Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Hymn of the Sages

by PowerSpark - Jam Entry

You are the most dangerous and feared demon known to man. Man has done everything possible to seal you and keep you from harming anyone. Break the seal.
Time lapse on YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=79OKuuKmVd0

Expect a few small bugs. Have fun!
EDIT: Play the post jam version if you haven't! Thanks!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#103Innovation(Jam)3.71
#110Theme(Jam)4.02
#117Mood(Jam)3.81
#163Overall(Jam)3.70
#239Graphics(Jam)3.97
#322Fun(Jam)3.35
#795Humor(Jam)2.25

Comments

Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:53am

You're graphics were pretty good, but your screenshots don't reflect that. Your first screenshot seems to have some issues with the monster's outline. I was misled about the quality of the graphics. I thought they were worse than they actually were.

PowerSpark says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:14am

I had to put my game out in a rush but you're advice made me realize I had to update the thumbnail. Thanks!

jmschrack says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:03am

My only complaint, is that possessing people feels a bit too fickle. Otherwise, everything is exceedingly good!

pixelgriffin says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:45am

This was a very pretty game. I also really appreciated the tutorial. It's so nice to not have to read a description and remember things on the spot!

MechanicMoon says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:06pm

I really love the graphics and the atmosphere. The best game that I have seen in the jam so far.I like the tutorial and the gameplay. Awesome job ;-)

Yamzho says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:07pm

Very nice game.

PowerSpark says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:30pm

Thanks guys! :)

Grahhhhh says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 2:14am

I loved the graphics, really solid. I see a lot of people putting stuff out in unity only to have it be sub par to average, this was tight. I would've liked possession to be a little more long range, but that's me being fickle, solid game.

MagentaGames says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:50am

I liked!

TomOlivier says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 6:51am

I liked the dark and mythical atmosphere here. I wasn't sure why I had to possess other monks thought.

Cliff Lee(CL) says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 7:16am

So awesome in all ways!

But I fell into a hole in level after final ability is obtained, and I keep falling with no end :(

Aug 26, 2015 @ 7:42am

One of my favorites so far. Fantastic!

snake5 says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 7:53am

One of the few somewhat unique games I've seen around, with an easily recognizable graphics style, though it could use some polishing on character physics and improve the communication of level design to the player. I got stuck near the spot where I was supposed to sneak around the corner and posess a dude, which should've been a bit easier, though it just got confusing afterwards. But the preceding experience was definitely interesting.

PowerSpark says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 2:54pm

@snake5 I understand how awkward possessing is in this game. Once judging finishes I'll have a Post-Jam version to make some levels a bit less ridiculous/overwhelming to beat :)

Aug 27, 2015 @ 1:29am

A good game, but it's pretty difficult to aim at people to possess them, and the controls feel a bit strange and slow.

Kassimkot says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 4:43am

awesome game. was kinda weird we're possessing them just to get past them.

kidando says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 7:32am

These are one of those games that have potential to become unique and loved titles. Some polish on the possession tho. Its kinda hard to determine how close and at what angle you can posses. Congrats dude.

NightShadow0 says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 4:49pm

I had a hard time getting the possessing to work, which became particularly frustrating when you have a short window to get to the clerics before they step into the light beams. A longer range would probably have made it more enjoyable. Other than that i really like the game, solid mechanic, good intro, great artstyle. Nice work!

bradur says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 5:44am

- Easy to understand (but not always easy to execute!) puzzles
- Lovely atmosphere
- Awesome graphics
- Nicely fits the theme

I had some problems sometimes hitting the monks with the "possess" skill, since the aiming was a little fidgety. Oh, and I had a bug in which you fell through the wall into the void endlessly if you posessed a monk too close to a wall.

All in all, a very solid entry!

CheesyRamen says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 5:59am

I really liked the look and atmosphere of this! Nice job!

PowerSpark says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 9:02pm

I made a patch that fixed a few small things that were mentioned above. Read about it... http://gamejolt.com/games/hymn-of-the-sages/88559/news/new-patch-1-1-1/92477

NuDawg says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 4:00am

I got the following error trying to play the web version:
MissingKeyMissing Key-Pair-Id query parameter or cookie value
I got the same error uploading my WebGL port of my game, then I decided WebGL is crap lol. Anyway, nice graphics, and fun to play.

jk5000 says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 8:27am

I love this game. It has a great gameplay and you have created a fantastic scary atmosphere. Aiming at the monks is a bit too difficult.

Reyn says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 9:42am

Nice. Only issue I had was that it was too dark to find the second door at first.

