls feel like they add a bit too much force/tick as your speed ramps up crazy fast.

dalbinblue says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:16am

The download was difficult; I was only able to get the game to work by copying the game folder to my personal google drive then downloading the whole thing as a zip file. You should package your game up as a zip file; very few people will have the patience to figure out how to get it to work.

That said, unfortunately the game was nearly unplayable for me. My guess is that the game's controls are updating movement impulse a fixed amount each frame instead of based on the amount of time that has passed. My machine is very beefy, so the controls were super fast. I could only draw a few lines before I got a game over each time.

Despite this though, congratulations on doing your first dare! Game development is hard, so I hope you learned a few things and will come back next time.

Arg410 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:18am

Same as panda. Thanks for the Web upload!!

Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:03am

dalbinblue, I actually think that may be my issue.

iossif says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:54am

the controls did not really work for me (web build)

LittleThor says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 1:27pm

Interesting concept!
Maybe the controls need to be more precise: they are sometimes very frustrating.

Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:39pm

To those that had issues with the controls, it seems like you guys hold down the arrow keys, when I intended only a light tap, with gliding being most of the movement, I never really caught it when I played it as I knew this, so guys:

only lightly tap the arrow key in the direction you want to go, think of it more as a gliding game.

MrDave says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:12pm

I didn’t enjoy the game until I read the comment about tapping the buttons, the first time I played I held it down and im fairly sure it glitched out because it started warping all over the screen. Once I knew how to play I enjoyed it much more.

Also I couldn’t get the sandbox to work, it would have been nice to remove that button if it wasn’t included.

However there are loads of positives to the game as well, I liked the concept and the music was good. Nice job.

chromebookbob says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:16pm

great soundtrack

ZzCalvinzZ says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:34pm

controls are tough and there wasn't really a purpose, but as far as that goes, it's a cool concept.

amras0000 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:56pm

What the game does it does well. I had to get my gamepad out to control the cursor properly, but I really like controlling my velocity rather than my position.

The game is just a bit poor at explaining what it's doing. I'd like the game to tell me "Movement keys will only change your speed, not your position." and "Your goal is to color in the black lines before time runs out. If you draw outside the lines you will be penalized." As it stands, I'm still unsure of the exact mechanics or what my goal is.

the Bonus Game is a nice touch, though Sandbox doesn't seem to work.

Oh, and you've made a development build. Avoid that, it adds a console that gets in the way.

Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:52pm

I have fixed a lot of the core issues, controls and physics are fixed, sandbox is working now (I forgot to add the load level script, oops!) check version 2 please, also

PowerSpark says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 1:00am

Good concept but I think it starts off with too much difficulty. Maybe begin by drawing a line, then circle, etc.

bitdecaygames says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 2:08am

Controls seemed to sometimes be unresponsive, not sure why, but occasionally I wouldn't be able to move right.

Cool idea, overall. Reminds me of the Crazy Cutter game from Mario Party, except much more difficult. I like the feel of the momentum.

Aug 28, 2015 @ 8:43pm

A difficult game! I had some trouble with the controls, as one point my ship started to jump around the screen. An interesting idea though!

Biruts says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 2:02pm

Very nice project guys, i really love it, please check our game too and if you liked it give us a vote. Look for Road to hell and enjoy.

GBGames says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 10:21am

I like the concept, but I had a lot of trouble with the controls. Even once I got the hang of it, I was frustrated. It seems that if I am going too fast up or down, I can't change my speed left or right, which was unintuitive.

I finally made it to the 2nd level, but now it seems that I can't control my speed as easily as I go too fast even though I'm not pressing and holding the keys any longer than I did on the first level.

There was only one bonus level even though the menu indicates there will be multiple. I liked it, but it also had strange controls. Why the ship moves to the right immediately is bizarre to me, and it seems that it goes so fast that I can't easily control it.

The sandbox menu item didn't work for me.

Flaid says ...
Sep 8, 2015 @ 1:59am

I really liked the concept of this game, but I was sure terrible at it!

I actually liked the graphics (in your description you say they aren't good), and I think combined with the music it really worked well.

Rialgar says ...
Sep 11, 2015 @ 8:27pm

Nice idea, maybe make the acceleration a bit slower, so you can actually hold the key down to accelerate over a short time instead of carefully tapping it.

And add a "brake" key, that quickly decelerates, no matter where you are going.

I think the controls broke in the second level, it went up when i pressed left, then crazy fast left and out of the screen when I pressed down to stop it.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]