Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Virion Alpha

by Bloodyaugust - Jam Entry

**DOWNLOAD THE DESKTOP VERSION FOR MUCH BETTER FPS AND SOUND!**

In Virion Alpha, *YOU* are the "Monsters Inside Me". Play as a virus that is trying to overwhelm the body's immune response through sheer numbers, tactics, and a little luck.

I hope you enjoy our little game!

OS/X build is untested, so if you try it on this platform, please comment as to its status! :D

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#139Innovation(Jam)3.60
#363Fun(Jam)3.27
#388Overall(Jam)3.37
#544Theme(Jam)3.43
#609Audio(Jam)2.50
#692Graphics(Jam)3.03
#894Humor(Jam)1.96
#1226Coolness49%

Comments

Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:21am

This game has a very interesting mechanics. Could yield several phases with different challenges only with these mechanical.

grywhttl says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:50am

Clever gameplay!

hinerz says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:15am

I like the take on the theme! I agree with Nibble Bits that i think there could be more expansions done on the same theme (more mechanics -- one click per little virus bits coming out - so far one click --> all the virus bits)

good job!

Kep says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:25am

Oh man, a very fleshed-out concept and some good, tactical gameplay, to boot. Would love to see this fully developed!

LandoSystems says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:31am

Fun game, sort of reminded me of Eufloria. A little bit slow early on, but good gameplay and art. Great work!

LandoSystems says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:31am

Some music would be great. I would like to see more levels!

vividhelix says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:40am

interesting, reminds me of a game but I forget its name. nice gameplay!

Shackhal says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:39am

I like the mechanics and it's easy to control. The gameplay is there, but it still required polish. Also, it's impossible to lose. Check that part and the game will get potentially challenging.

Overall, the game passes.

Shaw says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:47am

Excellent new take on the Galcon formula, something I haven't seen in a long time. Solid gameplay, and graphics. Well done.

Jelinib says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:52am

I think it'd be cool to be able to redirect leftover virions to a new target if their current target gets infected before they reach it, as opposed to them just wiggling around aimlessly. But then again, maybe it's part of the game to watch how many virions you actually need to send over... :P

There's something great about seeing lots of little things taking down bigger and bigger things. Turning the final boss's friends against him and mass firing everything at once, he didn't stand a chance! Hehe. Well done!

Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:07am

This game was intense! well done !!!! really innovative. 5 Stars for that

mantis says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:55am

This game reminded me of GalCon, really nice. Also, Works on OS X!

Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:57pm

Very clever and fun concept. Much enjoyed infecting those "blobs". Very good little game :)

Unept says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:14pm

Great job on this. I love these cell-like games! Love the feel of the pixel graphics as well.

djfariel says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 6:48am

First thought is that I was disappointed it didn't continue. I wanted to play more.

Pros:
Graphics were nice.
I liked that the size of the cell correlated to its output speed and health.
What audio was there, I felt was a good fit.
I really liked how this is a very simple game, but still left me wanting more.

Cons:
The first one that comes to mind is going forward, the ability to zoom in and out would be an absolute necessity. Obviously with what is currently playable, it's not that big a deal, but I assume later levels would be much larger.
Again, this is a non-issue in it's current state, but I feel background music would be a good way to ease frustrations with future levels.
I feel like you guys kinda dropped the ball on the theme though. If you're going for the "monster inside" thing, I feel as though more could have been done to reinforce that. I realize 72 hours isn't a lot of time, but while playing this, the "You are the monster" theme was not present.

Overall, I would love to play this if it's ever finished, really, there isn't a lot to complain about. It's a simple game, and you did well.

Bloodyaugust says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 7:19am

@djfariel Actually, you can zoom. :) Thanks for all the feedback! I agree that the theme integration was fairly weak, but hey. :D Thanks for playing, all of you! We love the feedback!

bloomingbuds says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 10:34am

Really nice! I enjoyed it. If it had some more levels I would have played them for sure. Could be interesting to add some extra puzzle mechanichs.

Inateno says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 10:42am

This remind me Eufloria HD :)

Techblogogy says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 12:33pm

Nice little game, good job guys!

TicZo says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 2:52pm

Impossible to lose but the game is fun! would be great whit some challenges

Geckoo1337 says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 4:16am

This game has a very interesting mechanics. Maybe you could integrate a time control. A nice entry. Thank you ++

Sypanite says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 9:34am

I had this exact idea for another theme - great minds!

It could have done with some sort of timer imo, it was too easy to beat. More levels would have been great!

wg_phancock says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 8:13am

The levels really need some sort of timer or minimum moves or something. As it is, you just sort of click on stuff and wait, and can't lose. The art and idea were interesting, so it's a good start, but it definitely needs something "more."

jcwelgemoed says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 8:00pm

This game has so many possibilities and strategic ideas you could throw at it. Very nice entry

Sep 7, 2015 @ 7:13pm

Nice mechanics. Hope to see that it become a full game.

Sparrow says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 12:23pm

Awesome game! Had great fun, would love to see more of this. :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]