Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Time monster

by falcon11445 - Compo Entry

ATTENTION: as of right now there is no way to turn off sound, please listen at own risk. However, in time monster you play as a monster who travels through time and witnesses human evolution and throughout the game learns new things. However the monster realizes how cruel humans are and it is made to make the ultimate choice...

CONTROLS: A and D to move left and right,
W to jump,
to kill people, jump on their heads.

WARNING: Some people are having trouble playing this game on a windows 8 computer, sorry if this happens to you.

SMALL PATCH: Some people have recently been getting stuck in levels, this small patch has hopefully fixed this issue by moving both the sprites and respawn points so that this hopefully does not happen.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness77%
#531Humor2.56
#621Audio2.19
#658Fun2.74
#763Theme2.83
#779Mood2.40
#787Overall2.71
#835Graphics2.26
#886Innovation2.05

Comments

camthestar says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:27am

Great idea and challenging to play(in a good way)!

TheRuseman says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:29am

Charming graphics and audio (the sound effect when you dont have all the stars but try to enter the portal was hilarious). Game was kind of easy, but oh well. Best game I've played so far, congrats.

falcon11445 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:31am

@camthestar @TheRuseman thank you, it means a lot!

Sadale says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:38am

I've found a few minor bugs.
If you haven't collect enough stars and go to the portal, the portal sound keeps playing.
In a stage, the text color clashes with the background color. It's black-on-black.

falcon11445 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:43am

@Sadale Yeah oops i forgot to test that part but i didn't have long left and still had a list of things i needed to add however if i have a read of the rules, i may be able to change that. But thanks for your feedback.

jodizzle says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:04am

This game very much reminds me of the old-school 90s games you would play off a CD-Rom. Pretty fun!

There are lots of minor things: it seems like hitboxes could be tweaked (I think I was able to kill enemies by just jumping next to them, not landing on top of them), there are a number of bugs (sand disappearing even when not touched, I got stuck in a wall one time, etc.), and some graphical quirks (e.g., unreadable text), but I think the biggest issue is with the level difficulty. I found the earliest levels to be the hardest, while many of the later levels were pretty linear and easy. I think if you could replicate aspects of the early levels onto the later levels, it would make for a stronger game.

Congrats on submitting!

falcon11445 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:25am

@jodizzle thanks for the feedback I will definitely make the levels more difficult if I continue it for fun.

Indiestry says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 12:18pm

Nice idea regarding the travel-through-history idea, but I encountered numerous graphical glitches on Windows 8. The whole time there was a font-sheet overlay on the display, that shouldnt be there I belive. After the Egypt levels I spawned inside a wall and couldnt continue. But it has a nice retro feel to it, enjoyed the time :).

falcon11445 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 12:21pm

@Indiestry oh, im sorry that happened im not really to sure why that did happen actually :P but again im sorry.

raducumiczzz says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:08pm

Great to play, portal idea is neat. Simple and easy but yet challenging! Would love to see it turned in a more vast game. Keep up the good work!

MegasDragos1 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:12pm

Very cool concept of the game! Challenging as well. This is a great game.

falcon11445 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:15pm

@raducumiczz @MegasDragos1 Thank you both.

imdigitaljim says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:24pm

Great submission! Definitely unforgiving but thats the beauty of it. Also, its got way better 2D art than I could do!

falcon11445 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:27pm

@imdigitaljim thanks but i think the art looks terrible, im definitely not an artist :P and hardly even a programmer!

Rongon says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:54pm

Classic platformer, I expected some additional mechanic, regarding that "you are the monster".
Story progression is kind of weird, but congratulations on amount of levels and content :)

falcon11445 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:06pm

@Rongon there was meant to be my, like your monster would evolve and stuff but i ran out of time :(

Aug 27, 2015 @ 2:23pm

Surprising amount of content given the time limitations. I thought all of the mechanics were pretty cool and new ones were being added before the old ones got boring. The Story was a bit unintentionally hilarious, but in a good way. I thought it was great. Good job!

falcon11445 says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 4:41pm

@SuperPokeunicorn thanks, i didn't really know what the story was until i finished it.

r8berto says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 9:24am

I got stucked in a wall when respawning in the third area. The idea was cool though

falcon11445 says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 9:28am

@r8berto sorry for that

sam1373 says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 4:02pm

I also got stuck, it happened at the begginning of the "I don't want to kill them" level. There are some minor bugs, and also you really shouldn't die immediately upon leaving the screen, otherwise pretty neat.

falcon11445 says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 4:29pm

@sam1373 thank you for your feedback, im going to try stop that glitch/error now

ManuelGF says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 9:46am

Audio is a bit repetitive, but the game overall is good. Level design is amazing, it was really funny to play!

falcon11445 says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 9:53am

@ManuelGF thanks

Sep 3, 2015 @ 2:39pm

Cool game. I included it in part 15 of my Ludum Dare 33 Compilation video series, if you would like to take a look :) https://youtu.be/De5lc4U-4hg

falcon11445 says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 4:34pm

@Jupiter_Hadley thank you

puppetmaster says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 6:18pm

You saved the world! Gameplay is fantastic, tricky levels and cool ending! Nice entry!

randoman says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 2:45am

I like the level design a lot! Had a nice time playing it.

falcon11445 says ...
Sep 8, 2015 @ 4:53pm

@puppetmaster @randoman thank you both

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]