Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

You'll find the monster when it's over

by pi_pi3 - Compo Entry

You control Smith, a government agent on his final mission. You need to kill the aliens that landed on earth. Please don't rate the theme unless you've completed the entire game. It's not long or hard.
If you have a bazooka, you can shoot a rocket at your feet to rocket jump. Don't actually jump. Just shoot down.

This game requires JRE SE 1.8
If you're on win8 or win10 and it doesn't work, try win7 compatibility mode.
If it crashes, please write the log in the tutorial (it can be accessed by running the jar through a bat (windows), sh (linux) or command (OSX).

Update (24.08) Added xInput support
Update #2 (24.08) Bugfixes

Controls:

WSAD - Movement
LMB - Shoot
E - Pickup weapon
R - Reload weapon
O - Mute music
P - Mute sounds

xInput Controls:

Left stick - Movement​
Right stick - Aim
Left trigger - Jump
Right trigger - Shoot
Left button - Reload weapon
Right button- Pickup weapon​

Debug controls:

B - Debug info
N - Noclip

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#481Humor2.67
#492Audio2.65
#504Graphics3.00
#710Mood2.59
#711Fun2.67
#738Overall2.80
#792Innovation2.41
#851Theme2.52

Comments

mickanio says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 12:34pm

Wasn't working for me on Mac : ( (version 10.10.4)

WebFreak001 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 12:39pm

Really fun game with nice graphics. But Its no longer fun when getting the bazooka, because its impossible to jump up that hill after that :(

Aug 24, 2015 @ 12:43pm

The sounds are playing and I can interact with the program, but nothing shows up.
On Windows 10 if that information is of any use.

JackDegree says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 12:46pm

Doesn't work on Mac – tried opening it from Finder, didn't work. Then ran in console:

$ java ld33_osx-x64.jar
=> Error: Could not find or load main class ld33_osx-x64.jar

Gravity Games says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 12:46pm

Well, I wasn't able to get the game running on my Surface Pro. It just played some music to a black screen. I would test it on my other computer, but I'm on the go right now, so yeah...

Aug 24, 2015 @ 12:46pm

Seems fun to start. But unless I'm missing something, after you get the bazooka, the next ledge is too high to jump on to. And I think I lost all my health but didn't die?

Aug 24, 2015 @ 12:49pm

Nice little game. The controls are a bit too twitchy for my tastes, and the camera is quite annoying at times since you can't see what's coming. I like the sprites and the animations!

ReactorScram says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 12:51pm

I got it to run on OpenJDK 8 but there's no graphics.

Komradus says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 1:07pm

Interesting concept, it was enjoyable but the controls sometimes felt a little difficult to handle...mainly when rocket jumping.

Paul Sinnett says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 1:20pm

Sorry, I wasn't able to get this to run.

undef says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 1:20pm

Soun´ds are working but can't see anything on Windows 7.

KR-Eddie says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 1:27pm

The sprites looked nice but the animation could be better.
Sincerelly I didn't enjoy the gameplay very much. The controls were very twitchy, rocket jumping was very hard to do (and I had to come read the description to figure out I needed to rocket jump) and constantly having to manually reload your weapon (specially the rocket launcher) was very fustrating.
Visually it's a decent game. It's just that the gameplay needs some work.

KR-Eddie says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 1:28pm

Btw, I liked the cover! :)

Somnium says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:08pm

I liked the graphic style.

Sometimes the aliens would fall down a killing chasm, but this would not decrease the "aliens remaining" counter.

The rocket jumping was a bit hard to control.

pi_pi3 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:12pm

@Somnium Monster counter not decreasing when aliens fall in the pit was fixed in the most recent bugfix

raducumiczzz says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:52pm

Didn't work for me either on Mac:( will get back to you maybe it will work later on!

Josho says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:54pm

I didnt see a jar file win i unzipped it just a .rar file

Mister_Melon says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:16pm

I wasn't able to run it sorry.

Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:16pm

I got to the bazooka and it crashed - It was a very neat concept though!

Crypto137 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:28pm

x64 build didn't work for me, but I managed to run the x86 one.

I really liked watch-looking UI. The controls were a bit clunky, and pointing the gun to the left looked odd. The rocket jump thing wasn't communicated well in the game, making it a bit frustrating.

Overall I thought the graphics were nice, but the gameplay could use some work. And even after completing the game I still don't think the game fits the theme too well.

Phil Strahl says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:57pm

Can't run neither x64 nor x32 version on my System, doubleclick on the .jar does nothing (Windows 10 x64; JRE installed)

Hyoga-3D says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:38pm

It's a little broke, bu I love the watch!!! xD

sergicollado says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:41pm

Sorry, I wasn't able to get this to run.

KingGames says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:29pm

I can't play. It starts for a second and it closes. I think it's an exception of some sort, but I haven't checked to see what the exception could be.

Yrr says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:46pm

Crashes when I get the rocket launcher :(

MechanicMoon says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:09pm

I think that the game is a bit broken.. but nice try and the art is very cool :-)

01101101 says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 9:50am

Can't rate it since I can't play it:
"Could not find or load main class theMonster_mpl-x64_bugfix1.jar"

kaype says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 7:12pm

I like the low file size <3

the game runs really, really, really fast for me. Like WebFreak001 said there's one space that's impossible to jump off of.

I don't like how the pixelart is inconsistently scaled, but the game is good.

reiknight says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 2:40pm

The 64bit build doesn't work for me (Failed to set 44100hz, got 48000 instead). Let me know when works :)

pi_pi3 says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 5:32pm

@reiknight That bug is not related, I'm not even gonna fix it in this game. Have you tried compatibility mode if you're on win8 or win10?

El Cabaro says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 8:48pm

A neat game but unfortunately it just crashes once you grab the bazooka.

RHY3756547 says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 9:12pm

Game needs java 1.7. Stop living in the passstttt

HeyZeus says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 9:13pm

Awesome game, love the cover art.

RiverAndRun says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 9:21pm

64 bit version didn't launch at all (on a 64 based system) and the in the x86 version there were no graphics :( . Win8, Java Runtime 1.8 installed.

Aug 28, 2015 @ 1:26pm

Didn't run on linux x64.

Exception in thread "main" java.lang.UnsupportedClassVersionError: com/uniraptor/ld33/Game : Unsupported major.minor version 52.0
at java.lang.ClassLoader.defineClass1(Native Method)
...

pi_pi3 says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 2:04pm

@retrogradeorbit You might have an older version of Java. It was compiled on JRE 1.8.0_60-b27. Anything >= than this should work

Electron says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 2:31pm

Good ! innovating ,,,,

Eldan_Knight says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 3:39pm

Same problem, it didn't work on my computer :-/

ilikescifi says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 1:18pm

The boxshot is awesome!

Strike says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 4:48pm

It crashes on the 32bit version on Windows7 when picking up the rocket launcher :

Exception in thread "main" java.lang.NullPointerException
at com.uniraptor.ld33.entity.Agent.collision(Agent.java:276)
at com.uniraptor.ld33.Level.update(Level.java:118)
at com.uniraptor.ld33.Game.update(Game.java:121)
at com.uniraptor.ld33.Game.loop(Game.java:96)
at com.uniraptor.ld33.Game.start(Game.java:44)
at com.uniraptor.ld33.Game.main(Game.java:172)
AL lib: (EE) alc_cleanup: 1 device not closed


But I see great potential for this game and I wish I could play more.

CiderPunk says ...
Sep 9, 2015 @ 12:10pm

X64 version on win7 CTDs when i pick up whatever the weapon is

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]