Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Magical Monster Ballz

by Derek Rumpler - Jam Entry

Magical Monster Ballz is a game made for Ludum Dare 33. You are the victim of a wizard who has given you magical powers which can be used against you. He has forced you to participate in his tournament. Your goal is to survive as long as you can. What's the best time you can obtain?

A PC with a keyboard is required to play.

Note: The logo introduction, music, and code was made prior to the jam by myself and others; I'm just including it to "brand" my work.

Bug Fix Update (9/1/2015): I fixed issues with jumping, turning (the origin is in the center of the player sprite), other origin issues (put origin in the center of monster sprites), and centered the arena more. I also included the old build for the sake of judging.

I did not add anything to the game. For example, while I would add a warning to the appearance of the sawblade if this was a published game, I have opted out of adding this warning because I don't want to seem like I'm adding features to the game for the jam.

Bug Fix Update (9/3/2015): I fixed a bug whereby the player could shoot a monster and the saw wouldn't respawn. Initially the idle timer would reset to zero and the saw would only spawn when it hit five. Now I make it so that the saw spawns when the idle timer is a multiple of five. Please tell me if you find anymore bugs! I'd like to make it so the saw goes through enemies but I'm struggling with that for now.

When judging my entry: If you play the old version, please try out the new version and keep my changes in mind. Tell me if this drastically improves the player experience and if not, please tell me what I can do to continue to improve my game.

I've removed the link to the GameJolt version since I don't want to maintain more than one version of the game online since I'll likely port it to consoles later.

Also, I had to rely on a backup (I mysteriously lost my original files) so if there is anything that people notice missing between the old and new version then please tell me!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#666Audio(Jam)2.03
#850Innovation(Jam)2.57
#857Graphics(Jam)2.65
#863Humor(Jam)2.08
#1036Mood(Jam)2.08
#1073Fun(Jam)2.06
#1087Theme(Jam)1.97
#1087Overall(Jam)2.32

Comments

pavel_insight says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 1:53pm

What a hardcore! :)

Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:02pm

Super tough :)

AAGH Games says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:03pm

pretty fun, hard but fun

disperse says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 2:56pm

There is a moment delay between pressing the spacebar and jumping that make avoiding the shooting blade very difficult (impossible?). Let me know if I'm missing something.

DerekRumpler says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 4:58pm

You're not supposed to shoot the blade. I never thought that people would try. :-) The purpose of the blade is to force you to jump so that people don't stand idly. But I'll definitely reconsider adding that in a future update if people think it is a good idea. Thank you for the feedback!

PIXEL^3 says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 8:52pm

enemies and other hazards should have some kind of warning before they pop out of nowhere, and jumping should really be bound to key-press, not key-release.

DerekRumpler says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 8:53pm

Hi Dispere, I get it now! I'll try to remedy it in the final release.

I also noticed that turns are awkward on account of the origin being on the top left. I'll probably put it in the center.

DerekRumpler says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 8:54pm

Thanks Pixel! I must've missed that I used key release instead of key press. Thanks for the feedback!

tweedle says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 8:54pm

Tough game, but fun! I'm a fan of the retro graphics and audio.

paquinn says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 9:22pm

I can hardly ever make it over that spinning thing but that makes it fun to keep trying.

UncleChris says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 9:36pm

Super tough - I think after about 10 times of playing top is 3 sec. I like the idea, and think it is innovative, with great graphics.

BlackQuiltro says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 11:59pm

Very hard game. The idea could be fun but the controls were not very intuitive for me. Liked the retro sounds and graphics!

superfreak says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 7:42am

Nostalgic feel to a difficult but catchily fun game. Great entry (though felt it could use a little balancing to make it less frustrating at the start!)

DerekRumpler says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 8:00am

Thanks for the feedback!

@Superfreak: What would you suggest I balance? I think I need to add a warning to the saw; anything else?

Sep 1, 2015 @ 8:18am

OMG such hard! Wow! :D

You should really make it easier, just at the start, in this current state it's very frustrating. And I love hard games in general.

Almax27 says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 12:14pm

Spawning enemies when you jump is novel and it works really well, the player moving when you turn is really annoying though :P

Taldius says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 1:30pm

Good little game, but it's very hard and the jump feel weird.

Derek Rumpler says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 5:32pm

I just made bug fixes and added a link to the old version.

Derek Rumpler says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 5:34pm

Also, I had to rely on a backup (I mysteriously lost my original files) so if there is anything that people notice missing between the old and new version then please tell me!

r8berto says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 8:30pm

Really interesting mechanics. I found it really inspiring.

crucknuk says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 10:10pm

Very hard.
I tried as much as i could but it is really difficult to avoid enemies and also your bullet.
I tried but i think i am not too good at it :P
I guess there is some challenge.
Loved the quircky sound of the jump, make me forget how much i was losing :P

Sep 2, 2015 @ 4:17am

Really difficult but really fun. Something about that jump sound effect, it's really nice to listen to for some reason. Nice job!

Derek Rumpler says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 5:12am

Thanks for the feedback everyone! I'm glad to hear people loved the jumping sound effect.

I fixed a bug whereby the player could shoot a monster and the saw wouldn't respawn. Initially the idle timer would reset to zero and would the saw would only spawn when it hit five. Now I make it so that the saw spawns when it is a multiple of five. Please tell me if you find anymore bugs! I'd like to make it so the saw goes through enemies but I'm struggling with that.

cyrixd says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 8:37am

Cool idea for an old school survival game! I liked the decision to make the 'shot' a bouncy ball with its own physics, added more things to dodge.
I did discover by standing in the far left corner you can effectively survive indefinitely by jumping to dodge the razor blade and shooting the solitary enemy that gets spawned. Lasted two minutes before I decided there was nothing to break the cycle.
Not sure why I am the monster though, given that I'm the victim of a wizard...

Derek Rumpler says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 5:05am

Thanks Cyrix. I caught that bug, too! I'm going to patch it out, but I've had some computer problems. When I release the final version, I'm also thinking of making it so none of the enemies fall out. Instead of spawning outside the level (which is a band-aid owing to lack of time) I want them all to spawn within.

liquidmedia says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 5:23am

spawned and dead in one frame every time.

Sep 14, 2015 @ 11:50pm

really hard! but a good one if you want something challenging!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]