Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Monster Corp.

by elmoGames - Jam Entry

In Monster Corp you are about to be the living nightmare of any sleeping child.
But watch out for grown-ups and parents since you'll vanish when they see you.
Avoid the elders and reach the bed of the child!

Controls:
Move your character with "W,A,S,D" or the arrow Keys.
Move your field of view by using the mouse.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness53%
#477Theme(Jam)3.52
#564Overall(Jam)3.17
#630Graphics(Jam)3.17
#643Fun(Jam)2.90
#715Humor(Jam)2.42
#753Innovation(Jam)2.72
#889Mood(Jam)2.59

Comments

jsmars says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:53pm

Cool idea and fun sneaking levels :) Would have been great with some sound

charliecarlo says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:56pm

What is love? (baby,don't hurt me... but seriously what is it?) A neat idea. Felt really weird tearing the blanket from a child. I wish I had a dozen guards protecting me while I slept, that'd be pretty cool.

someone says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:03pm

Nice lighting effects, however it often felt like I was being seen when I was sure I was safe, and more often not being seen when I clearly should be, e.g. on top of a person.
I would have preferred it if the patrols were slower and more erratic for more strategic route planning rather than mad dashing.

VampyVampire says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:24pm

Only complaint is that it gets too hard too quickly.

Ovidios says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:25pm

@charliecarlo: Löve (aka. love2d) is the engine he used! http://www.love2d.org/! It's *awesome* and uses Lua as it's scripting language!

vividhelix says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:22pm

Nice lighting and cool levels. Well done!

Friday says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:37pm

Great game! Reminds me of Monsters Inc. It was fun planning and running the perfect route. Sound would have been nice as well as a few more levels, but the game makes up for it in those moments when everything works perfectly. Good job buddy :D

Kai20 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:02am

I love this Game like i said earlier the stealth dark souls.

TooMuchPete says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:14am

This game is HARD. It took me a while to figure out what to do in the second room, but other than that, fun game!

tGiant says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 7:34pm

Well done. This one will be great if there is sound added.
Cool cool.

Cloudeyes says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 7:46pm

very nice game, i liked the monster :P

Aug 27, 2015 @ 3:05am

Nice stealth puzzle. Sound would really anchor the mood.

Aug 31, 2015 @ 5:15pm

I like the idea but I am not a good enough player to beat this.

Insality says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 5:16pm

wow, scaring the childs was a most suprised and funniest part for me
nice game!

KayZ says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 9:41pm

Very nice game. But how's the poor child supposed to sleep with such a funky party going on downstairs?! (some kind of party sound in that level would have been great)

reiknight says ...
Sep 7, 2015 @ 7:33pm

Nice game, I miss the audio

HotBoxGames says ...
Sep 9, 2015 @ 11:13pm

Nice, crazy difficult in a good way,could have used some audio though.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]