Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Pegakitty Saves the World!

by matthias_zarzecki - Jam Entry

You need to save the world from dangerous pollution! Charge your Rainbow-Blaster by eating delicious candy, and rainbowify the world!

Features:
- A Pegasus Kitty!
- Rainbows!
- Rainbow Lasers
- Marschmallows and Lollipops and Muffins and Candy
- Kongregate-Highscores, to keep you coming back

Controls:
- A/D & arrows - movement
- Space - fire (when charged)

Team:
Matthias Zarzecki & Marie Palme
Music by quintazzz

Have fun!
-Matthias
@IcarusTyler


//Edit
Apparently the HTML5-version you get when you use Chrome is a bit unstable, but the Unity-version you get in Firefox is totally fine

//Update! We Got a Review!
Jupi plays Pegakitty in this video at 7:40 https://youtu.be/1VzFVc1MuWc?t=7m40s

//Fanart!
There is also this lovely piece made for the BerlinMiniJam, featuring Pegakitty :D https://twitter.com/IcarusTyler/status/638985185539792896/photo/1

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness59%
#138Audio(Jam)3.67
#370Humor(Jam)3.07
#439Fun(Jam)3.17
#512Graphics(Jam)3.41
#599Overall(Jam)3.13
#642Mood(Jam)2.96
#785Innovation(Jam)2.68
#1051Theme(Jam)2.30

Comments

jadaytime says ...
Aug 22, 2015 @ 6:40pm

I couldn't get the controls to work. I just went in a straight line until I crashed :S

michidk says ...
Aug 23, 2015 @ 4:58am

controls works fine for me. this game somehow reminds me to nyan cat :D

Aiursrage2k says ...
Aug 23, 2015 @ 7:02am

Crashed my computer last time i tried it

Aiursrage2k says ...
Aug 23, 2015 @ 7:07am

Well I beat it

General says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:57pm

Good start in game development! Although it's not very "moster", you can use it a a base to build your new full game.

I screencasted some LD entries: http://youtu.be/6Al6aF0oETA
Your game is at 24:30

hexagore says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:53am

I enjoyed this. Loved the music and the fact that you seem to have totally rebelled against the theme (or maybe you're being far too subtle for me). Love the rainbow thing. Adorableness.

KhaoTom says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:21am

If pollution was the good guy, then I am the monster. 'Cuz I kicked pollution's ass.

Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:20pm

Very pretty !I wished the controls were a bit more agile though

stoarch says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 8:24am

Nyan cat as fighter jet is interesting concept. But you're not a monster, but pretty kitty with rainbow exhaust.
Good game. I like 'yay' and rainboom with butterflies.
Sound is pretty too.

McFunkypants says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 5:28pm

So smooth. Love how instead of explosions there are butterflies! LOL

crucknuk says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 9:03pm

This monstership is beautiful ^o^
A psychedelic trip I guess

LeekAnarchism says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 9:05pm

Yay!

A bit too easy -- maybe it could do with some monsters? ;)

But a nice idea, and the rainbows were a nice touch.

DrPrettyPatty says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 9:14pm

Looks great, real fluid movement, I wasn't getting any sound though, which might be my fault.

Darkflint says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 9:19pm

A good game (albeit a bit too short :P), nice music, nice concept. But total contrary to the theme^^

BeardoGames says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 9:21pm

Loved the music! I think a pegasus is technically a monster, so a pegasus-cat? No problem! Very cool, I liked it a lot!

Lady Beardo says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 10:40pm

Nom! This is great. Rainbow lasers!

Aug 29, 2015 @ 6:13am

Yey the world was saved by me! I like the feel of the flying, it was really nice to control. I'd love something with movement like this with a massive beautiful world to explore (if you could just make that for me that'd be great).

Good music but not sure it really fitted with the pace of the game. Still a good tune though!

OnionBlaze says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 10:02am

Yeah, did it! Loved how those rainbows look. Nice game, ahaha. :D

Aug 31, 2015 @ 7:40pm

Cute rainbows, cool game. I included it in part 13 of my Ludum Dare 33 Compilation video series, if you would like to take a look :) https://youtu.be/1VzFVc1MuWc

psychonull says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 1:48am

its like nyan cat evolution! lol, nice game, cool graphics and sound. I really wanted to move the cam to see farther ... really wanted that! xD. great work!

Biruts says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 1:11am

Very nice project guys, i really love it, please check our game too and if you liked it give us a vote. Look for Road to hell and enjoy.

Simonaiso says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 9:06am

Great positiveness! Rainbows yay! The music is totally cool. Too bad the gameplay is a tad slow.

MaesK says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 7:22pm

Nice game! The music was great, and graphics are simple but quite effective.

It seems the barrels are somewhat random, as I stood sometime without finding any, and camera didn't help. But I finished and also crashed while trying to see the boundaries. Good entry!

ChaosCult says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 7:27pm

Not much of a game, and it doesn't fit the theme.

GaTechGrad says ...
Sep 9, 2015 @ 5:59am

Nice! I always enjoy playing your Box Cat themed games!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]