Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Soup

by JoshDBB - Jam Entry

I'm not completely sure that I would call this a game; it is more something relaxing that you can space out on. There is no way to win or lose. Hopefully you will find it quite fun to mess around with.

I wasn't able to work on the first day so this was made in 48 hours even though it is a jam entry.

I realise that this doesn't fit the theme particularly well. I had originally intended to make a game about a blob monster that consumed things to grow bigger. My blob didn't really have a monstrous feel but I liked how it looked so I decided to go in a slightly different direction with the game.


Controls:

WASD/Arrows - to move
Left Click - to launch blobs (you must pick some up first)
1/2/3/4 - to change graphics mode


Many thanks to finefin for supplying the awesome music (http://ludumdare.com/compo/author/finefin/).


-EDIT-
I had purposefully not explained the mechanics of the game as I had hoped that figuring them out would be a part of the fun. I have had several comments from people who haven't managed to figure it out so I will explain the basic mechanics. It was my fault in not making things more obvious, I should have used better visuals/sound to let the player know what is going on.

1) Pink blobs and white blobs cancel each other out.
2) Touching a white blob will cause it to join you.
3) Clicking will launch a white blob that you have with you and turn it red.
4) One red blob will cancel out two pink blobs.

-EDIT-
Added the 4th graphics mode post jam. I intended to add this during the jam but ran out of time.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness75%
#55Innovation(Jam)3.90
#197Graphics(Jam)4.06
#243Fun(Jam)3.46
#284Overall(Jam)3.51
#320Mood(Jam)3.39
#866Humor(Jam)2.07
#979Theme(Jam)2.63

Comments

SeaMonster131 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:56am

Really cool gameplay! I don't know how you did this bubbles. :)

djfariel says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:58am

An interesting take on the theme. I enjoyed how this very simple set of rules becomes a fight for survival with no added complexity. Great job!

CaptainKraft says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:28am

Really neat concept. 5 outa 5 for innovation. I enjoyed playing around with it.

Pusty says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:32am

Nice one! Neat physics you have there! :D

magenta says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:42am

Sleek, simple and very cool. Had a lot of fun just avoiding the other blobs :}

MarekkPie says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:43am

WHOOPS (accidentally rated a different game when thinking of this one. Sorry other duder!)

Real Agar.io feel. Kind of unsatisfying since you can't really lose.

graebor says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:13am

Music fits well, cool vibe. I'd be interested in seeing a post on how you achieved this look in Unity, it's really slick!

BoskoSokolov says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:19am

nice innovation nice game but feels like missing something like score or anything good job :D

Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:24am

Really cool physics going on and is good to mess about with for a bit, but didn't really fit the theme.

Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:37am

Wow, this game is really cool! How you did this bubbles in Unity?

Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:42am

Very cool! I like how you made a game without any tropes like health or score or HUD.
Very simple. It feels natural.

Josh H says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:56am

I enjoy games like this. This was very well put together. Good job!

Bloodyaugust says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:01am

This was a great demo of some serious shader-writing capabilities! I'm not sure I'd consider it a game so much as a... relaxing interactive wallpaper, but whatever it was, I really enjoyed it. I'd love to get a look at the shader code... Y U NO SOURCE?!

Lucho9 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:19am

i love this one, i recomend to my friends

Literal Games says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:21am

Nice controls, and really enjoy the different graphics modes

conradte3 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:34am

Cool concept, the graphics were intriguing which made it fun to float around but it was lacking in challenge for me and got old a bit too quick. Not really an issue in concept though I think, just needs some difficulty balancing imo. Nice game :)

grywhttl says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:46am

Smart!