Empyrealhell says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 6:51pm

There is an amazing amount of content for a jam entry here. The gameplay had a few issues (the monks move a bit slow, and the hit box for possession feels too narrow), and the web port controls didn't work for me. Outside of that, everything about this is amazing. Level design, graphics, sound, the atmosphere you create, all outstanding.

Sep 1, 2015 @ 5:20am

- intro is a little slow to get into the gameplay
- graphics are good
- having trouble figuring out what to do, i am on the stage that says "keep your body away from the light"
- can you put up some tips on how to play?

Teesquared says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 6:55am

Impressive visual style and mood. I am not a big fan of stealth games but this kept me hooked. Frustration level was a bit high due to difficulty (camera angle, slow movement, aiming challenges) but mainly because I wanted to finish. Great entry.

disperse says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 1:45am

I loved the style of the models and the gameplay was solid. The tank-like controls of the player and limited field of view was sometimes frustrating but overall, in the timeframe, impressive!

dregamr says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 5:03pm

Too much work for a jam, don't you think?
Good work!! :)

rodobodolfo says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 10:16am

The monks look awesome! You have a great visual style. This could expand into a nice little game.

Sep 10, 2015 @ 1:34am

Awesome game, dude!!!
For having been made in 72 hours, this is brilliant. Everything from gameplay to graphics were interesting, and the level design is pretty good. Great job ;)

PowerSpark says ...
Sep 10, 2015 @ 2:40am

Thanks for all the incredible feedback, you guys rock! :3

Tanton-H2X says ...
Sep 10, 2015 @ 4:01am

wooo this game~~!
i have seen it's gifs at the homepage a few days ago~~
but my vpn not worked these day(thus can't use gamejolt that time) ,want to play for a long time..
so fated to meet again today,this genius game
recalled long ago that there was an old game i have read in my game magazine ...(i forgot the name... mesih? i am not sure..)
this time i can play it~~

Tanton-H2X says ...
Sep 10, 2015 @ 4:48am

SuperCool!
the best game and the most challenging game in these days~~!
i spent so many time at this~ Ambient and LevelDesign very genius~!
Look at our hero a little bit of growth,feels so good(the first time i know he can growth ,fells very exciting!)
Level2 is the hardest....Challenged many times(more than 10's)orz....it tech me "Whenever it is,don't treat yourself lightly" just the terminal point...ToT (really careful,consolidate step by step...)
Level3 a little bit easy and short,but the desgin very enjoyable and innovative,also fitting the theme/mechanism very well(control/lead..)
When i think the game is over after level...The Final scene's coming really Full of surprises! (/≥▽≤/) ahha~~ so exciting! I finally got my revenge~~
take measures!~~Destroy them~~~~~

although,still unsatisfied pleasuregood to the last drop...
in my mind, How wonderfull if only there were a BigBoom!!( explosion) i think,this progress also like sublimation~~
now the final stage only like a revenge...(good but not enough?) my feeling gets good but the Emotional still not release completely...ಥvಥ so that is why i hope a bigboom of this evil castle;may be also some picture imply our hero flying to the cloudy sky ....balabalabala.....all just for the final sublimation~ perfect...
otherhand,there are a small bu in level3:sometimes the priest may drop in to the pit..(and they were not killed...)
All in all,very awesome game in 72h,Timelapse is also cool! hope to see this more iterations on this!☆

PowerSpark says ...
Sep 10, 2015 @ 6:05am

@Tanton-H2X I'm so glad you enjoyed my game! I will without a doubt do my best to to improve as much as I can using the feedback I receive. Thank you for taking the time to comment!

Tanton-H2X says ...
Sep 10, 2015 @ 9:03am

@PowerSpark You're welcome~~ and sorry forgot one point that comment (o◕∀◕)ノ ,which about the final panel,actually these view in last comment are connected the finalpanel so much~~

I means that the final scene is good,just the final panel is so static, may be not fit enough with the epic feeling which i feels from the final scene? (i am not sure enough)

only feel it stop right away let me feel the feedback are not enough for my just stage-clear~~? otherwise,the final lab can't jump back mainmenu more or less made me confused(just a little.. after all so many games also not return...>u< but really waiting a long time for some more thing happend haha~~)
oh~the level room also let me recalled <Shadow of the Colossus〉 How cool they are~~i love this design~~

In short, it's awesome,worth to play everylevel~~

MintArcade says ...
Sep 11, 2015 @ 7:02am

Nice game and timelapse :) Very innovative.

crucknuk says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 9:54am

The graphics are beautiful, i like the art direction, the camera view, the "cinematic" intro. You put a lot of effort into it and its doable.
But the gameplay was a bit frustrating at some part, especially when you have pattern of lights to go into and you have to possess monks. They could spot you straight away and it is a timing execution you must require in order to not get frustrated.
Hope you could fix it because i would like to play it really much!

