Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Fairycula

by dusho - Compo Entry

Nothing will stop mighty Fairycula (offspring of Tooth fairy and Dracula, obviously) from having a snack and returning home. Definitely not angry villagers with axes and pitchforks...

Instructions:
WASD - movement
Left mouse - melee attack (suck blood, steal teeth), can be used on dead body before it vaporizes, also uses blood (1)
Right mouse - ranged attack (spitting teeth), slows target by 20%
Goal: have a snack and return home, follow the road. Watch out for spikes, they hurt.

Used:
Unity5.1
Visual Studio Community 2013
Paint.NET
Audacity

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness54%
#254Theme3.71
#351Humor2.96
#365Overall3.24
#410Mood3.08
#453Fun3.04
#462Audio2.73
#544Graphics2.93
#766Innovation2.48

Comments

K1llercake says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 1:07am

Haha! I like this a lot.

zanenga says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 1:40am

Cool game!

Josh H says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:00am

My first time out I went to a one of the villagers and saw blood coming out so I thought I was killing it. Turns out it was killing me! So I tried again and actually read the directions this time. I killed a lot of them second time around.

This is a cool game. I like the art style and the sound effects really set the mood. Well done.

Mimus says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:13am

It's very fun game

panda says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:25am

Fun! The game was a little difficult for me, but that's because it's hard to do right mouse button on my laptop. I wish you offered an alternative!

jstclair13 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:54am

Really cool game! It was fun!

frokes says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:26am

Haha,that's nice! I really like the effects and the cartoonish art style. My only complaint is that the difficulty is ramping up a little bit too fast. But other than that it's great!

KodingNights says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:50am

Some animations would be cool. However clean graphics but a little odd with the mix of top down and side view.

peterkirk says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:24am

I liked the concept, it was really unexpected.
At times I felt like I was getting hit from nothing.

belva1234 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 1:55pm

This game is fun :)

scriptorum says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:35pm

Great application of the theme. Gets hard quick!

pirate_shell says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:55pm

I like the idea of the character xD The game was nice, but the infinitely spawning enemies and the lack of animation dragged it down a bit IMO.

ZzCalvinzZ says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:02pm

pretty good...effects were good and pretty satisfying. not the most creative but good job overall.

MrDave says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:04pm

Kudos for putting in a settings menu.

The rest of the game was enjoyable even if it was a little slow for my liking.

TackoramaLtd says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:38pm

Very funny game that went with the sillyness of the concept. Could really do with more effects and music and some sprite animations.

marudziik says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:00pm

Fun to see an entry without "pixel art", but decent and playable. Liked it - was able to get to that welcome sign in 3rd approach, after I used the trick to "drink" blood from humans when they're already dead, but haven't disappeared yet.

Perkovec says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:42pm

Good game for the hackaton. Interesting idea.

awesomerex says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:53pm

Fun! I liked using teeth as a weapon lol. Gross!

collaboration says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 6:13am

That was funny, I would like to see more but more difficult, now I't s almost impossible to die.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]