Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Monster Idol

by triplefox - Jam Entry

A gentle, slow-paced incremental game. Become your own idol and grow from sub-par ratings to a true "super star" with the coveted SSS rank. Choose the attributes you want to excel at.

The download on itch.io is "monster_idol_v001.zip". (I may start adding more stuff after the jam).

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#755Humor(Jam)2.32
#957Innovation(Jam)2.33
#1004Graphics(Jam)1.91
#1044Mood(Jam)1.95
#1085Theme(Jam)2.00
#1104Fun(Jam)1.64
#1113Overall(Jam)2.18
#1537Coolness42%

Comments

guoboism says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:43am

Nice game. But it would takes days to play?

Chronodrax says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:52pm

I don't mind games that you have to play once per day, but here, really ?
The idea had potential, even as an idle game, but only if you get more that 1 thing to do every 1440 minutes.

Infininete says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:26pm

I don't feel that the game had much to with the theme and taking days to do anything rather than waiting seems a bit annoying.

Rothens says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 9:35am

I'm not sure if this is alright. You could put a "quick game" mode in the game. :)

veoviscool12 says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 7:20pm

The time limit is offputting. I understand the idea, but having such a large time limit without a very good addiction machine behind it just makes me forget about the game before I come round to playing it again. I love the random stats, though. I was looking forward to what they would do.

chanko08 says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 1:13am

Doesn't follow the theme :/

fermenter says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 1:14am

Kinda a cool idea, but not much fun in my opinion (with the crazy long time limit). You're asking a lot out of us to play this. Especially thinking about the context of this game jam, this could have been executed much better.

MechanicMoon says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 2:44pm

Interesting idea but this isn't the kind of game for one jam, it isnt following the theme. Try it something different for the next ludum ;-) Good luck

amras0000 says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 4:27pm

There's no hook at the beginning of the game. What makes idle games vaguely amusing is that the start is actually pretty busy. Timers start at a few seconds and very gradually increase to hours and days. This game throws the player into deep water before teaching its mechanics or providing any payoff.

Aaranos says ...
Sep 9, 2015 @ 4:32pm

I think for the purpose of the Jam the time should be on a minute or at least hourly basis.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]