Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Detonate

by AdenMansonGames - Compo Entry

Made in 10 hours for Ludum Dare 33

Roam around in space freely, looking for planets containing certain lifeforms on them, but don't think it's all fun and games, because you only have limited oxygen and why are you even destroying life for no reason?

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#296Innovation3.27
#375Fun3.15
#416Audio2.84
#558Graphics2.91
#562Humor2.49
#605Overall2.99
#695Mood2.62
#797Theme2.73

Comments

samcoy says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:44am

Overall a pretty fun game, I played the easy mode and then gave up. In my opinion it needs to be better tutorialised, as you can't really tell exactly what the controls do from the offset. However, it fit theme excellently, and the audio was pretty damn good for a game made so quickly.

Somnium says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:44am

I liked the gravity effect. The black-silouetted targets were a bit hard to see against the dark background.

Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:49am

An explanation controls would go a long way! It took me a couple of tries before I figured out what I was supposed to be doing.

Once I figured out what I was doing it was good though. Playing with the gravity physics was fun.

Aug 24, 2015 @ 12:07pm

Thanks guys! I will update for a tutorial. I just didn't have too much time

TiByte says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 12:28pm

A very nice game. The graphics of what you have to destroy is a little bit confusing because there are 6 people showed, but on every planet are just 5 people.

Aug 24, 2015 @ 12:30pm

Okay I quickly fixed TiByte's bug and added a tutorial. Thanks guys!

chromebookbob says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 12:55pm

great mechanic with the planet hopping

Flygamer101 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 1:06pm

Nice little game with decent graphics.

undef says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 1:26pm

yaaay, I am the destroyer!

pighead10 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:41pm

Basic mechanics but enjoyable for a bit. Short, and the theme felt like it was an afterthought for this game.

tomdeal says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:42pm

Yeah, I am the destroyer! Liked the physics, reminded me of mario galaxy and that other planet gravitation game... forgot the name...

Crypto137 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:44pm

Although the game doesn't really fit the theme, it's actually pretty fun to play. Hopping from planet to planet in search of your objective feels great. The tutorial could definitely be improved, but in the end I think it's a fun game.

Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:48pm

Thanks! I should've made a story-line so it fit the theme more. Oh and it was based off the game 'Aether'

rudra says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:04pm

Pretty fun game :) Liked the gravity effect. And special congrats for making it in 10 hours. Cheers ! :D

LittleThor says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:23pm

A well made game with nice physics, and in a very few amount of time. Good job!

Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:24pm

I played through the whole game; except i played the hard mode about ten times before giving up. At first I was confused, I was just trying to plant bombs on random planets before realizing that the random floating coloured men at the top actually meant something. That's not your fault, it was mine for jamming out to the sweet tunes that were pumpin' out of this game :D

This game left me with no choice but to give you a high rating. Well done!

Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:25pm

Thanks so much!! Bet no-one knew there was a bonus level after hard mode did they ;)

Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:29pm

Good innovating game. Good move.

Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:39pm

Very cool gravity effects! I am a monster!

Gammel says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:40pm

Fun game. Lacks story or dialogs to connect it with the theme.

Shinmera says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:46pm

A sweet little game.

Generally though it could still be improved by quite a margin. First and foremost, having some kind of panel as a background to the HUD would improve readability a huge lot. As it is now, it's very hard to make out the text. The ending animation also seems to go on forever. It just left me sitting there for quite a while without me knowing whether anything more was going to happen.

Controls wise, the game could've been made a lot more fun if we had some sort of jetpack that allowed at least a limited amount of control while in the air. As it is now, you can be at the mercy of gravity for a very long time. Limited air control would also have allowed you to space the planets out more liberally, and would have increased the skill required to play it, rather than the chance of knowing when to jump by trial and error.

The sounds are ok. Nothing remarkable, but not altogether awful either.

If you had taken more time than just ten hours a lot of the problems with this game could have been easily fixed and improved upon. Hopefully you'll have more time the next time around!

