Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Not Cookiemonster

by OadT - Compo Entry

You are a monsterhunter, but nobody is scared by monsters anymore (thanks sesame street!) So you have to switch the rule and became a monster, but unfortunately you just meet other monsterhunters, looking like Mario and hunting you.

This game is not a masterpiece and also not very long, but I hope you can still enjoy it a bit :) It was just not my Ludum Dare

Controls:
Movement: Arrow-keys, WASD or ZQSD
Hide: Space or Enter


Note: There is a mute button and its highly recommend to use it (I'm very sorry for the music :D)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#84Humor3.68
#183Theme3.84
#241Graphics3.53
#397Fun3.12
#453Overall3.14
#455Mood3.00
#550Audio2.51
#710Innovation2.61

Comments

megahold says ...
Aug 23, 2015 @ 7:04pm

I cant get passed the part with five cookies :(

OadT says ...
Aug 23, 2015 @ 7:31pm

Ok, I changed it to three cookies, better? ;)

Aug 23, 2015 @ 8:53pm

Made it to the end! Love the monster design, especially the googly eyes!

lamogui says ...
Aug 23, 2015 @ 9:04pm

Looks like Monster & Cie on GBA

crare says ...
Aug 23, 2015 @ 9:08pm

Oh this got the idea :D funny! text is though hard to read :(

Kaev says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:06am

Haha, i love the humor on this one!
"Don't eat the cookies or they will think you are the cookie monster!"
Nice art too.
Great game!

Sadale says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:31am

The character reminds me of megaman.
BTW, this game is good. I like it. :)

peterthehe says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:58am

Cute, quirky premise; amazing execution. Great work.

jorgemoag says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:59am

hahah i love it

Fenreliania says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:13am

I really love the googly eyes on the cookie monster costume, and the graphics in general. Ducking was just hilarious. The challenge was pretty tough, and took me a few tries, but the quick restart was really good for preventing frustration. Just sad that it was so short.

voxel says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 12:13pm

this is the most accurate monster in closet simulator i have ever played. Charming art, lovely game

Aug 24, 2015 @ 12:38pm

Fun premise, smooth gameplay. Could maybe use a bigger gap between cookies though.

alkazar says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 12:40pm

A little short, but very well done! The concept is well executed. I especially liked the mechanic of hiding in the closet from monster hunters.

azakhary says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 12:42pm

Finished it all! it was short, but heh, it's enough, loved the sound effects and pixelzzz. Last 10 seconds were hard but nice touch, with being able to hide at last moment.

HolyBlackCat says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:17pm

Cute and nice, good graphics and 'plot'! :D

BTW, I fixed the camera and some stuff in my game that you've mentioned.

frondeus says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:53pm

You should make hitboxes of cookies smaller. It's hard to avoid them.

shawn42 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:58pm

Tricky at first, very nice. I very much enjoyed this... maybe add more hiding spots or challenges to extend the game and/or make him move a little faster. Nice work.

0x0961h says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:46pm

Timing for hunters and series of cookies is too tight, imo. I like the animation and the plot, though! Nice job!

Suese says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:15pm

It got hard pretty fast there!

conormn says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:54pm

Simple, but fun! The difficulty does ramp up quickly.

andreiichim says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:42am

Nice short game.
I love the story, it's funny.

thatwhichis says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:22am

X-D is adorbs

Goutye says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:56pm

But why? :/ The cookies sounds so tasty :O

boardtobits says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:07pm

Endless runner with a stealth twist. Nice! Some of the jumping parts are brutal, especially with a hunter bearing down on you. I liked it, though!
Also an interesting take on the theme.

lukepilgrim says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:02pm

wow! gamedesign well done! fun, short challenge, nice art.

hexagore says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:34pm

Cor, that's got some very tight timings! Glad I finished it though!

dos says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:27pm

Lovely one! Ended too soon, should be a bit longer :)

ponk says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:39pm

Funny and nice !
Cool compo entry !

thristhart says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 12:40am

I love the ridiculous premise, super creative. Good checkpointing!

Aug 26, 2015 @ 10:29am

Really fun idea, and I actually like how short it is. I don't want to spend 20 minutes on each game.. if I can get the idea and ideally play through the game within 5 minutes, that's perfect (although I admit I've made longer LD games in the past, sorry :>).
The gameplay could need some tweaking - maybe a bit more space between the cookies to make it easier - but other than that it's cool. And funny.

Aug 26, 2015 @ 11:46am

Even though it wasn't very long, or very complicated, there were enough nice touches to make this game enjoyable.

At first I had trouble understanding that the game was resetting me to checkpoints, and I thought I was being thrown into impossible situations by the RNG, but once I figured it out I was able to power through to the end.

I didn't think the music was too bad either!

Aug 26, 2015 @ 1:53pm

Nice little game. I liked the art style.

MintArcade says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 11:15pm

Cookies are the real monsters :D Great interpretation of the team.

Hamsternator says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 5:15pm

Shame it wasn't arcade style with a highscore system. I wanted to see how far I could go... and then it ended :(

Had fun while it lasted though =D

Nomys_Tempar says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 12:13pm

Cool but short, also the checkpoints are really a nice feature.

LeoM says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 10:28am

The classics 3 stars in humor for the game +1 for the loading duck and +2 for the description ! That's make a good score ! ^^
Quite simple but nicely executed.
A game with checkpoints ! °-° I was thinking that checkpoints was just a legend in Ludum Dare ! ^^

Druid says ...
Sep 6, 2015 @ 11:41am

Small but still entertaining game! Good work!

bombjack says ...
Sep 7, 2015 @ 10:54am

the idea is original. the gameplay is good but gets hard really soon. Wasn't able too pass the 3 cookies in a row. Nice entry.

jimmypaulin says ...
Sep 7, 2015 @ 12:18pm

This made me smile, I LOVE the rotating goggly eyeballs the best, and the story is very funny. I like the hiding in cupboards mechanic but the cookie dodging felt like it could have been a bit more juicy - maybe some particle effects would liven it up? Really nice artwork, and a nice difficulty progression. I also love the loading mallard.

LandoSystems says ...
Sep 8, 2015 @ 12:06am

Nice game, funny idea, good artwork, pretty challenging... dear god those three closets... thanks for having checkpoints! Great work!

zatyka says ...
Sep 8, 2015 @ 2:57am

Cute, simple and fun. I just wish there were more to it. I loved the googly eyes.

Sep 8, 2015 @ 11:46am

Good stuff, loving the graphics on this - very charming.

crucknuk says ...
Sep 8, 2015 @ 1:15pm

I liked the pixel art graphics, the auto-save that left the frustration apart :P, and the well made controls about it.

Actually i would have liked to see more, i found it intense on how to avoid some of the chasers.

it is a bit sad that it is that short, but nice compo :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]