Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Terabyte

by Knighty - Compo Entry

Shoot your way through a space station filled with dangerous and colourful square robots.
(It's definitely not just placeholder art or anything).

The game is mostly about balancing your energy supply.
Shooting and healing spends energy, but you can absorb enemy bullets to resupply.


~<Controls>~
Arrow keys: Move
X: Shoot
C: Absorb
Shift: Strafe
Ctrl: Self-Repair
Esc or Q: Pause

Recommended to use a controller. You'll have to use a program such as Joy2Key or Xpadder.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#308Graphics3.38
#391Mood3.10
#397Fun3.12
#453Audio2.75
#502Overall3.09
#520Innovation2.91
#626Humor2.33
#943Theme1.71
#2273Coolness10%

Comments

Suese says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:39am

Wow that character sprite sure is detailed. It's too bad you didn't get around to animating it. Maybe 16 directions was a little ambitious!

afisicos says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:55pm

Nice game, but you are the monster ?

Mase says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 5:41am

The graphics that are finished look nice and clean. So many placeholders though.

Dianouille says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 4:09pm

Love the concept, well done ! Too bad you didn't have time to design the ennemies x)

LeafThief says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 11:30am

Yeah it could've been really cool but there's quite a few placeholders in there. Gameplaywise I wanted to say that I felt I could position myself in a way that the enemies wouldn't hit me but I could still hit them.

I think this has potential.

GFM says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 2:22am

Man... this sure has potential. It's a pity you didn't get to finish it/polish it...

I always dig your sprites and, specially, your palettes! =D

David Yates says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 4:59am

Graphics are nice, too bad about the monster sprites.

The gameplay is intriguing, but I think it would have been more exciting if you'd made it so there was a penalty for absorbing enemy bullets after your energy was full.

Nice work overall.

ohsqueezy says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 6:58am

Epic and rad game

LastLeaf says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 7:44am

Interesting abilities and enemies. Good job for what you have finished.

Sep 3, 2015 @ 8:00am

Good start. I like the concept and the character art is great from all angles!

pirate_shell says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 8:22am

This in my opinion is a perfect example of a great game that was unfortunately plagued by the time limit. The graphics which were finished were fantastic and I especially love the palette on the main character. The mechanis had thought put into them and I liked the concepts. My main criticism is the fact it was not really finished and it showed. Placeholder enemies and such. I won't really be harsh on unfinished work, however. My only issue with the finished parts was the control scheme. For a PC I feel a mouse controled top down shooter 9 times out of 10 works better. That's my only gripe. Other than that, this has a lot of potential if it is completed!

euske says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 9:40am

I like the idea of absorbing bullets! Well done.

OldPeculier says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 9:48am

This is a great start. Already very fun. Just needs more time. I really like the way you can turn enemy bullets into a good thing by absorbing them.

darklightteam says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 12:49pm

The concept is cool, but the game is clearly unfinished and a little bit hard (maybe that's a design decision though). I'd love to see more!

HotBoxGames says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 12:54pm

Good effort! I like the perspective you've used and the character is well designed.
Nice!

Resonious says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 1:49pm

Even if you didn't manage animations, I totally dig the 8-directional sprite. Overall kinda rough around the edges but gameplay felt fairly solid and was pretty enjoyable!

DrZanuff says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 2:45pm

Cool game play. I was able to finish the game. When you have the time polish the Square Robots that it's definitely not just placeholder art or anything ;)

Eldan_Knight says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 3:23pm

I liked the idea and how you manage energy. But it has some problems too. Sometimes the player don't shoot projectiles in a straight line and it's difficult to aim for the enemies. Some enemies' fire power is better than yours and don't let you eliminate them. If you lose all your energy, you are lost because your only change is going to the charge chamber but this resets the enemies in the other rooms too. I also don't see how the player is a monster!

With some polishment and more graphics and animations I think this could be a really cool game. Keep it up!

walsh9 says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 7:07pm

Cool concept! At first it seemed like it was too easy to just hide behind your charge shield whenever you needed to refill your bars, but when the small cyan enemies showed up they were a good threat that gave me a reason to not just hold the shield button down.

I think I would have liked to see the bullets inherit a bit of the character's momentum, because firing when moving forward made my shots feel extra slow.

I hope you keep working on this. I think it will look great when you have more time to finish all the graphics.

Sparrow says ...
Sep 10, 2015 @ 4:35pm

Awesome entry, wish you could've finished it. Maybe next time do a jam entry for the extra day?

Demy says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 3:56pm

Nice graphics of the main character and the game style in general.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]