Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Monster Truck Story

by godjammit - Jam Entry

Control a toy monster truck through a city of destructible children's toys. Be the cause for your sister's nightmare. There's a twist, no spoilers : )

We're a team of 7, we made two games to justify the size, here's the other! http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-33/?action=preview&uid=56347

Nick Adams - Rigging / Modeling
Valerie Eaton - Animations
Amanda Fisher - Programming
Eric Grossman - 2D Art & Environment
Jeff Harper - Level Design & Programming
Tyler Tomaseski - Programming & Audio
Steve Zapata - 3D & Tech-Art

Special thanks to Dallas Society of Play for hosting a great physical-location/event

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#6Graphics(Jam)4.77
#21Fun(Jam)4.08
#32Overall(Jam)4.12
#52Innovation(Jam)3.92
#56Audio(Jam)3.96
#58Theme(Jam)4.16
#61Mood(Jam)4.00
#104Humor(Jam)3.75
#1362Coolness46%

Comments

Mozz says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:19am

-10 out of 10 truck did not go to prom

Tasty_Jake says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:31am

200 Stars I'm on trucks and I don't care who knowzz

Ninja Garage says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:42am

Graphiclicious!!!!!!!!!

plusultra says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:22am

I loved this! Great job with the sound and the changing light. I also loved the way the floor shattered to progress.

just so you know, it's possible for the floor to shatter when you're in the corner in such a way that you get stuck falling down to the new floor below.

Great job though!

Aug 26, 2015 @ 2:18am

really really well executed. I was wondering at first why the truck was behaving so weirdly but i quickly saw why.

jcourt says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 2:23am

I like the floor shattering. Good Job!

DanteDouglas says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 2:38am

Great use of lighting and sound.

JennyS says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 4:43am

This is just absolute fun.

Aug 26, 2015 @ 4:51am

much artsy so psychology wow

Super fun, guys. The monster truck handles so well!

Lolninjacatz says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 4:56am

I love the take on the theme. The environments were very nicely done, and the lighting and effects really felt great. The juxtaposition between the twinkly jukebox sound and the techno sounding music was great. A particular issue I had was with the sounds overlaying a little too much - you might have wanted to use shorter, less heavy sounds. The game ran a bit slow and it felt like the controls were a bit sticky. I really like the floating text in the game, was pretty cool looking at. I was also pretty happy with how the camera moved. Gameplay wise it was pretty simple, perhaps adding some layers to it would make it more interesting.

Aug 26, 2015 @ 5:39am

Very pretty! It was fun crashing into things. I got into a weird state where the screen was all blurry the music kept playing and every now and then it seemed like the ground was shattering...

Aug 26, 2015 @ 6:46am

amazing game!!

Sparrow says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 2:16pm

Beautiful.

OnionBlaze says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 1:20pm

Destroying all those buildings was really satisfying. Great game!

los.pixelados says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 7:24pm

"Full stars" the game is really fun to play my only problem is that lag but I wish saints row 4 had this mini game.

Cheers,
Alin Putinelu (los.pixelados)

nomand says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 3:12pm

This is an awesome use of theme with a twist! Awesome awkwardness of the car controls as well, everything just fits together nicely.

mubox says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 4:49pm

Nice audio and very good graphics. ^^

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]