Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Monster VS Tanks

by wilpel1234 - Compo Entry

This is Monster VS Tanks!

A game where you have to survive for as many waves as posible while tanks are attacking you. Every time you destroy a tank youll get a amount of money depending on what wave you are on. You can use the money to upgrade stuff on your monster such as speed, health and shooting speed (Didnt have time to add more).

Controlls: WASD to move, SPACE to shoot

I'm quite unhappy with this game because i changed the idea 8 hours in and didnt have time to make this what i wanted it to be.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#300Fun3.26
#336Overall3.27
#345Theme3.57
#519Graphics2.98
#542Humor2.53
#551Audio2.50
#652Mood2.69
#710Innovation2.61

Comments

EmanP says ...
Aug 23, 2015 @ 11:26pm

You are the real monster... I kept losing at level 8 ;n;

Crypto137 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:20pm

This is a pretty fun game. I liked how trees catch fire and sound effects sound almost musical. A bit repetitive, but with a bit of polish could be a very good game.

tomdeal says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:22pm

nice game :-) I did not survive 10 rounds :(

WebFreak001 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:22pm

Really nice game, I really liked the upgrade system and the graphics. However I think the prices in the shop are wrong because I could buy the 1500$ thing with 1300$ and then i still had like 300$ left.

Zerkruemler says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:26pm

Nice idea, but sometimes not clear why my shoots dissappear in the middle of the screen.
The upgrade shop is well done, but you are already very strong at the beginning.
Some kind of music would be nice.

Mister_Melon says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:43pm

I actually found this game really fun, I really liked the mechanics and the upgrade system, it was really enjoyable and quite difficult at times which actually helped the enjoyment even more, it suited the theme well and I really liked the cute art style, the sound effects were nice but the game could have done with a soundtrack which would have helped the mood a lot. Overall very enjoyable game just could have done with some polish in the parts I critiqued well done.

CodeNMore says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:52pm

Fun! It is really cool!

Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:56pm

Tank Bird Simulator 2015! Wonderful Entry!!

DifferentName says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:57pm

Thematically, why is the monster getting money from destroying tanks? How are they spending it?

Jod says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:38pm

The tanks won...

gene-z says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:45pm

Hard ... but fun

markoburzan27 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:28pm

great game i suck tho

bodsey says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:29pm

No Mac version ><

TooMuchPete says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:36pm

I love the way the trees catch fire! That's really neat!

GameQuester says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:36pm

Fun game, but there is something wrong with the prices in the shop? Good work!

Josho says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:37pm

wave 5

wilpel1234 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:38pm

Yea i updated a price in the shop but forgot to change a variable

uheartbeast says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:38pm

Actually quite fun. The collisions felt a bit strange but the upgrades made the game interesting.

razavidn says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:39pm

Pretty dang good game for a weekend! Consider flashing or exploding a shot when it hits the tank so I know it actually hit the tank and is dealing damage.

MegasDragos1 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:40pm

I just can't win level 6! This game is hard!

Zammalad says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:41pm

Simple but fun mechanics. Enjoyed playing it which at the end of the day is what makes a game. Fits the theme nicely as well. Few bugs in it though like upgrades listed at one price but available when I had less money and also some issue with firing when you hold the movement keys.

Aelius says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:43pm

nice game, needs some balancing, also the shop is kinda buggy

elmoGames says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:56pm

Funny Game, nice graphics. Think you could balance the power ups better

Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:29pm

Nice game, i enjoy it

frokes says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:34pm

Nice game! It has an element that many entries lack: Progression. Would have been nice with some more tank variants. Overall a solid game!

Rongon says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:40pm

Fits the theme, and also quite challenging.
Upgrade system gives additional replay value, which is cool.

Aug 28, 2015 @ 11:02am

It's fun! Would be nice if the missiles didn't cause quite so much damage (first time I died, I had no idea how, since I thought I still had plenty of health left) and different types of tanks would be nice, but running out of time to add all the features you want is something I understand all to well.

mathijs750 says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 11:06am

Quite hard. The tank bullet feel a bit unfair due to their small size. Nice you added an upgrade system.

MrMordem says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 11:07am

Fun entry with a simple charm to it, it kinda reminds me of old amstrad titles, the upgrade shop is nice, and the graphics while simple are really good, i live the little touch that you set the trees on fire if you shoot them :)

veoviscool12 says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 7:43pm

I liked it! I would say my only complaint is that the monster is so big that it becomes pretty hard to dodge stuff without some form of escape or reprieve (I know this is a part of the challenge, but it's also important to give the player a sense he could have escaped had he been more skilled). Maybe a short immunity power-up, or upgrading a health regen factor? Either way, I like it and it has a lot of potential. :)

Jajo says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 7:43pm

Enjoyable. I especially liked the upgrade system.

PIXEL^3 says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 9:47pm

Couldn't play, got the following error:

Exception in thread "main" java.lang.UnsatisfiedLinkError: no lwjgl in java.library.path

This error is very strange, especially considering that I saw all of the library files inside of the jar, so I have no idea why lwjgl isn't loading.
System info: Oracle Java 8 on Ubuntu 14.04 64 bit

chuckeles says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 5:42pm

I like how trees catch on fire, nice small detail. Nice little game you have there!

Jelinib says ...
Sep 9, 2015 @ 6:49am

I went several levels beyond level 10 (upgraded speed to at least be able to move between bullets, faster shooting when stuff died too slow, and upgrading/refilling health as needed). Feels good to be overpowered! But then I broke it...

I had to stop when I had "upgraded" my shooting speed to -1, at which point I was no longer firing at insane speeds, but instead was only able to shoot one fireball and no more.

Also, some purchase prices seemed inconsistent with what they actually took from my money. Like, I'd have a little less than the required amount for a $1125 upgrade, but attempting to buy the upgrade still went through, and I'd still have a couple hundred bucks leftover.

Cool, fun game! Love the little legs on the monster, and the "encouraging" words from the scientist dude were also pretty humorous. :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]