Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Cruelty Free

by dydx - Jam Entry

Description:

Lori, a lab rat in a genetic research laboratory, has had enough with tests! By acquiring the mysterious red serum, she'll grow faster and stronger, and overwhelm her captors.


Note:

If your mouse cursor isn't being captured, please try re-launching the game, or try alt-tabbing out and back in.



Controls:

[ESC] - Graphics/Resolution options
[WASD / ZQSD] - Movement
[Mouse] - Look
[Space] - Jump
[R] - Restart



Credits:

-- Art & Animation--
Elimelec Galvez
Chris Scott
Xing Ye

-- Audio --
Ben Costolo
Bao Vuong

-- Design --
Ian Cuslidge

-- Programming --
Jordan Cristiano
Chris Kim

-- Special Thanks --
Patricia Torres


Our audio guys recorded vocals & fx during the jam but I wasn't able to implement them in time :(

If you enjoyed this game, check back soon for the post-jam version!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness73%
#63Fun(Jam)3.87
#87Overall(Jam)3.87
#162Graphics(Jam)4.13
#163Mood(Jam)3.66
#189Humor(Jam)3.50
#202Innovation(Jam)3.45
#202Audio(Jam)3.51
#235Theme(Jam)3.81

Comments

Hjalte500 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:43am

Feels nice and polished. Loving those posters.
If I had to nitpick though I'd say the positions should disappear faster if not instantly and some sounds would be nice.

dydx says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 12:59am

Thanks for the feedback! The item animation has been fixed.

We did record sound fx and vocals! Unfortunately I ran out of time and wasn't able to put them in the game in time. They will be in the post-jam version, coming soon!

Loutrattitude says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 1:29am

Can't change inputs in the launcher (for Azerty Keyboard) or use the arrows... Finally I tried twice but I didn't kill the first mob :'/ thanks anyway

pkenney says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 1:56am

Aww yea, take THAT, science ladies!! Fun time, slice art and nice controls. Thought the game was a good length for what it had going on, too.

dydx says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 2:33am

@Loutrattitude thanks for the heads up, we just added ZQSD and arrow key support. Although there aren't mobs in this game...

danidre14 says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 2:55am

Nice graphics and gameplay. There was slight lag, but that's probably just on my PC.

dydx says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 2:58am

@danidre14 Thanks! Did you try any of the other graphics settings?

benmcnelly says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:16am

Bwhahahaha, I love it. Good take on theme and really nice looking. I could run around like that all day.

jphelps says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:18am

nice. unique idea

m3_on says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:25am

Great game, I really enjoyed exploring around...it makes me think a game where you just explore a big world as a mouse could be super fun. I also liked collecting all the serums wondering what the ????? power would be! I guess my only issue is...are the scientists the real monsters! :D

AlariSilver says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 5:40am

Polished game about an ADORABLE rat. But I couldn't play all the way through it because for some reason the game wasn't capturing my mouse and it ended up at the corner of my screen all the time :(

Resonious says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:48pm

Awesome, I love it. Feels super smooth, very polished. Neat how the music changes when you get the super jump.

Hjalte500 says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 4:56pm

Hey. Dont think theres a messaging system on here so just putting it here. You asked for a mac version of my game so its up: http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-33/?action=preview&uid=41033

thenmal says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 1:09am

Very cute graphics and animations, great job.

ehtd says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 1:28am

Well done, my only issue was with the jumping and controlling the camera.

sprawl says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 2:06am

What an awesome game you've made. Since it's so good here's some nitpicking :

- The UE 3rd person controller is good, but rotating midair is weird with the rat's model.
- I'd be nice the scientist would have more impact when you're still small (I'd make the ending better too !)
- some more fx would be nice, but it seems you just didnt have them to add them in.

Please note that these are only noticeable since the quality of the game is so good everywhere else. You totally got me with that ending. I didnt see it coming.

One of my favorite entry of this LD ! Good job !

mahalis says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 2:24am

Delightful. Reminds me of old-school third-person platformers. Great art style and music. Could use some more challenge—some kind of consequence if a scientist sees you out of your cage, maybe timed jumps (though I don’t know what those would be in a lab context)—but overall, excellent work.