Bloodyaugust says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:56am

We loved your game and featured it in our top five favorites here: http://blog.synsugarstudio.com/my-top-5-favorite-games-of-ld33-so-far/

Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:18am

Sexy graphics and satisfying to move around and absorb. Great job. This is a great toy and a solid base to build a game on. I would pursue it for a few days and see where it leads.

mantis says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:30am

Nice graphics. Also, mode 1 is best mode! ;)

Simonaiso says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:02pm

Great visuals and fun to play. Those liquid mechanics are amazing and using the game border like that is really cool.

TheMiggo says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:03pm

Simplistic but beautiful

Jimjam says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:21pm

Metaballs are awesome! You could've probably thrown in a timed score or something like that to give it a bit more gameplay goodness, but it's fun to play with in any case.

nicotuason says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:22pm

Mezmerizing... That is a really neat effect and I had a lot of fun just moving around!

Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:28pm

This is what my brain feels like after Ludum Dare 33 - awesome job - loved the minimalism all round.

AtomicVikings says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:33pm

WOOOOOOOOOOOW! :-)

Rocketship says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:33pm

Very fun, very innovative. Nice to play around with even if there is no real target.

MoreRPG Team says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:36pm

Good game =)

Azure_Kyte says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:40pm

This is really cool. I must agree with graebor, you've done some excellent work here :D

Dell says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:43pm

Great atmosphere and very stylish!

freaknarf says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:44pm

Great experimental game ! I wish there was a score or some win/loss condition... Anyway this is really good looking and original ! Visual effects are amazing, and gameplay is very simple and pleasant !

Rongon says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:44pm

Great liquid simulation, nice to have different graphics modes.
If only there was score, to somehow make the counting easier. Or timer. Or something to give me a clearer goal.

Grhyll says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:46pm

Sweet!
I would have loved some goals or levels, but just as it is it already took some minutes of my life floating around and getting BIG!

WizzardMaker says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:02pm

Really good looking game, so minimalistic this game, reminds me on agar.io, nice Idea

Legulysse says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:04pm

Really cool visual developpement

Meat Us says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:48pm

Wow, very impressive, I love it !

Darius says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:51pm

I can't stop playing ! I love the 3 graphics modes. This game is really cool !

Clurect says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:54pm

NIce, the fluidness is really entertaining. I had to force myself to stop because I wanted to take over the whole screen! :D

Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:56pm

Love it! I am SO intrigued as to how you achieved this. Well done mate

NidzaKornjaca says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:03pm

Thoroughly enjoyable. I gotta find out how you did the bubble thing.

Kai20 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:41pm

Really relaxing i enjoyed it really much. BUBBLES are cool

amy742 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:14pm

very cool! I had a lot of fun with this one! very unique!

KodingNights says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:26pm

Coolness through the roof!

recursor says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:26pm

Not sure that it fits the theme very well but man it is a really cool little sandbox thing that is really fun to play with.

Tuism says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:27pm

Really rad! I want Agar.io to look like this! :)

There's not much of a game there, I actually hadn't realised that the purple blobs made you smaller, eventually you just get to a size that makes dodging impossible, then... what's the point after that? :)

Definitely find more game with this thing, it looks and moves amazingly :)

A_K_ says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:44pm

Nice shader work. GJ

WubAlliance says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:52pm

This is an incredible game. Overall, everything feels very polished. The movement and physics feel very coordinated. The difficulty curve gave me just enough time to understand that some blobs hurt you. Solid entry!

Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:52pm

Really like the visuals, whatever physics and shaders you used are really effective. You could make a killer biology game out of this...it looks like cell membranes!

wg_phancock says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:59pm

Wow, that was actually a lot of fun to play with - you can sort of make up your own objectives, like how much to avoid the purple bubbles or how big to try to grow, etc.

Kind of reminds me of a single player scaled-down version of agar.io

kles4enko says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:35pm

everything cool!

mitkus says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:47pm

Cool idea. Not much of game though...

conormn says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:52pm

Very very cool. I had a lot of fun with this :)

cjacobwade says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 1:36am

Enjoyed playing with the metaballs, but wish there was any kind of goal or conflict.

plusultra says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 1:51am

Very chill-- I like it a lot!

