Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

HUTAP - HUman TArget Practice

by sydream - Compo Entry

HUTAP - HUman TArget Practice


a game where you practice your shooting skills on humans, something every respectable monster should do


Game types:
-Limited Ammo: You are short on ammo, make it count
-Easy: Kill as much as you can, you will fail is there are too many on stage

Controls:
Mouse Movements: Aim
Mouse Left Click: Shoot
Mouse Right Click: Poke the humans
F1: Toggle Sound effects
Esc: Quit Game if on Main Menu or Esc to Main menu if playing

How to Play:
Every time you hit a doll (they are not really humans!), you get a hit point. Every doll has a random amount of life, when it dies you get points.

Combo: 10 consecutive Hits you get a machine gun for limited time
Combo: 30 consecutive Hits you get "The Butcher" which will allow you to disembowel your dolls

Danger: if you hit the TNT box it's Game Over.

Made with Game Maker Studio Professional
Art made with Inkscape + GIMP
SFX made with BFXR
Fonts provided by OpenFontLibrary.Org

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness72%
#460Humor2.70
#504Graphics3.00
#521Theme3.32
#522Fun2.94
#637Audio2.08
#660Overall2.92
#740Mood2.51
#771Innovation2.47

Comments

Demy says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:58am

Easy and simple but not bad. I like the ropes.

peterthehe says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:29am

Nice!

KodingNights says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:22am

I got no audio. The screen shook maybe a bit too much. :-) Otherwise good effort.

pixzleone says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:34am

Cool game! Me and my friend had some fun!
Keep it up!

congusbongus says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:39am

Pretty polished game, would be awesome with real gun sounds if it weren't for the compo rules

Flygamer101 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 1:08pm

Truly are a monster. Great little game with really cool ropes.

MAnimal says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:15pm

A large number of character sprites. MACHINEGUN!!!

Mr. Jif says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:18pm

Loved the screen shake but you might tone it down a bit :) Simple game but had fun!

RedFil says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:40pm

Some screens remained while I played (credits) and the sound of the combo weapons are quite buggy too
Still pretty fun
Good job

celisoft says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:08pm

Like the monster hand at the beginning. Good game.

StaNov says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:06am

Easy is too easy and hard is too hard :) What about some pickups of ammo in hard? It just ends by running out of ammo.

The graphics are good :)

sydream says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:38am

@statNov: you are absolutely correct sir, think that I've added the dual level like 1 hour before submission. Was rushing through some bug testing. Thought about the ammo pickup but didn't have time to ship it. Thanks for the feedback!

sydream says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:39am

@Demy, those ropes have been a nightmare to get it right. I learned a lot about the physics engine though so it was worth it :)

sydream says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:40am

@congusbongus yeah the audio is lacking of finesse. Couldn't do any better with bxfr without spending the whole 48hr on it :)

sydream says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:41am

@MAnimal, yeah I love the machine gun.. but the butcher is even better as it explodes the huuuumans.

sydream says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:41am

@RedFil, i thought I managed to fix the bloody credit/control windows overlapping. Guess not, my bad :) Thanks for the feedback

sydream says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:43am

@Mr. Jif you have no idea how many times I changed the shaking factor. After a while I could barely see any difference so I left as it is. I guess that's what happen when you play your own game for most of the 48hr straight

Mantlair says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:05pm

Cool and brutal. Nice blood FX compared to mines B).

Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:05pm

Quite the fun little game! I included it in part 5 of my Ludum Dare 33 Compilation video series, if you would like to take a look :) https://youtu.be/UXRiA5Goh28

Aug 26, 2015 @ 4:03am

Loved it overall - Really well put together!

Dizzly says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 1:35pm

Very good game! Found a little bug for which if you go into credits and play the game they will not disappear.

sydream says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 1:40pm

@dizzly thanks for the feedback and for reporting the bug. I'm still deciding whether to further develop this or not, and so fix the bugs and move on from there.

Druid says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 2:16pm

Idea was brilliant! But gameplays was boring after a while. Game don't have any progression. But still neat entry!

HotBoxGames says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 4:41pm

Haha, great premise!
I think it would have been more fun if the humans only took one shot to kill, which would have sped up the gameplay.
The camera shake was nice, but I think it was a bit too much, I found it hard to focus a lot of the time when I got the machine gun.

Xanjos says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 7:16pm

Pretty simple but I kinda like the combo system. Might be more interesting if the ropes sometimes would swing to give the illusion that the "targets" are moving though.

rudra says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 8:16pm

Pretty nice, I think this will turn up into a good mobile game! Good work.

guoboism says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 11:57pm

Simple game. The ropes are realistic and camera shake is rally nice!

LukeZaz says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 2:47am

Little bit buggy - lost when clicking on a doll that I'm guessing had TNT spawned behind it, and it'd be nice to have the dolls & tnt drop from above (and disappear after a time).

Despite this though, the game still quite fun, and I enjoyed the main menu as well.

Aug 29, 2015 @ 10:19am

Stupid dynamite! Was fun that. Very much liked the excessive blood and screenshake when I got the machine gun!

sydream says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 10:56am

Thank you all for the nice feedbacks and the ratings. I may further develop the game, making a list of all the things said here and come up with few ideas.

dickpoelen says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 8:33pm

Lotta blood for "dolls" :) I really liked going to town with the machine gun

Aug 29, 2015 @ 10:13pm

Amusingly, the machine gun makes it harder to get a streak going :D
Nice physics going on, though it would be nice if the dolls moved more as at the minute, it lacks a challenge. Good job!

MrTwister says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 12:57am

Well that was fun! A solid entry with a very entertaining concept and nice graphics.
The screen shake was cool but made me a bit dizzy after a few minutes.
It's a really polished entry though and it was definitely fun to play. Great work guys!

Aug 30, 2015 @ 3:32am

The audio didn't work very good for me so I turned off otherwise a good shooter game

NAL says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 7:11pm

No sound (that I heard), so didn't rate you on that. Pretty fun for how simple it is though, loved the physics on the bodies!

General says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 10:43am

Please, check the video of me playing and commenting: https://youtu.be/CEXUUzwEAa8
Your game is at 9:28
Cool artstyle!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]