Sina says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:50pm

Was cool. Really liked it but, I'm pretty sure, one of the colors it was asking for did not exist on the screen.
So was the concept white people killing every other skin color? (i'm kidding)

Mister_Melon says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:06pm

I really enjoyed this game overall, the platforming between planets was a great innovation which I enjoyed a lot, the gameplay is really fun (I most enjoyed the platforming) but is a bit difficult to control at times and could have done with some polish, it suits the theme okay I guess but it could have done with something to connect the game with the theme better, I liked the art style and the soundtrack was really nice as well as the sound effects which contributed to a really nice mood as well. Really enjoyed it overall, well done.

EmanP says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:08pm

By bonus you mean INSANE difficulty...

Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:46pm

Yea XD

DeusOpus says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:44pm

An interesting game playing around with gravity, I do think that the little guys on the planets could stand out more, making it easier to identify them.

Aun says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:17pm

I liked the way gravity change your moves even if sometimes you control nothing and fly through the map :)

raducumiczzz says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:40pm

Gravity effect is neat. Dark background with black silhouettes make it a litt hard. Once you figure out the keys it's starting to be fun.

Andrew Deem says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:36pm

Fun game. Borrows a little bit from Orbital Gear, but I still enjoyed it. Controls are a bit hard, but once you get used to them it's no problem. Good stuff!

Acerio says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:06pm

Not much to say, but I liked the shading on graphics.

daveh says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:10pm

Excellent game. Loved the gravity, it worked flawlessly. You used the theme really well: nothing is more monstrous than destroying entire galaxies. Really solid graphics and art-style.

Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:32pm

thanks daveh !

evandaley says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:37pm

Looks good. Nice job

RadioLemon says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:50am

Fun physics platformer with a storyline that doesn't make sense until its too late.

NidzaKornjaca says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:03am

Interesting idea, SFX were adequate. Instructions not really clear though.

TeamOA says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:19am

Pretty fun little game. If the tutorial was a little better that would be good. But overall it was fun, and I really like the concept

ekajjake says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:05am

I AM THE DESTROYER!

DruhinM says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:22am

The gravity effect was good. Quite a fun game

ronsap123 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:20pm

Haha! Liked it a lot! Super Awesome!

peterthehe says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:47pm

The graphics were quite fitting. Good job!

fafastudio says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:11pm

That's was a really good game ! The only thing is that i didn't first understand that space would plant the explosives, maybe you should write it somewhere ! :D
Hope that's not because i didn't see it ^^'

Josh H says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 6:38pm

Not too bad for 10 hours! Fun take on the theme. Good job!

Sunflower says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 8:19pm

I'm da destroya~!
(made it in the hard level)

The yay:
- cool gameplay mechanics
- nice graphics and audio

The nay:
- a bit confused about what to do at first
- game doesn't mention oxygen running out with time or, more importantly, that a charge can be planted with space
- menu is controlled when game itself is keyboard only
- SIZE! It seems there's quite a room for compression/removal here, starting with the main song in *.wav format; the game looks like it could easily fit in 10MB >.<

Pretty neat entry, especially for such a short timeframe.

glerikud says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 12:32pm

I have no issues with it. Nice one in 10 hours, and overall a fun little game, and the gravity is really cool.

Dizzyman572 says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 1:03pm

This game is very good. I like the jump physics in this game, because when your low on time it's kind of a puzzle to figure out how to get to the next planet before you run out of oxygen. I think what kind of holds this game back is its lack of instruction upon how to plant the bomb. I was literally forced to push every button on my keyboard to figure that out, and on top of the added rule where you can only plant on planet with certain people, it just kinda made for a sour opening. Past that point, though, I feel like this game is really well done. Especially when considering that this was made in 10 hours! Overall, I gave you a 4/5.

Aug 27, 2015 @ 8:05pm

Thanks

x1212 says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 10:45am

Nice physics and use of the theme!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]