Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Billi The Monster

by bogdanmaier49 - Jam Entry

Billi just found out that under his bed was portal to the world of his dreams.
Actually he is dreaming, but... now he can eat as much sweets as he can. More sweets he eat longer the dream will be. Billi must be careful tho, last night he ate a bag full of tortillas and now the chips want to get him.

You have to eat as much sweets as you can. If the timer goes down Billi wakes up and the game is over.

The level is procedurally generated and keeps expanding on the right side.

Controls:
A, D or Arrow Keys or XBOX/PS Controller -> To move
Space or Jump Button -> To jump

Game made using Unity3D code in C#
Graphics : Photoshop
Audio : Audacity


HAVE FUN !!!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#239Humor(Jam)3.37
#576Graphics(Jam)3.29
#633Audio(Jam)2.31
#663Fun(Jam)2.88
#721Theme(Jam)3.18
#748Overall(Jam)2.97
#761Mood(Jam)2.79
#827Innovation(Jam)2.62

Comments

ireal says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:10am

That was fun! Although climbing the ladder was a little difficult I liked the theme you went for.

NikinCZ says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:15am

This game is funny, but not much fun. Little bit too difficult and eating of candies takes too much time. I loved the graphics and audio was sweet (pun intended).
Also, score does to reset after death, so high score is more of a total score.

Overally, it's a nice game, but could use some more balancing.

Andrew Deem says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:21am

Nice game! I like the humorous spin you took with the theme. Also mad respect for that art.

Elenesski says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:22am

Loved the concept. Made me hungry ... had difficulty getting over the gaps. Had a bug were the high score wasn't reset. Mmmmm ice cream. Sugar rush. okay ... good idea. Had fun with it. Made me laugh.

Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:20am

Sweet ice cream :D
Nice entry

Gaga says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:24am

Hahaha. Really good
The audio gets a bit spammy. (Come come come to come to me!)
And I got stuck in the ground after a long fall.

alyphen says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:35am

Haha, this was incredibly amusing. The sound effects were spot-on, the graphics were nicely drawn, and the interpretation was great.
To improve, I would say adding music would be a start, and tightening up the platforming physics - sometimes, deaths didn't feel like they were my fault.

Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:43am

The graphics look cool

frokes says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:49am

cant get past the quick tutorial when you press start.

FlashMonkey says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:55am

the theme is very good and the die animation of the tortillas is nice.

Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:55am

Cantkillme.Cantkillme.Cantkillme.Cantkillme.Cantkillme.

(seriously though, great game. just, that line was repeated waaay too much)

Nizl says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:58am

Neat game overall I think.
The graphics and the monster diversity stand out the most. I really liked that the tortilla chip has to be eaten/killed another way than just simply walking towards him.
I'am curious about 2 things here:
- I accidentally played on 1024x720 resolution and could not click the buttons properly. It worked on 1920x1080 fine though.
- If you "die" and play again the sugar on the top of the screen doesn't reset. I got like 33 sugar after 5 retrys.
Overall a nice little game, for the next time there should be a little more fight diversity and more on-point controls because it was a little bit difficult to control the boy.

Mimus says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:17am

I love it, mmmmh miam!

Fenreliania says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:24am

I can't seem to download this - the rar file always seems to be empty. Seems to be on my end only, but it's what's happening.

Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:55am

Good game! Like most games I've seen in LD, there's just a few things that would it make it great.

That "can't kill me" gets pretty annoying, the jump seems to go up/down too quickly, it's hard to jump on top of the chip and not have it count as the sides and you lose, when you restart it doesn't reset your score, it takes too long to eat the sweets, and I encountered a bug where the mobs spawned halfway in the floor.

That might seem like a long list of complaints. But the game is good! Solid idea, nice graphics. Just a couple of steps away from being great (but so is pretty much every game, so don't feel bad)

Aun says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:56am

That was fun. Idea to make better :
- the game score does not reset
- some jump are hard
- press a key to restart the level
- ladders are hard to use
- audio is a bit painful

I liked the generated level

K1llercake says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:06am

Nice idea, the annoying sound effects kind of ruined the experience for me, and the controls were pretty bad.

HolyBlackCat says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:06am

Simple but nice. Good idea. (But gravity is much too fast for me. :D)

congusbongus says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:30am

The russian "come to me" was hilarious

TwixtorTitan says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:01am

How many games did you not play and still rated? I mean 80 rated games is allot...

Sogomn says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:14am

The sound, tho! :D
Nice game. I enjoyed playing it!

Acerio says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 12:29pm

Loved this, especially the graphics! However, climbing a ladder was difficult.

azakhary says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 12:54pm

Really liked the pixel art. I kinda felt that I should eat them somehow with some button.. but smashing the crispy guy was cool. Also play button kinda bugs. But the "Come to me" part was hilarious :D

Aug 24, 2015 @ 12:57pm

Nice simple entry just needs a bit of tightening with the controls.

Chunck26 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 1:34pm

I like it! I got a high score by just playing it again XD my score was saved from the previous run.

markoburzan27 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:21pm

it was fun

Acerio says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:08am

This was great!

Karai17 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:39am

Always a fan of proc gen content! I also enjoyed crunching those pesky chips. Keep up the good work!

sikosis says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:49pm

Interesting little platformer. The gtaphics were nice, though the audio got a little grating. Well done.

Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:36pm

This game way too difficult. I died many times when try to jump over chip.

And there is a bug with score not reset after death.

Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:44pm

Innovative!

Flygamer101 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:54pm

Fun :D Nice little game. Great art too.

TheColorMan says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 12:12am

It's pretty fun and the art is nice. I like how the levels change every time you replay.

treeman says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 8:21am

The theme is good and funny.

Grhyll says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 11:05am

Fun and pretty !
Although it would have been nice to have maybe 2 or 3 lives... With only one, and the game restarting from the beginning at any mistake, it seems a bit difficult to reach the end!

crucknuk says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:36pm

Good job! You should add some musics and reduce the number of times it's says "come to me".

jofra says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 8:06pm

aha it was a fun game. would like the sound to have more mood to it, and maybe the voice " come to me" had a diferent tone to it, more like a kid ou a "faty" and fluffy man.
gj!

NoWandStudios says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 8:12am

It's interesting concept!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]