Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

TrippyL

by Lovro Kalinovčić - Compo Entry

This game was made in a language I'm developing to test its usability and to possibly improve it. The development was not as smooth as I hoped it would be.
The game is not fully complete, but is mostly finished.

Wait for the page to fully load. Be patient, the game might need a few seconds to download the assets. BMP and WAV files are huge!
This game also uses fairly modern stuff, and I'm not sure how it works across all browsers and platforms. If it doesn't work for you, I would appreciate it if you opened the developer console and reported any errors. Chrome, Firefox, IE and Edge should be fine.

WASD/arrows to move
L to attack

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness82%
#266Fun3.32
#318Overall3.30
#353Mood3.15
#369Graphics3.27
#517Audio2.60
#617Humor2.35
#722Innovation2.57
#789Theme2.75

Comments

ZzCalvinzZ says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:52pm

Could have used some music, but it was really well done! Had a Hotline Miami feel to it. Very fun to play, and challenging.

@SamPotasz says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:54pm

Really liked the way the instructions were presented, and the lighting was a cool touch! Couldn't get past the final level!

JackDegree says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:54pm

One of the best games I've player yet. Great art, great sounds, very simple gameplay yet nice puzzles. I'd be curious to see that programming language of yours!

pighead10 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:55pm

Fun game. Shooting through those doors was frustrating- I think it would have been better if they opened and closed instantly rather than having to be pushed, as it made killing some enemies nearly impossible. I didn't manage to complete the last level.

tMalicet says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:55pm

A bit hard! The learning curve should be more progressive. Also, I didn't get the connection with the theme.

TiByte says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:56pm

Good game, interesting tutorial. You can shoot through most walls if you're really close and spam "L" which breaks most of the challenge.

micdoodle8 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:58pm

Nice entry :) L for firing is a bit awkward for me though.

Korso says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:59pm

Reminds me Hotline Miami. I think it would be better with double control scheme with keyboard to move and mouse to aim. The "tutorial" was nice, with only the necessary words.

Askbackwards says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:59pm

I pretty much agree with ZzCalvinzZ Really fun game, just needs some music!

nili says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:59pm

Cool! Is there any information about your language? (Aspel?)

lion123 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:00pm

Man, it's Hotline Miami all over again! Loved it. Very nice instructions (no unnesessary talking, just two words basically explaining new mechanics). Pretty enjoyable to play.

Sina says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:02pm

The controls were great, although I wish the character could stay diagonal after moving diagonally. also the system that one shot will kill after a certain time, and spamming does not help is not obvious and could use some introduction.

Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:02pm

Yeah, I'm aware of that physics bug... I don't know if I should fix it now or not. Some levels might get a lot tougher if I do.

euske says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:04pm

I liked the way of storytelling. Nicely done.

Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:06pm

@nili There isn't much information about my language, because it is still far from completed. I would much rather release a stable version than frequently release bugfixes.

Crypto137 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:51pm

This game plays like a not so great copy of Hotline Miami. Aiming controls are extremely clunky, but the gameplay overall is very easy. The text was presented in an interesting and unique way. I found the lighting to be a little crazy, but in the end the graphics were decent.

Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:14pm

@Crypto137 The game wasn't actually based on Hotline Miami, but now that everybody mentions it, I agree.

Legulysse says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:35pm

Ow that last level... hard :D ! Funny text instructions !

Gaspard_ says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:37pm

Great tutorial!
that last level was hard...

rudra says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:42pm

This one was pretty fun and well made, though the only thing which I would ask is to make the character move diagonally. It killed me a few times there. But very well made overall :)

NidzaKornjaca says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:59pm

Needs some music, the instructions were cool.

Qaterknan says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 1:44pm

The instructions were really fresh! Well done!

Obvious_San says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 1:46pm

Controls are a bit weird. Space would have been better for shoot, I believe, but the game is well made and trippin :) Good job!

Aug 31, 2015 @ 8:41pm

@Obvious_San The controls are weird because I'm not a web developer and have no idea how to control browser behavior. Space was causing some browsers to scroll the page down.

CrefossusJam says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 9:16am

Excellent job with the chat/alien language. It hooks into the theme, is humorous, and is a tutorial/guide without being annoying. It also gives the game some personality.

I like the gameplay pacing and overall difficulty (you hooked me in and I had to figure out how to approach that last level). Also a great job with different enemy types.

cynicalmonkey says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 1:54pm

was it intended for the doors to be able to be used as cover or just a happy side effect

Coac says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 2:05pm

Good job !

Xanjos says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 2:06pm

Wish there was a way for players to stay in a diagonal position but I like the Hotline Miami style gameplay as well as the lighting effects. Also, I'm pretty interested in that custom language you used to code the game in :)

Sep 5, 2015 @ 6:24pm

Nice pixel art! once we made a game similar - i like that top view style. Good gameplay too, and instructions are creative. Congrats!

DarkwindMedia says ...
Sep 6, 2015 @ 12:59pm

That assassin messed me up!

Well done :)

Teesquared says ...
Sep 6, 2015 @ 7:00pm

Nice variety of enemies. Last level was challenging but I made it through (took advantage of some aiming/collision quirks). Trippy lights and spitting was fun and deadly.

jimmypaulin says ...
Sep 6, 2015 @ 7:38pm

Enjoyed this! Really smooth gameplay and easy learning curve. LOVED the alien speak scene setting, that was a really nice touch. The lighting really helped though I'd have liked to know where the game was set (spaceship? on earth somewhere?) Nice work

Anti says ...
Sep 6, 2015 @ 7:50pm

Very good entry. Simple, challenging, fun and great art!

bombjack says ...
Sep 8, 2015 @ 10:41am

this game is tto hard for me :)

Sep 14, 2015 @ 11:29pm

made me think of hotline miami, but didnt get the doors to kill people in this game:P, well done!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]