Solifuge says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 2:06am

What a cool way to use 2D fluid simulation! The music and minimalist graphics were solid, like a highly chill Spore Cell Stage. It wasn't really challenging per se, but it was fun. I'd love to see an Agar.IO clone with mechanics like these too.

Aug 26, 2015 @ 2:20am

I'm not sure what that was but I enjoyed blobbing around the place, very cool stuff.

Rulrite says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 2:25am

Obviously not challenging, but very satisfying to just sit and play for a little while. It was fun to try and avoid the purple bubbles as much as I could! Great job with the feel of this one.

theshadowteam says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:01am

nice bubbles! maybe can develop more in the future, great job sir

dydx says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:01am

Awesome style and the controls felt awesome. Had a lot of fun.

el-pepi says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:04am

The graphics and gameplay are really cool. I just wish there was a win/lose condition.

mrcdk says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:51am

Really fun and nice game, the graphics are simple but the end result is really good!

reckhou says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 4:02am

My whole life flashed before my eyes while playing this game.

Andrew says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 4:09am

This was insanely pretty to look at.

cdunham says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 4:35am

Great game with great art and style :)

Aug 26, 2015 @ 5:08am

Really cool little toy that looks really nice and might make a good game if expanded upon :)

Geckoo1337 says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 5:17am

I am an enzyme :)
Neat aesthetic and cool physics. Minimalist environment adds a funny mood. A really good idea for this entry. Thank you for this contribution ++

vividhelix says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 6:47am

Great graphics and mood. I'd love to see the source shaders for this one!

Kerdelos says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 8:26am

I like it ! It just took me a bit of time to understand that violet bubles were hurting me.

guoboism says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 8:44am

High technology there! Really innovative!

Awpteamoose says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 9:21am

2d metaballs?

SaintHeiser says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 11:00am

Looking awesome and nothing more =(

shimage says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 11:01am

Very good feeling and addictive! It reminded me of ramen noodles.

Aug 26, 2015 @ 4:27pm

Quite an interesting entry. Well done. :)

qkerguelen says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 5:18pm

Very nice one! Controls are good, graphics beautifully minimalistic! Good one! :)

pirate_shell says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 6:08pm

This was the most oddly satisfying game I have played this LD. The graphics were sleek and the audio was good. Not sure if it fit the theme as it was stretching the term monster quite a lot. The gameplay was fun and simple, though so I don't mind. Overall, a really solid entry!

smotko says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 6:35pm

Amazing graphics, I love it! I wasn't able to figure out if there is a win/loose condition, but even without a reason for doing anything in the game it was still a lot of fun. Good job!

Alexbrainbox says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 10:20pm

A nice little time-wasting game, and I like the different graphic modes!

Granat says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 8:21am

Very nice visuals! For some reason I was not able to grow as big as I wanted. My tiny blob melted together with the other blobs but never really had any affect on their movement. Maybe just an issue with the web player?

pereubu says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 11:55am

I spent a lot of time watching the wobbly things

Slapunas says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 11:58am

how come windows version weighs 2.5 times linux or mac? it's a fun concept, obviously lacking gameplay, how did you do the bubbles?

Slapunas says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 12:00pm

how come windows version weighs 2.5 times linux or mac? it's a fun concept, obviously lacking gameplay, how did you do the bubbles? reminds me of agar.io

CrownCity says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 12:11pm

I just got called by my girlfriend(who talks A LOT) during this game and I found out that this was the ultimate thing to do while listening to her. Thanks for that!

Nanolotl says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 12:36pm

Very cool jelly effects. Wibblewobble

OFF says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 1:51pm

Nice game but lack of a game over to create more tension like osmos, or agar.
I would personnaly also prefer a control with the mouse to let me have à more organic feeling.
It lack only few element to make this more a game(score, game over) and less an interactive experiment.
But still one of the more interesting entry i saw.

