Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Ghosty

by zdavid112z - Compo Entry

You are a ghost inside a human body. Move using WASD.
Press SPACE to exit the body for 10 second. While outside
of the body, you can press Q to blow any lights nearby and
press E to turn visible and scare any other human. Turning
off a light increases your multiplier and score by 1, while
scaring others increases the score by 10. Both of these
actions result in a bonus in time. Your goal is to scare
every human. A human is scared when his face turns white.
You need multiple attacks to scare a human completely.
Whem the time runs out the multiplier resets, the score is
added and you return into the human. Have fun!

Controls:
-WASD - move
-SPACE - turn into a ghost
-Q - (while in ghost mode) "Blow" turn off any nearby lights
-E - (while in ghost mode) "Visibility" turn visible for a short amount of time and scare people (a human requires multiple attacks to be completely scared(his face turns white)(the "Blow" ability also scares humans))

Map info:
- Red cross: player
- Green dot: human not scared
- Yellow dot: light source

Tools used:
- Java: Programming language
- Eclipse: IDE
- PaintDotNet, Photoshop: Image editors
- FruityLoops, Bfxr, Audacity: Audio editors

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness66%
#242Audio3.19
#325Theme3.61
#391Mood3.10
#480Innovation2.97
#481Humor2.67
#584Fun2.84
#607Overall2.97
#647Graphics2.73

Comments

Mimus says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:52am

I did not understand.

KodingNights says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:00am

I just got a blank white screen when starting this.

IndigoWolf says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:08am

I really liked this idea, the sound effects were good too :)

bodsey says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:12am

It was a pain playing on a azerty keyboard but the idea is nice

Mister_Melon says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:24am

The concept was a bit hard to understand at first but you learned as you played, I liked the gameplay mehanics and they added a lot to the game. I liked the cute art style and the lighting was great for ambience. But I found it like a maze at times to navigate around the building (especially when it was dark). The only real issue I noticed was sometimes humans would block a hallway and for a time you were unable to pass. Overall good entry, well done!

g_o says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:31am

Nice entry, though I might have missed something - is there a way to die? That's honestly the only problem with this game - what's the point of the time gaining if it never drains? Or maybe it's just hard to make it drain IDK really. Even when I thought I wasted all time while scaring no one nothing happened, I just could restart. Also I don't get the normal mode. It serves no purpose other than getting from place to place to minimize the time but you see - it's really just a bothery thing to do. The worst thing in game design is to make players do the work for you - never bother the player with unneccessery stuff!!!
The graphics, repetitive-but-catchy audio and mood save this game from being horrible. It seriously can become a much better game with such minor changes, so really it's not like its bad bad, but for what it is now it's wrong, but fixable. The theme connection though was crystal clear and I thought of something similar but gave up on the idea. Overall it's nice, but you can tweak it a bit more. See u next LD :)

HolyBlackCat says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:20am

Nice!

Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:24am

I really liked this game. It was really fun to play :D just one thing, i'd make it so you can pass through other people when your a human since sometimes they just stand in the doorway and it's fustrating XD

Wevel says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:28am

Nice, could have been useful to have a map of the house or a pointer to the closest non scared human

CodeNMore says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:40pm

Neat idea, and the mechanics seemed good!

pixzleone says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:31pm

Fun game, good job!

A_K_ says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:50pm

can't run it on mac

Pierrec says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:58pm

The game is not bad but this https://gyazo.com/fe60e56d40660cc01a47d8a649548bee seriously is the worst tutorial ever. Although everything is correctly explained, it's rally hard to get anything. Some indications on screen would have help better (like a Q besides a fire, a E besides a human etc)

FireTwin says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:22pm

It must be awesome to get a playable game in just 2 days on your own! The graphics were quite good and the music suitably creepy! It might have been simpler to just be a ghost with a time limit as being a human was more cumbersome than anything else. Found a little bug where you can blow on the human to scare them.
Really well done again, had a lot of fun!

MechanicMoon says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 9:27am

The game is very original and the mechanics are so original. The lightning is good but the graphics are in general too simple. However, really nice entry :-)

gilborn says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 9:34am

Good sound effects. I also liked the scaring mechanic. Good job!

Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:09pm

Cool! But pretty hard for me :/

tweedle says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:21pm

Great concept for sure. No end goal form what I have tried to accomplish, but everything worked great and love the scare aspect. -J

zenmumbler says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 4:52pm

An original idea. I think if the game starts out on a small map and guides you a bit more through the whole process I would get it better, but of course, 48 hours… Not sure if you even need the whole human/ghost mechanic. Why not just always be in ghost mode? But again, interesting, if you have time develop it a bit further.

Lukbebalduke says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 10:31pm

I won =) The game is very easy, but the graphics and sound are cool!
Nice entry.

alyphen says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 1:41pm

Really cool concept, loved playing this. The music is incredibly good, the lighting effects are good (though the sprites need a touch-up)
Scaring seemed to be sort of wonky, I'd try to scare someone and nothing would happen.

I like:
- Lighting
- Music
- Game mechanic
Needs improvement:
- Art
- Scaring
- Aim
- Instructions (deliver over time rather than just a wall of text at the beginning)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]