Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Treatment and Control

by Two Scoop Games - Jam Entry

Congratulations on your new job, citizen! You must report for duty on Monday to office #74 to distribute vital medication to our workforce.

Music/sound by Chris Kincaid @Kincaid_Music
Programming by Eric Lathrop @EricLathrop
Art/Animation by Alex Bezuska @AlexBezuska

Built in HTML5 with Overworld http://overworld.io/ and SplatJS http://splatjs.github.io/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#13Mood(Jam)4.45
#41Audio(Jam)4.07
#192Graphics(Jam)4.07
#214Innovation(Jam)3.43
#250Overall(Jam)3.55
#273Theme(Jam)3.76
#1011Fun(Jam)2.32
#1668Coolness39%

Comments

Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:07am

This game has a great mood, the visuals and audio make this game. Love the room for interpretation and the "soothing stress" of the game. Well done.

dcolgan says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:19pm

Really nice atmosphere and great pixel art!

RovingSquid says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:30pm

Seems like a fun game but I didn't know what to do.

Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:33am

This is really creepy and innovative. The audio is perfect. Once I figured out that I have to follow the list in order and visit the table to get the next medication everything made sense. Maybe if you showed what your current task is... but I like the feeling of disorientation in the routine. It fits.

Huo-cuo says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 4:39am

Really moody game. I was expecting some kind of phenomenal ending. Like the whole class dead. Also the player could be penalized, if he didn't follow the order of giving pills. Thx for the game.

vegapomme27 says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 4:44am

Interesting and pretty abstract. Maybe the thing missing is just a clear feedback to show that you gave the pill and that you need to go get another one, since it is not very easy to understand at first.
However, it is really nice. Cool creepy mood.

reckhou says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 5:14am

I like the style & mood of this game, however it's too short, gameplay is also boring. Anyway it's a great idea, if it has more dialog & decisions for players it will be much better!

team_ftlol says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 5:42am

Great sound design on this one. The sparse music reverberating behind the footsteps and unnerving "wah wah" speech is really somber. Lovely pixel art, as always. Good detail, adding some environmental items with descriptions.

I couldn't figure out what to do on my own; I ended up getting a hint from @vegapomme27's comment. I definitely agree it would help to have a visual indicator when you're carrying a pill.

I liked the delivery of story through talking to different characters. More of that! Were names and seating positions inconsistent? It'd be cool to have the same people in the same spots for the duration of the playthrough. I wanted a little more from the ending, too.

Typo: "People are dissapearing" -> "People are disappearing"

-mildmojo

dickpoelen says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 6:47pm

Got to give the pills to the people... Great atmospere

Aug 27, 2015 @ 6:57pm

I could feel a real sense of taking a stab at the "Papers, Please" kind of banality of evil. From a narrative sense, I would've loved to have a conclusion (but I understand this is a 48 hour game so that's a no go). Additionally, I feel like the mechanic was a bit too removed from the humanity of the interactions, so the monstrousness didn't quite come out in a complete way.

Tone wise, color wise, everything in that regard was spot on and it added an extra level of creepiness that some of the "classmembers" were members of GameDevLou.

Zampi says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 7:00pm

I'm realy like concept, but it's so sad and SAI MUST LIVE!

TheZiggy says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 7:35pm

Great mood, very atmospheric! I wish there was a little bit more to do as far as the story goes, but good job.

Split82 says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 8:03pm

Nice graphics and mood. I somehow liked just walking around and listening to footsteps sound.

Tommyno222 says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 8:14pm

The game has amazing atmosphere, I love how the environment tell its story through the guards by the doors, posters on the walls and monologues of the characters. Sounds and graphics are also great. Very good job!

Aug 28, 2015 @ 10:05pm

The sound and environment gave this game an amazing atmosphere.

Sep 5, 2015 @ 4:57pm

Super interesting game, love the mood. I included it in part 17 of my Ludum Dare 33 Compilation video series, if you would like to take a look :) https://youtu.be/qmrKCmuKBqk

Nov 14, 2015 @ 4:56pm

I included your game in an article of my favorites and added a trophy to your profile! http://fireside.gamejolt.com/post/jam-favorites-ludum-dare-33-part-1-uzbzpjci

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]