Dizzyman572 says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 1:58pm

THIS GAME IS AWESOME!!! The graphics are amazing! How the heck did you make them so jiggly!?! It so much fun just ramming into other cells and getting bigger or smaller! This is a superb game and I'm adding it to my list favorite games in this LD. What's this? A downloadable exe? Don't mind if do.

NamNam says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 3:33pm

Very nice. The visual effects are amazing

Aug 27, 2015 @ 8:08pm

Amazing visual style, really well pulled off too. Very hypnotic game overall and I could have sat here for hours (if it wasn't for the crying baby behind me).

Matt Hartley says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 8:55pm

Really fun and great graphics!

Qaterknan says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 10:50pm

Great toy with beautiful graphics. It's a shame it doesn't have any objectives but maybe they would do more harm than good in this case :-)

superfreak says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 12:07am

Really interesting movement - had a great deal of fun experimenting with how I could move around and grow. Overall great entry.

dunin says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 3:53pm

what a strange game...
good mood
but not so relaxing when you try to become the bigger blob...

Aug 28, 2015 @ 6:31pm

just perfect! Really great job!

K.Chplr says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 9:07pm

This is agar.io done right ;)

Aug 29, 2015 @ 6:57am

That was very innovative and mesmerizing!

voidstar33 says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 10:56am

This is brilliant. The best concept so far.

Aug 29, 2015 @ 1:03pm

Nice effects!

los.pixelados says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 2:17pm

I really liked this, although I'm not sure how it's related to the theme.

Loredana,
los.pixelados team

Aug 31, 2015 @ 3:42pm

One of my favorite games by so far.

CodeNMore says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 3:48pm

The graphical effects are amazing, well done and well balanced!

Larzan says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 4:13pm

Beautiful, how in the world did you program that, well done!

Drunkteam says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 4:16pm

Great atmosphere!!!

hunttis says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 4:56pm

Almost reminds of some demoscene stuff with the graphical style you have chosen. Nice selection of music as well.

The controls are quite good when you get the hang of it and the blob looks very blobbular. I like the idea and the game almost realizes it completely, the lack of a loss condition brings it down a bit, but otherwise a very solid entry!

Linus123xbb says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 6:18pm

Very innovative game and indeed quite relaxing. I'd love to have this as an interactive wallpaper on my desktop!

Bravekat says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 6:24pm

Really Love the game and even made vid of it on yt with bubble song: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NKVWG-E85Cw&feature=youtu.be I hope you enjoyed creating it becease i enjoyed playing it :D

Waterman7 says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 6:38pm

Great visuals, I'd love to see how you did those...

AdayMC says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 7:17pm

BRUTAL experience. Real amazed with that final product, did Unity really was able to do that!?!?!

I don't rate you with more stars because there aren't :P

Really good work!

KeyboardCat says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 7:39pm

Looks great but... I don't really understand :)

Aug 31, 2015 @ 11:02pm

Neat game! I included it in part 14 of my Ludum Dare 33 Compilation video series, if you would like to take a look :) https://youtu.be/CvW_HEqR1oI

zatyka says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 1:02am

Very pretty and sounds nice, but without much variety, the gameplay quickly runs its course. I didn't really feel the theme in this game. I still enjoyed playing it.

Sep 3, 2015 @ 2:07am

Amazing implementation of the blob dynamics. I played for quite a while and wasn't sure if there was an end or objective. Seems like no matter what I did, the 'bad' blobs remained present. Is there a 'win' situation? Great job.

uheartbeast says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 2:16am

Nice mood and graphics. The gameplay wasn't really my thing but I think that is just personal preference.

foodzilla says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 2:35am

:)

Gaius Baltar says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 2:59am

There isn't a score and you can't die so it seems kind of like a tech demo.

jackrugile says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 4:16am

I love that blob effect. I could see this type of mechanic making a super fun game if you were to expand on it and develop some more. Nice work!

