Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Megaworm

by micdoodle8 - Compo Entry

Become the Megaworm! Eat all the things!

Controls:
ASWD or Arrow keys

Note:
I feel as though I mismanaged my time this Ludum Dare, working on controls and textures for too long - there's many missing pieces and the 'combat' doesn't feel rewarding. Feel free to leave suggestions, thanks for playing!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness66%
#135Innovation3.60
#167Fun3.50
#178Theme3.85
#209Overall3.48
#327Mood3.19
#416Audio2.84
#466Graphics3.10

Comments

Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:35am

Very neat and original concept. Controlled very well. Good job!

OnlySlightly says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:45am

Wow! That was great. The movement of the worm felt very fluid and felt like a worm should. The more I played the more I was impressed. The subtle camera pans and zooms made it feel ever better. And nice touch with the minimap. All around great game!

DarkStar says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:45am

YES! that was fun great job. the controls were spot on for this kind of game. those rocket guys are rough though.

Twiebs says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:45am

Amazing controls. The concept is really unique and i found the game-play really enjoyable. Only complaint is that the camera gets too close.

Korso says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:49am

Very good controls, and the music is good too.

CluelessGames says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:54am

Very cool idea and well executed, though short this is an excellent game.

andyman404 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:59am

Sorry, I couldn't get it to run on Mac OS X. I have been able to play other Java games on Mac, but couldn't get this one to run. I'll have try it on Windows later.

micdoodle8 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:04am

@andyman404 Did you get an error or anything? I have no way to test it myself :/

Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:36pm

Very cool game.

I think the mine laying enemy is a little detrimental to the game. Its impossible to eat them without taking damage.

Elenesski says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:01pm

fun idea, had difficulty related my location to the mini map.

Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:05pm

You should make a sequel where you eat those mines. They were so much easier to hit than the humans...

Anyway, good game, I enjoyed playing it.

Quetzakol says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:06pm

The controls are a bit strange sometimes but it was rather fun :) The music is ok too, did you compose it ?

Mister_Melon says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:12pm

Overall I liked this game, I thought it had a very unique and innovative concept and overall was quite fun but I found the short gameplay a bit repetitive (if it was mine hit the guy on the way up dodge mines on the way down, if it is a guy with a rocket launcher just pop up and down as quick as you can, this could be fixed by the addition of varied enemies but you obviously wouldn't have time in 2 days), it suited the theme in a unique and very interesting way and was perfect for it. I loved the cute art style and the audio was quite nice as well. The audio and art style were perfect for the mood and vibe I was getting from the game and overall I enjoyed the experience, good job.

Gaius Baltar says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:15pm

Awesome game! I really like the menu animation.
I just wanted to point out that at one point the worm split into two, so I was essentially controlling two characters. Also, once I finished the screen started vibrating and nothing else happened.

AndyBrown says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:18pm

I think you did fine managing your time, the controls are what make this game great! Really impressed with the different movement schemes between dirt and empty space. I would love to see more of this, jumping through vertical shafts to get flying enemies seems like it would be fun. Some crunching for digging through dirt and sounds for popping through the dirt into empty space would really add a lot to the feel of the game. Great job though, my favorite entry so far!

Damdoshi says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:39pm

Very nice game = ) This is pretty original. The worm splitting was unexpected and awesome. xD

guoboism says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 12:43am

Very good concept! We saw that giant worm/snake under dirt so many times in various game. Now we finally can play as it!

Zambini says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 6:06am

This game is so good! It took me a second to understand what was going on, but once I got the hang of it it was great! It is just like being one of those Eaters from Terraria! Really solid work on the momentum aspect. Your score is very fun and upbeat, and loops very well :D

Those rocket guys are jerks though!

Dizzyman572 says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 4:46pm

Pretty cool game, this game really reminded of the movie Tremors. The only complaint I really had was that there was no win condition. After eating all of the humans there was nothing else to do. Still though it was a really good game. :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]