Well done!

crucknuk says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 10:05am

I like games with infiltration :)
the graphics are cool (especially the texture), and the atmosphere too (Sounds are immersive)

uchiro says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 10:43am

I liked it very much! The story and the addition of new abilities is very cool.
I captured the second monk' mind, because I don't understand what to do (really, a monk turning back before the second door). When I let him go he went back across the chasm.
Then I decided to restart level and fell into a chasm, but the game didn't do anything.

I liked it very much! The story and the addition of new abilities is very cool.

I found a couple of bugs.
I captured the second monk' mind, because I don't understand what to do (really, a monk turning back before the second door). When I let him go he went back across the chasm.
http://i.imgur.com/zeDm62R.png
http://i.imgur.com/5Kzxx8l.png
Then I decided to restart level and fell into a chasm, but the game didn't do anything.
http://i.imgur.com/wxTejNp.png

The game is very nice. But for complete enjoyment is not enough cool graphics. Maybe add lighting and post-effects? For example, when the player captures the mind of the monk, the around color becomes darker. Conversely, when coming to light all the color becomes lighter. Else can to replace the light sprite object. Else can replace the sprite of light on 3D objects, like this http://i.imgur.com/IFbazw0.png . But it is better to change the shader and texture to the blurry border.

PowerSpark says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 5:00pm

@crucknuk Thanks for the comments! The problem you're taking about will be fixed with the post-jam version.
@uchiro I'm glad you enjoyed the game! Thank you so much for the bug report, I wouldn't have caught that problem on my own.

uchiro says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 6:48pm

@PowerSpark Where can I find a post-jam version?

PowerSpark says ...
Sep 15, 2015 @ 2:04am

I will begin uploading the post jam version very soon, expect it around 30 min from now.

PowerSpark says ...
Sep 15, 2015 @ 2:47am

Post jam version is uploaded! Make sure you play WebGL, the standalone's aren't compiled just yet. Sorry for the wait.

Please take a look, I've changed a few levels, fixed bugs, created a whole ending cut scene, and more! Enjoy, and thanks for making this LD awesome!

aviktorov says ...
Sep 15, 2015 @ 6:46am

@PowerSpark Post-effect in the end is very cool! ending cut scene. I liked the final scene (but you can see the end of the earth).

I do not know whether you will fix, but I found a few bugs.
The monk doesn't fall into the abyss.
http://i.imgur.com/UK7bK1Z.png
I played in Windows version and I couldn't exit to the menu.
http://i.imgur.com/mSyHkTF.png
If a monk standing back to the wall, then came out of his body, player can get stuck in the wall. The worst thing is when monk doesn't see the player and the player can not return to him. The player will have to restart the game. Maybe add a restart key? :)
http://i.imgur.com/aToQlzS.png
http://i.imgur.com/2iyZOdG.png
http://i.imgur.com/OFFAITN.png
The previous version had a normal animation, and now there are artifacts.
http://i.imgur.com/UV3Ftjc.png
http://i.imgur.com/b4TforC.png

It would be wonderful if you added support for gamepad! Unity3D the UI can be used with a gamepad.
The movement can be written on the vertical and horizontal axis.
http://docs.unity3d.com/ScriptReference/Input.GetAxis.html
A key can have multiple actions.
http://docs.unity3d.com/ScriptReference/Input.GetButton.html

uchiro says ...
Sep 15, 2015 @ 6:56am

@PowerSpark We submitted game from account @aviktorov, I forgot about it. Previous post was mine.

PowerSpark says ...
Sep 15, 2015 @ 2:23pm

@uchiro Thanks for the photos! I'll try and get a patch out soon to better fix these things.

uchiro says ...
Sep 15, 2015 @ 3:40pm

@PowerSpark The Ludum Dare haven't notification. Do you have twitter or facebook where I could follow the updates?

PowerSpark says ...
Sep 16, 2015 @ 12:04am

@uchiro You can follow future updates here: https://www.facebook.com/powersparkgames
If anyone can follow it that would help my small page out. ;3

PowerSpark says ...
Sep 16, 2015 @ 12:51am

1.2.2 patch released! Check out the changes here: http://gamejolt.com/games/hymn-of-the-sages/88559/news/1-2-2-patch-changes/95962

PowerSpark says ...
Sep 16, 2015 @ 3:53pm

Gamepads are supported! Read about the changes here:
http://gamejolt.com/games/hymn-of-the-sages/88559/news/1-2-3-patch-changes/96071

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]