Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

My planet needs me!

by reiknight - Jam Entry

You are "Monstruo" a monster living in a child's room. You want to escape unseen because... well, your planet needs you!

The game includes in-game instructions :)

We only have finished the tutorial of the game but we can add more levels using json files!

We have used Phaser 2.4.3 and Typescript.

Enjoy!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#419Audio(Jam)3.04
#748Mood(Jam)2.81
#841Humor(Jam)2.15
#864Innovation(Jam)2.54
#875Theme(Jam)2.92
#897Graphics(Jam)2.52
#929Fun(Jam)2.48
#989Overall(Jam)2.63

Comments

magicdweedoo says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 9:27am

nice music, i liked it

euske says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 9:37am

It took me several tries to pass the black shadow.

Nikteddy92 says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 9:37am

Funny graphic and nice audio!
Well done!

lebrokholic says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 9:47am

Monsters, Inc. :D Nice

BeardyBard says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 10:50am

The game is nice stealth, but very short.

colinn says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 12:06pm

Stealth games are fun. I had trouble in one section though, not sure if there was a bug or I didn't understand the rules. It was right after the bed and I would get caught even when there wasn't a dark shadow on me. I'll try again later :)

chromebookbob says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 12:53pm

great music and cool idea, the gameplay is a little confusing

Obvious_San says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 1:09pm

It is a bit confusing, but the idea is sweet : ) Art is okay, Music is good!

solarexplorer says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 2:20pm

Character movement controls felt strange, slippery maybe.

Xanjos says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 2:37pm

A few bugs here or there and it probably would have better if the spotlight was a different colour as it's quite hard to tell if you're hidden or not but overall it's an interesting concept.

OFF says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 4:09pm

That's a great concept but could have been more complex. The detection of the human when he go back is too sensitive because he see you even if you can see his field of view. That's make the first shadow insanely hard.
There only a tutorial but that's better that some game (like mine) who didn't have one, and let the player in the dark.
And could have been more fun with a kid to avoid instead of an adult at least for the first stage.

Aug 27, 2015 @ 4:15pm

I had trouble getting past the bed. Maybe the failure is a bit too unforgiving? A small timer where you can escape if you run/hide quickly enough would be a good way to encourage people not to give up too fase.

Frozen Stick says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 5:30pm

Nice music and ok graphics.It's so hard to past that guy in the very first.I guess you should make him stop for some seconds to at least pass but nice idea!

Electron says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 2:41pm

Maybe the music is the whole game

CodeNMore says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 7:10pm

Great music, the shadows came a bit quick at a few points, but that made some challenge, fun game!

mantis says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 10:16am

Fun sneaky game, could use more levels!

freaknarf says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 12:04pm

Good idea, a bit short !
It was hard at first to understand the darkened was the enemy's vision, and not another shadow :D

Larzan says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 1:48pm

Very short, but nicely done, would like to play more :)

Atridas says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 3:15pm

Interesting approach. Would have loved to see more levels that the tutorial one ;)

folex70 says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 8:46pm

good!

KR-Eddie says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 10:23am

Nice music and mood.
As others said, the way the shadow appeared when the human turned made it a little bit too hard, specially for a tutorial level. Other than that, one or two more levels wouldn't hurt :)

Grahhhhh says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 11:57am

I was starting to think I wasn't going to be able to beat it! I liked the game, would've enjoyed to see more of it, too short!

Vennril says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 12:26pm

Neat game, nice stealth mechanics. For some reason the crouching was hilarious to me :D

UekiShurei says ...
Sep 11, 2015 @ 1:02pm

Nice music and concept! I can definitely feel the Monsters Inc. vibe here. One thing to improve, though, would be for the guards to have a turning animation so the players would know when he's going to turn, reducing the amount of trial-and-error needed.

logiclogue says ...
Sep 12, 2015 @ 2:08pm

I enjoyed playing this game. It was a bit difficult but made it more fun in a way. Good job!

Flaid says ...
Sep 12, 2015 @ 3:55pm

The premise of this game is pretty good, but it was incredibly hard to get past the man walking since he changes direction instantly and his cone of vision catches you immediately.

Once you figure that part out, it is possible to finish. It is too bad that there isn't more to the game, as I think it has pretty good potential!

crucknuk says ...
Sep 12, 2015 @ 7:42pm

okay, there some little issue here that is a bit frustrating.
First of all is the text that explains you how to play, you die several times without knowing what to do because the text appears at the same time you are supposed to do something, as an example, the vase.
I didn't understand what to do until i die there, i read the word "space" because the white text in the white light doesn't actually show up too much.
The stealth concept is not that bad, it was short but not that bad because it worked. More explanation would have been nice, but anyway short but....intense :)
nice job

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]