BUNN1E5 says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 5:12am

Really cool! Although i can't really see the theme.

ruerob says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 7:24am

Nice work. I like how the bubble thing works. Graphic mode 3 is my favourite! Looks awesome! A possibility to win or lose or points would be great. I really like your entry!

Chris M says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 8:45am

Absolutely beautiful, would love to see the source.

Modoc73 says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 10:03am

Real neat bubble effect. Although, I have no idea how it relates to the theme...?

dregamr says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 4:37pm

I'll love you forever if you say me how you did the bubbles.

Omiya Games says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 11:15pm

I feel like the game might be better if it was more like a relaxing simulation, kind of like those moving lamps. In that sense, the music was rather jarring, as was the repetitive sound effects. The super-tight controls was also a bit annoying and unexpected for this game.

Goutye says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 2:01am

Bubbles bubbles <3 Nice take on the theme! Enjoyed it a lot!

Super Hamster says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 3:04am

Very impressive stuff, I'm trying to understand how you did it but I have no idea where even to start. :D Great job!

valid4life says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 4:31am

The bubbles were fantastic! Id love to know how it was done!

peterthehe says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 9:55am

Really really cool. Like next-gen agar.io :P

Almax27 says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 12:19pm

Simply beautiful, beautifully simple :D

puppetmaster says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 9:29pm

Cool and unique gameplay, animation and graphics style is also very good!

shawn42 says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 10:06pm

I'm very impressed with what you created here. Lots of fun and innovation, not much on the theme. great entry!

Sep 5, 2015 @ 1:12pm

Interesting mechanic, I had fun playing around with it. :)

nihilaleph says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 8:21pm

Tried the both jam and post-jam version, the following error occurs: Array index is out of range
And for some reason there is no music... Running on windows 10 firefox

Anyways, great concept! I really like the feel of the graphics, really relaxing~

nihilaleph says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 8:33pm

Oh never mind about the music, windows 10 was being weird, restarted the computer and now the music is playing.

oakus says ...
Sep 6, 2015 @ 8:11am

I really like the concept and simple visual. In one point my monster grew nicely and from this point it was not necessary to play any more, because the enemies was really small. So I think there should be bigger challenge, because I couldn’t lose :).

bombjack says ...
Sep 8, 2015 @ 10:19am

amazing technical job! the game is repetitive but fun. good job.

wooltech says ...
Sep 9, 2015 @ 12:11pm

Love the look and the feel of the game. Not sure if there's a win condition as I never got really large, but it was fun to play with.

deepnight says ...
Sep 11, 2015 @ 9:31pm

Very original gameplay :)
The game lacks a feedback that gives a real sense of progression: when you are a large blob, it doesn't feel like you're achieving something. And you usually quickly hit purple blobs that shrink you back. Maybe some kind of exponential scoring that rewards these moments you manage to keep a large form?

LukeZaz says ...
Sep 12, 2015 @ 3:29am

Fun to look at. Ended up playing quite longer than I intended.

bloomingbuds says ...
Sep 12, 2015 @ 11:50am

Nice concept and fluid gameplay!

thatwhichis says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 10:32pm

chill experience :-D

crucknuk says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 7:32pm

Well done on your game! i loved the graphic style and it plays like heaven!
congrats! :)

Zccc says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 11:25pm

This is really nice to play around with. I was expecting the source though, this seems hard to do!

yuigoto says ...
Sep 15, 2015 @ 12:27am

This is really cool! The blob graphics are really nice!

Even though it doesn't fit much into the theme, it's a nice abstract game. I didn't read much of the description, so it was quite some fun to discover how the game worked and all.

It gave me that "eureka!" moment only games like this can give the player. Good work! ;)

dos says ...
Sep 15, 2015 @ 12:31am

Very simple effect, yet pretty impressive!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]