Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Rob The Good Guys

by KrisDevelopment - Compo Entry

Rob the good guys! is a first person stealth game where you get to be the monster! Avoid enemy drones and stay hidden, The game was made for Ludum Dare 33 in 48 hours.

Requirements:
Windows xp/7/8
DirectX 9/11
80mb disk space

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#109Overall3.74
#163Graphics3.79
#182Fun3.47
#188Audio3.34
#213Innovation3.42
#235Mood3.33
#410Humor2.85
#835Theme2.58

Comments

EmanP says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:02pm

Heyo, my game crashed after beating the first level. Have some errors!:

output_log.txt: http://pastebin.com/mp73vFn3

error.log: http://pastebin.com/QzU5WUd8

Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:06pm

I see. The new Unity5 is very unstable. Don't worry it wont harm your computer in any way. I will see what I can do about it.

zanenga says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:09pm

One of the best I've played so far!
A mix of Mirror's Edge looks and Dishonored's "Blink". Really cool.

mantis says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:36pm

Hey, the game started sweet, but after I fell down between buildings it crashed :(

t4u says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:49pm

I see not only for me the game made error.

To be honest I never thought anyone would come up with idea to make MirrorEdge... and make it better than original!

Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:54pm

Very good puzzle game. But bad end.

Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:07pm

an excellent little first person platformer with a lot of personality. The teleport power is really fun to use!

Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:28pm

The crash error will be fixed within the next hour. Uploading the new version now :)

lanestp says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:52pm

I like the free running. It kind of felt like mirror's edge. I'm terrible at it. But I still had fun!

collaboration says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:00am

Wow, this is really great, few times I stacked in the wall, but it didn't affect my opinion, very very cool, game palette is superb.

10UpCrew says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 8:44am

Nice artstyle and satisfying teleport, but the normal jump controls feel a bit floaty.

Fantasieleben says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 12:45pm

Teleport is cool.

veoviscool12 says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 7:43am

I really enjoyed the Mirror's Edge/Dishonored mix. Art and music is good, level design and puzzles get harder and introduce new elements, it's very well done. My only criticism would be that the platforming/movement feels a little floaty and heavy; Instead of being light on my feet, I feel slow and lumbering and imprecise, which doesn't really help in a platformer. Also, I think some sort of timer would help out with figuring out exactly when I can teleport again. But overall: Good job! :)

ChaosCult says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 7:43am

Looks good, but the physics are pretty awful for a Mirror's Edge - inspired gameplay. The stealth part is quite nice.

Aug 28, 2015 @ 7:45am

Really great! This is one of those times I think "how did they do all that in two days!?!?".

Aiming the teleport was a bit hard, and controls were a bit floaty, but I'm just nitpicking there. One of the best ones I've seen.

Aug 29, 2015 @ 10:40pm

Excellent game, really love the idea! You should add the ability to teleport in mid-air - could make for some nice combos, as well as some frantic last-minute saves when you mis-time a jump. Great work!

guoboism says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 7:06am

The graphics look cool!
The level design is grea! Nice job!

Sep 12, 2015 @ 1:18am

Love the graphics! I included it in part 25 of my Ludum Dare 33 Compilation video series, if you would like to take a look :) https://youtu.be/OjNOJwfYtGQ

sikosis says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 12:20am

Interesting you tackled LD33 with a FPS, well played.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]