El Cabaro says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 2:27am

Really pretty polished. I actually really enjoyed this game; The atmosphere was great. The music at first reminded me of Banjo Kazooie or something but the overall atmosphere reminds me of some old 3d games (See: Jimmy Neutron PC, school level https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sgIgtivFjAY)

Aug 27, 2015 @ 2:35am

Wow guys, this game is pretty fun. It appeals to the Banjo Kazooie lover in me.

SoulGame says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 2:21pm

Best entry so far, out of the 25 I've already seen. Your team has made a terrific work. The concept is fresh, gameplay is smoooth enough for a 3D game in 3 days :p and the realisation is top notch. The level design brings his share of fun, loved to act as rat, creeping between stuff and behind wall. Maybe a bit more threath would have been cooler? Loved the last twist, both fun & clever interpretation of the theme.
P.S: the UI is super ugly :D

glerikud says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 2:56pm

Nice music, fun gameplay jumping around. Kind of disturbing at the end, especially because you know what's gonna happen probably (I mean turning intto a monster mouse and killng everybody).

LeoM says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 6:11pm

Nice one,
Finally one who understand that ZQSD config is compatible with WASD ! :)
Was run to run all around and... #no_spoil.

Fanatrick says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 1:41am

Breath of fresh air in seas of topdowns and platformers this time around :D

Nanolotl says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 3:07am

Excellent job. Short and sweet, enjoyed it immensely. If I had to give a criticism, some of the shorter jumps were hard to control once you had the super jump.

uvwar says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 3:38am

Awesome music and graphics! I made a game with a similar 'end mode' once, brought back memories! I kind of wished the mouse controls weren't so twitchy, a lot of times it was hard to jump precisely because I would instantly move.

superfluous says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 12:37pm

I had a blast with this. My only complaint is that the some of the jumps were frustrating with how floaty the upgraded jump is. But that ending had me grinning like crazy. When I blasted the door to nowhere off of the wall, it was the best. Great job.

andreymust19 says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 7:18pm

Hello, devs! Please make Win32-build.

jk5000 says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 10:21am

Hahaha. A great idea and a fun game.

local minimum says ...
Sep 6, 2015 @ 12:24pm

I had fun playing this. As a scientist, I must say that those in your game are very sloppy about keeping track of their subjects. Great game though. Fantastic art style and fun how the story progressed. If something, I think the controls need some tweaking for after unlocking the super jump. They are floaty and it's hard to control. Other than that. Really good game.

Wertle says ...
Sep 9, 2015 @ 3:27am

A lot of great stuff going on here! The animations on both the rat and the scientists were really well done to the point that I had an easy time buying in to the fantasy (I felt inclined to hide in nooks like a rat even though I wasn't actually sure if I could get caught). I loved how you made the most of very little, like how the scientists idle while at a counter made them look like they were working, but the same animation out in the open made it look like they were searching for me). I see that you couldn't get the sound implemented in time, but I love that the music changed with the different states, another great example of a small thing that had a large impact. In my stream chat, our resident edge detection expert (William Chyr) mentioned that it would be cool to explore varying the line thickness with depth (like if ratty's butt had thicker lines because it was closer to the camera, etc) could be something fun to play with. A few minor notes, you may want to look into some kind of grace period jumping when running and jumping off of ledges, I often tried to do running jumps but fell when I expected to jump. Just a few frames after falling off a ledge where jump can still be performed would work wonders (since this is a 3D game and you are often jumping forward, you can be a little more generous with this sort of grace period than a sidescroller because I often can't even tell when I'm exactly off the edge anyway). Great work on having a satisfying payoff with simple implementation. Excellent work!

Twinters says ...
Sep 15, 2015 @ 12:10am

Wow, great artstyle and gameplay! The game was really intuitive (the superjump bottles were easy to spot and distinguish from the 'normal' bottles). I love the way the scientists move around in the lab. The shaders are also on point. Great job!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]