Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Hello Dear Friend

by ruthiepee - Compo Entry

Have you ever dreamed of being an email scammer? L@@K no further-- Hello Dear Friend simulates sending emails, hiring employees, upgrading your computer systems, and getting rich quick!

$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$

Code: HaxeFlixel
IDE: Sublime Text 2
Graphics: Adobe Illustrator
Sound: Milkytracker
Fonts: Roboto Medium & Roboto Slab Bold

Shout out to RVA Game Jams for hosting this weekend.
Special thanks to Will (@x01010111 ) and Momin (@foolmoron) for their helpful code tips.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#6Humor4.50
#71Audio3.68
#76Graphics4.10
#99Overall3.76
#105Mood3.64
#144Theme3.90
#188Fun3.46
#704Innovation2.62
#1268Coolness48%

Comments

crare says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:23am

Great looking game. Fun to play, I would like to see more upgrade options. Works with theme.

lubos says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:33am

I can't help it, I always get hooked on clicker games!

bodsey says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:28pm

I loved the premise and the take on the theme, but I just hate cookie clickers, sorry :/

charliecarlo says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:32pm

$5 for a textbook. This game definitely gets a 5 for humor.

razavidn says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:33pm

Mmmm clicker games. Love 'em to death. Unfortunately, these puppies rise and fall on the ability to keep unlocking new things, and once you start getting employees, the game kind of breaks. Awesome entry, just needs some super expensive things that aren't upgrades! (Maybe super-powered employees qua different color dinos?)

Clurect says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:35pm

Wow this was really fun and simple! :) I really like the graphics

Demy says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:35pm

hehe, fun clicker. Cool game!

Jawesome says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:37pm

I loved every bit of it!!!

Zerkruemler says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:37pm

Cool clicker game with funny story and nice graphics and sound. I didn't find any further upgrades or any hint for a goal to reach.

JackDegree says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:37pm

Hilarious! ANd cool art/music!

Just a heads up: employees seem to be making 10 bucks a second, not 1 as indicated on the status screen?

uvwar says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:41pm

Hm, yes, the Icthyosaur are very reminiscent of De la Beche's drawings, a nice touch.

MrSylar59 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:43pm

Nice art, I like those kind of games, it's quite fun to play

BuffaloPhil says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:45pm

That was great

MaesK says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:51pm

Nice clicker game! Reeeally funny, the spam in general but specially the animation of the employees. Awesome :D

frokes says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:29pm

Sorry this is not my kind of game. Nice music and the graphics are good but it gets boring pretty fast. Would be nice if you would know your goal...

garygreen says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:33pm

That was fun and funny. Great graphics. :-)

boardtobits says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:33pm

Great look and actually gave a purpose to inane clicking. Nice work... you monster.

omaha says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:31am

Nice! I loved the premise, and I particularly loved the animation of the employees.

Was there something I could click to go back and show my dad how wrong he was?

ruthiepee says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:50am

@JackDegree: oof, that's my mistake-- forgot a zero. Thanks for pointing it out.

@omaha: No, there's no ending.

@razavidn: Great suggestions. If I expand upon the game, I'd introduce floors of the office building, then buildings, then office parks, and so on for upgrading your $$$ exponentially.

Everyone else: BACK TO WORK!

mrcdk says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:35pm

RIP my mouse :( Brb, need to spam more!

Aug 26, 2015 @ 12:36pm

Pretty sweet deal - some arbitrary goal would have been nice, just because I know you would've had a really funny scene where the hero one-ups his dad or something. I've been thinking about doing a clicker for some time, maybe you've finally convinced me to do so, