Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Razed

by kewleus - Compo Entry

Play as a space monster / robot who's sole desire is to raze entire planets. Cruise through space landing on planets to consume them for life and pleasure. See how long you can last and how many planets you can destroy!

Use the mouse to click and drag where you want to go.
Land on planets to destroy them!

**TIP** Land on or near the planetary defences to destroy them prior to destroying the planet.

Tools:
Unity3d
Photoshop
bfxr
propellerhead's figure (on iOS) for music
audacity for editing clips

Was done in two blocks:

1. Friday 9pm - Saturday 2pm
2. Sunday Noon - 7pm

Timelapse available here: https://youtu.be/k_H8q9uFqRg

Gitlab Repo: https://git.manicnorth.com/tkoole/ld33-compo

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness92%
#296Audio3.09
#365Graphics3.28
#383Overall3.21
#405Innovation3.09
#440Fun3.06
#601Theme3.18
#611Mood2.75
#718Humor2.11

Comments

OldPeculier says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:22am

Lotta good stuff going on here: graphics, audio, controls, planet generation, missiles. I'm not sure where the skill is though. Is there a way to do better or worse?

Modoc73 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:52am

That's a different take on it. Burn down some planets. I liked the depth to the star field. well done!

ehtd says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:54am

Relaxing game

Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:59am

nice calming relaxing game. Good concept. Well Done!

JustinJ says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:41am

Fun! The background was really nice, and I liked how the planets gradually died when you were on them. The health felt a bit high, it was in that zone where I didn't really think about it much until it got low.

BortStudios says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:00am

I liked the music loop. There needs to be an end goal or something, though, as the mechanics are very arcadey

NathanFlurry says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:15am

I was wondering if I'd ever run across anyone using Propellerhead. I wanted to use that for my game, but I didn't have the time. :/

Dizzyman572 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:32am

I AM THE DESTROYER OF WOOOOOORRLDS!!! 10/10

kewleus says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:33am

@NathanFlurry. Yeah it was pretty nice for creating a simple background loop. I probably wouldn't recommend it for any production work but for a jam, definitely.

@BortStudios: Yeah, I was planning on incrementing the difficulty more by adding additional defense types.

Currently after 5 planets, they'll start to spawn satellite defenses. I was considering adding wandering ships as the next level but for the compo time i didn't want to do pathing / ai.

noom says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:37am

Neat, audio was cool I liked the music.

markoburzan27 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:41am

I destroyed 5 planets.

Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:46am

Great game! Simple, but polished. My only complaint - with all of these planets, where are the stars they're orbiting? Could be a fun element to add in the future - If you hit them, you're toast!

andyman404 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:04am

A cute little planet-destroying game! Well done for your two blocks. Nice graphics. I like the blurry stars parallax.

Acerio says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:08am

This is amazing. I love 2D planet games.

lulublululu says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:17am

I really like your use of Figure.

TerinHD says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:18am

Awesome approach to the theme. :D

kcaze says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:28am

This is probably the most fun game I've played so far among the entries! The mechanic is easy to understand and the gameplay / movement is really fluid! I ended up figuring out a mostly dominant strategy which is to find planets that have all the turrets on one side and then land on the opposite side so that the missiles don't hit me. I was able to get up to 11 planets killed as a result. The orbiting satellites increased the difficulty slightly but not by too much.

Suggestion: Maybe have more types of planets? One thing that might be cool would be to have something like binary stars where two planets orbit each other and so turrets would shoot at you from the other planet you're not sucking energy from.

Anyways, amazing entry!

crare says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:28am

Nice game, good control. I wish there would be just bit more? enemies or attacking and such. But I like it anyway.

guoboism says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:38am

Graph 5/5!
Lovely game! Personally pick. Great potentails!

MAnimal says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:39am

Planets Killed:18
Overkill:1
Time:186

No buggy playable game, nice sounds, i will look at your code :)

dosmaen says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:55am

I liked the special effects, but it was hard to dodge the missiles.

geekygenius says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:01am

Fun. I think this would work well on mobile.

petitpois says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:41am

Great concept, love the artwork. awesome!

9.ar7k says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:52am

the landing mechanic was hard to get used to. overall not a bad little game ^^

goet says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:24am

This could be a really fun game, but there are two things you could improve on.

Mouse dragging: No. Just no. It doesn't allow the precision that is needed for a shmup.
Difficulty: I think the game is way too easy right now. The difficulty curve should be a lot more drastic, as now after you get accustomed to the game's control, there is at least a minute of boredom, as nothing threatens you, and there is not much else for you to learn. Maybe nerf the health regen? Or increase the bullets earlier, however I think it would be impossible to navigate between a lot of bullets with this mouse dragging thing.

nicotuason says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:54am

I killed 16 planets! I think the mouse controls make it a fun and relaxing game to play. I just wish there was a way to defend yourself from the missiles when you land. Right now just kinda pray they don't hit you.

Birke says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:04am

Nice mechanic. A little bit too hard to dodge bullets when on planets and it took too long to get away from the ground to be able to dodge the bullets that way.

peterthehe says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:18am

Really nice graphics, the "dying" planet transition in particular.

Vereos says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:57am

I love how the difficulty slowly increases from easy to nearly impossible. Nice game! :)

jorgemoag says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:12am

=] i like it! 16 planets killed

Wevel says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:15am

Nice idea, seemed a bit repetitive

Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:17pm

My game is similar to this. Love it by the way :D

qkerguelen says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:54pm

Enjoyable to play, the controls are good. The graphics are not really what I like but they are ok. I spent a good time playing it :)

chromebookbob says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:50pm

great idea, fun gameplay.I like the strategy of where you should land

mantis says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:59pm

Nice relaxing game :)

Halleflux says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:26pm

The issue is that there isn't any way to counter the missiles. They don't run out of ammo, and while you can land on them to destroy them, there isn't really anything you can do vs. several around the planet. It would be neat if there was some way to get rid of them beyond that.
However, it's still a fun, good looking game with a nice soundtrack. What's not to like?
Well done!

kewleus says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:01pm

@Halleflux if you land on or near them, you will destroy the planetary defences first, before destroying the planet. You cannot destroy the satellites though.

vividhelix says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:53pm

I am planet killer. 'nuff said.

Gigaraptor says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:39pm

Relaxing and enjoyable, even if it wasn't a jam game.

KunoNoOni says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:14am

Very cool, very innovative and a really nice use of theme.

Flygamer101 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:08am

Great game :D Monster Spaceship

EwChap says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:12am

Great game. The music was perfect for looping but not being annoying. the animations as you bleed the planets was nicely done as well. Only complaint I have would be it was very hard to die given how much health you get back from the planets. Great effort!

Cerberus says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:26am

I really liked the control for the ship, it responded really well and the theme was taken really good. i enjoyed your game. great job!

Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:39am

It would be better if it has flying enemy too, so it would be more challenging.

TLansdale says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:49am

Would've been nice to have less health but some way of protecting yourself, but was still lots of fun. Nice entry!

DruhinM says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:56pm

Nice Nice nice..This was good.

amy742 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:09pm

Very relaxing! Really enjoyed this! Good work!

gnuwilliam says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:15pm

Nice art!

Zccc says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:34pm

Innovative gameplay, I just don't know how to avoid missiles when landing!

jsmars says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 10:36pm

Nice work!

jsmars says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 10:37pm

Nice work :)

Aug 29, 2015 @ 10:13am

Good concept, but want more attention to details)

bombjack says ...
Sep 12, 2015 @ 3:14pm

very innovative gameplay. The controls are feeling nice. the art is simple but good. nice job!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]