Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

The Migrant Crisis

by MikeTheWayne - Compo Entry

A game based upon the ongoing situation at the Macedonian border involving migrants. You play as the Macedonian border police, either detaining or killing the migrants in a behaviour that can be described as "monstrous". Due to slow development of the game, it is playable, and does have losing conditions and a rough score system, though controls are relatively clunky. An information view is provided detailing what everything does, MAKE SURE YOU USE IT! It is the button near the top left of the screen with a question mark. Unfortunately, once again no music, or save games.

Movement of units (blue and green dots) is achieved through clicking once on the unit, then clicking the place of movement. Other units shouldn't be moved during this time, else the first unit will stop moving, sorry about this. Also, you can't move near the edges of the screen, nor Greece.

Make sure to research the barracks from the command tent at the start, in order to build more units.

A construction mode exists to build barbed wire and razor wire fences to slow down the migrants.

Migrant AI is poor, and only goes in a straight line, though the game still works.

There is also a day/night cycle! At night, it's slightly darker and more migrants attempt to cross over.

Post your days survived in the comments (if you play for long enough)!

Thanks for playing, Enjoy!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#628Innovation2.74
#650Humor2.28
#686Mood2.63
#738Theme2.89
#791Fun2.50
#807Overall2.68
#890Graphics1.94
#1842Coolness33%

Comments

Phil Strahl says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:09am

That's an interesting take on the theme, I like it very much. Sadly, here in Austria we are also facing a rather unpleasant divide regarding refugees among the populace. The game is pretty ambitions in being a real time strategy game for such a short time and it works, basically. Ye, the controls are clunky to say the least, I was hardly able to move my units around which was very frustrating and the green soldiers on green background were a bit hard to see. it reminded me a little of "Papers, please", where you are responsible for the fortune (or lack thereof) of migrants.

BoskoSokolov says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:11am

Laughed my ass off, I'm from Macedonia and I didn't expect to see a Macedonia related game however the game was terrible, and not really related to the theme, I don't know if you are trying to represent the Macedonian police as the monster or the migrants are the monsters, and the controls were awful.

RadioLemon says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:26am

It looks like it would be a fun defense game if it was finished, but for the moment, you win by just lining up soldiers on the border.

peterthehe says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:29am

Ambitious and *slightly* edgy concept. Overall, I enjoyed it but it could be better executed.

Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:29pm

i kind of liked it

MikeTheWayne says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:32am

Thanks for all the feedback, as I mentioned, nobody is being implicated as monsters, except for you, the player. I think I set the ambitions of this game a little high for the time limit, which is why it didn't turn out quite as I had hoped. This was also my first attempt at a game that involved AI and multiple moveable objects, which could also be why it didn't turn out so well. Thanks for playing anyway!

Sep 9, 2015 @ 12:14pm

I may be able to Grexit this game, but migrants can not Grexit the difficult situation they face in leaving their country.

Flaid says ...
Sep 11, 2015 @ 2:26am

The concept of this game is interesting, things get harder as it goes on and all that. I don't really have anything more to add that others haven't already pointed out (hard to see the green guys, hard to control one guy at a time).

All in all, it is pretty solid considering you did everything in 48 hours, and the premise was pretty solid.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]