Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Quarantine

by BoskoSokolov - Jam Entry

You are an evil spirit from hell, you posses people and turn them into monsters.

Controls:
W
A S D

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#184Theme(Jam)3.89
#272Fun(Jam)3.42
#359Overall(Jam)3.41
#382Audio(Jam)3.12
#424Humor(Jam)2.97
#426Innovation(Jam)3.13
#452Mood(Jam)3.22
#605Graphics(Jam)3.21

Comments

camthestar says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:08am

Fun game. I especially like the upgrade system after each level

Perkovec says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:12am

Great idea! Interesting realization) We want more! Good luck! ;)

rodobodolfo says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:12am

Wow, this waws incredibly rewarding, such simple mechanics but so fun!
The upgrades are the best. Great job!

anjack says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:13am

I like a game that revolves around a simple mechanic. Great graphics! Good casual game.

Shaw says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:17am

Lots of fun, upgrade system kept me playing over and over, I like the feeling of slowly getting more and more powerful with each run. Excellent job.

guoboism says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:17am

Upgrade-a-lot game. Really cool!

crazya02 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:19am

Upgrade system is neat, but the gameplay itself has little substance.

Gigaraptor says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:19am

Fantastically fun, although the art could be improved a little.

SeaMonster131 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:21am

With the shop it is very addictive. Good pixel art graphics.

boardtobits says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:28am

I finished! I guess it says something about the game that I got all the way to the end. No bugs that I saw, decent, understated sound. If you wanted to expand it, maybe who you choose to possess affects your character? Good entry!

liquidmedia says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:04am

Good Game, I like the upgrade system fun to play.

Nikteddy92 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:07am

Nice idea. I like the upgrading mechanich that expands the game. Nice graphic, well done!

djfariel says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:21am

I ran out of people at 5. Great concept for a game. Its easily addictive with the gradual increase in ability. The weakest part of the game was the lack of sound effects. It would have helped with immersion to give the player that feedback in my opinion. Overall, great job!

Leuthil says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:07am

Nice game. The gameplay seems like there could be a bit more to it in terms of the chasing part afterwards but the upgrade system was a nice touch :)

Pusty says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:50am

Fun to play! :D nice concept!

randomhuman says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:11am

Very fun, I'm already addicted :D

Razoric says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:27pm

Cool mechanic. I like upgrade system.

Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:34pm

Good concept :)

egor-idiot says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:40pm

Fun game. Mechanic works, I spent more time playing then I expected.

Literal Games says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:41pm

Nice little upgrades game. Would have been nice to have something else to do other than just run after people, but good work!

SoulGame says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:43pm

Nice entry. The game relies a lot on its upgrade system but I like it... A shame I reseted my progress by mistake :/

tmpxyz says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:00pm

Upgrades, something to make next time.

theshadowteam says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:03pm

nice upgrade and music.. great and cool

hrd_games says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:32pm

It's so hard to stop playing these kinds of games. So addictive. And fun too.

amy742 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:12pm

Great idea! I like the upgrade system! Definitely is what kept me playing! Great job!

Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:23pm

Great idea and graphics. The level it's a prety boring because people are always at the same place and i don't have weapons or something. The music it's ok and goes well with the gameplay. Nice work!

SKT says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:42pm

Very fun, the shop is a good idea and I like the music. Nice job !

glerikud says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:24pm

Good graphics and upgrade system. You should give more coins for killing people, because that first 10 second goes away fast.

superfreak says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:17pm

Really enjoyed the upgrade system - lots of fun and banging tunes to boot :)

Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:31pm

Great addicting little game. Loved the art. The screen shake and music when you transform is hilarious!

Kuchalu says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 12:40am

Love the upgrades, nice art style but the music is a bit repetitive.

Wefiends says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 2:23am

Cool idea. If the upgrade system worked a little better I think this could end up being incredibly fun.

Karai17 says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 4:07am

Fun and simple. Good job!

vividhelix says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 4:27am

Took a while but finished it. Addictive upgrade system, well done!

