Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

A Duel with the Devil

by Resonious - Compo Entry

Sorry if the sound is a bit loud.

A side-perspective grid based combat game. Use WASD or arrow keys to move to an adjacent cell, including up (like a jump), left, or right. Hitting the down key will make you crouch (which acts as a guard). The rules for combat are (roughly) as follows:

* You move onto your opponent's cell - kill! You win the match.

* You and opponent attempt to move to same cell - clash. One or both of you get knocked back to your original cell).

* You move onto your opponent's cell while your opponent is crouching - clash. You both remain in place.

* You move onto your opponent's cell FROM BEHIND while your opponent is crouching - kill!

* You jump (move upwards), and then left or right onto an enemy cell - kill! Jump slashes beat normal slashes.

There are a lot of weird rules that add additional effects. For instance, moving left or right following a crouch will produce slightly different results than simply moving left or right (worth experimenting).

LINUX USERS: Grab the source code from GitHub and run linux-build.sh. You might also need to install SDL2, SDL2_image, and SDL2_mixer.

MAC VERSION IS IN! Hopefully it actually works. Might have to brew install sdl2, sdl2_image, and sdl2_mixer.

WINDOWS USERS:
If the game won't open, run that vc_redist thing.

===MULTIPLAYER?===:
So, I decided to cook up an online 2-player version of the game. It (like the game itself) is real choppy, but it works pretty well. Only glaring bug is: when one person person (player 1, for example) falls off the edge, player 2 sees themselves as killing player 1. Kinda weird but no big deal.

To join a multiplayer game, just press the number button on your keyboard corresponding to the player in the list you'd like to join.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness77%
#36Fun3.98
#58Overall3.86
#61Audio3.73
#70Innovation3.81
#84Mood3.74
#241Graphics3.53
#539Humor2.55
#611Theme3.16

Comments

Empyrealhell says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:59am

That was amazingly fun. There was a lot of complexity in the combat system that was fun to experiment with, and the difficulty ramp was perfect. It reminded me quite a bit of divekick with the way the simple mechanics made something with so much depth. Great entry.

Korso says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:10am

I cannot play because a missing dll (VCRUNTIME140.dll)

micdoodle8 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:11am

Nice entry, quite fun for it's simplicity. Some small things though: It's a bit hard to see what's going on with the last level though with the bright background. And the music is fairly loud for me.

namrog84 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:12am

I really liked it, quite fun and did a good job!

imdigitaljim says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:18am

This was a really neat entry. I liked the game and art and music! Nice job!

Acerio says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:10am

ANAZING. I HAD A LOT OF FUN. GRAPHICS AMAZING TOO

Jimbly says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:15am

Pretty nice, love the feel of it! Please redistribute the VC2015 redistributable in your download, that's why it's called a redistributable! I have difficulty downloading it from the link provided (in Chrome, had to disable some security settings about unsafe scripts before it would download...)

Resonious says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:21am

Good point, Jimbly. I will get on that.

Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:01am

This is very very very awesome!
The mechanics are so that it feels like the AI is on an equal footing with the player so the increasingly difficult duels are incredibly engaging.
And the end boss levels finished it off beautifully!

jorgemoag says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:42am

Mac version please!!

rogual says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 12:50pm

This program can't run because VCRUNTIME140.dll is missing from your computer.

Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:42pm

This game was very fun and the combat was very well made. Good job overall.

sergicollado says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:34pm

I cannot play because a missing dll (VCRUNTIME140.dll)

sydream says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:36pm

Good fun, audio excellent (love the music), nice mechanics. However I don't see how it fits the theme though.

jojocanard says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:46pm

Very elegant

Maramasa says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:05pm

Nifty game with solid mechanics. Great style and audio. Awesome work!

Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:30pm

I've finally beat the final boss, wow, i really had fun playing this.

gnuwilliam says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:27pm

Really fun game! Like the art

LeoM says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 4:47pm

Nice one,
Good graphism and audio.
Very fun to play.

dydx says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 1:45am

I thought it was way too simple at the start, but the gameplay got really interesting and fun at the end.

And then I took a look at the source code... wow. You programmed everything from scratch using straight SDL and a single main.cpp file. So sick!

bradur says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 4:28am

The mood was awesome! The music, the sound effects, the visuals all contributed to it tremendously. The gameplay was great as well. Cool idea!

SoulGame says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 2:32pm

Super cool dueling game. Surprigly deep for a ludum dare game, I had fun time! It's not very clear at which step of the progression I respawn when I die, so that was a bit confusing. Not sure I understood why horns came out of my head all of a sudden :)But that matched the theme at least. The rewards for killing would have been improved by a cool simple animation for killing your opponent. The game feels a bit raw currently. Still, excellent compo entry.

HeyZeus says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 7:26pm

Simple but very effective, loved it.

Aug 27, 2015 @ 9:26pm

Good entry overall, I had a lot of fun playing this and the presentation is great ! Keep it up, dude ! Really nice work

Felipe Tasca says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 2:24am

This entry reminds me of Bushido Blade from PS1. Nice concept, good pixel art, good job!

PEBKAC says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 8:58am

Nice graphics and good work on the audio. Especially the change in music later on feels very good.

The graphics style makes it kinda hard to see what's going on, though...

Knowledge says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 8:48pm

It says not valid Win32 application.
I downloaded 32-bit version and on my XP 32-bit.

ruerob says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 6:06am

You have done wonderful work on this. Great applause! The music is well done and fits the game. Very well thought out gameplay and mechanics. I like that simple but atmospheric graphics and that nice sounds!

jstclair13 says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 4:09pm

Cool!

Sedsibi says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 3:53am

This was amazing. Great job. I loved the art style.

JangoBrick says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 4:33am

Wow, that was awesome! The very simple gameplay idea does not mean it lacks anything. There is great music, the graphics look nice, and most importantly I had a lot of fun playing it. Very well done!

valid4life says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 4:35am

The combat system was an interesting take! I kept looking for some form of attack but then figured it out ahah! Very well made!

eddynardo says ...
Sep 6, 2015 @ 7:39pm

wow, i am de devil, lolz, nice game, i leke it so much, i am the king of your game

shawn42 says ...
Sep 6, 2015 @ 7:42pm

A lot of fun, and hard to get good at. Seems like a great game. Lots of stars in this rating.. ;)

Indiestry says ...
Sep 9, 2015 @ 3:19pm

Very nice overall feel

Tanton-H2X says ...
Sep 12, 2015 @ 11:11am

wooooo!~~
Why your game can so coool~~
so amazing when i just think didi i will fight with the white-man forevery?that the new level is coming~~ a big holl in the sky~~how wonderful!!
but the final bettle is too quick!! really not enjoying to the full!ToT hope fight with the Boss again~
in a word,a super cool game with genius concept!
very interesting!

Darkflint says ...
Sep 12, 2015 @ 10:28pm

An interesting game with an interesting combat system.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]