Lynx says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 4:55am

Fun game, I love the satisfaction of getting a new upgrade. Well done.

Slapunas says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:27pm

game didn't load, even on firefox.

uheartbeast says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:31pm

Pretty fun actually. I think this has potential.

lemer says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 5:08pm

Great game. The upgrade system works really well.

Aug 26, 2015 @ 7:30pm

Really really adicting

yuigoto says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 9:13pm

Whoa, this is really fun! The concept is really nice and the upgrade system is also really a plus. :)

It's simple, but effective in every way, from the pixelated graphics to the "soundtrack", which remind me a little bit of some new jack swing beats. :P

The simple controls make it fun to play and easy for everyone.

It was a blast! Cheers and Congrats! :)

MintArcade says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 11:20pm

Great job, ubgreade mechanism very interesting. Like the visuals. Great job!

30dogs says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 4:10am

Surprisingly fun for such simple gameplay. The music combined with the rabble of fleeing people is hilarious.

Zampi says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 7:07pm

It's good enough and plays very well. Thx for entry

crucknuk says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 10:52pm

I like the concept of upgrades. I like the simple loop of beatbox when we control the monster. It's fun to see people run for their life.

TailyILoveYou says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 12:12am

Not bad, but could've used some sound effects :P Also, my progress kept getting reset while I was playing! :( Anyway, good job!

Aug 28, 2015 @ 12:26am

The hair system is oddly fascinating. Love how it wiggles.

The upgrade system is interesting, and certainly an element of the game I wasn't expecting. It gives the game replay value that you don't normally see in a game like this.

Aug 28, 2015 @ 12:28am

The hair system is oddly fascinating. Love how it wiggles. And the screaming animation -- it's oddly cute.

The upgrade system is interesting, and certainly an element of the game I wasn't expecting. It gives the game replay value that you don't normally see in a game like this.

OnlySlightly says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 12:37am

OMG I LOVED THE HAIR WIGGLE!!!! I also loved how the bald man's head wiggled too. I got sucked into this game longer than I anticipated. I liked how the time limit of the game is upgradable. Playing it in 10 second bursts was fun.

Dizzly says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 1:01pm

The upgrade system is a nice touch to the game. I like the audio as well, mood is very nice.

FireTwin says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 10:04am

Dayum that upgrade system is just so addictive. Such simple mechanics but really fun to see yourself improve over time.

nassi says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 5:41pm

Didn't really like it (judging by the comments I'm in the minority though). Didn't seem to matter who I possessed and even then the gameplay was just running in a straight line. The start was really slow too, took a lot of rounds for it to start getting to the point where I could actually afford something. Didn't pay attention to the signs, maybe I was supposed to make it out of the building or something, I just chose randomly. Got all the upgrades even though it reseted my progress at one point (maybe because I kept pressing D?).

bodsey says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 4:28pm

I liked that you managed to implement an upgrade system for a LD. I think the gameplay miss some "latitude" (I mean some things to do / skills involved)

Mykaelos says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 10:51pm

Nice, fun to play. Finally getting all the humans is pretty hard (I would have liked to upgrade the time or speed much more). Well done!

Grahhhhh says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 11:37am

This game had a real nice feel to it. The effects of possessing a human felt really nice, the upgrade system is tight, would've liked to have seen more effect from upgrades, as well as get them faster, but that only means I was immersed into the game! Nice!

Sep 4, 2015 @ 2:09pm

That soundtrack is dope. I was zombifying to the bass and snares. Awesome. It's kind of hard to kill the kind-mansion folks. You should have made it easier to acquire coins for upgrades especially when this is a Jam's entry. This helps encouraging more replays, IMHO.

Great Job
-Loi LeMix

OrangeeZ says ...
Sep 6, 2015 @ 7:35pm

Very addictive game! The only thing I actually hated was that it reset my progress a couple of times for no apparent reason. Other than that, well done!

Oct 18, 2015 @ 11:01pm

Neat game! I included it in my Ludum Dare 33 Compilation video series, if you would like to take a look :) https://youtu.be/mQTSmMf-zUY

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]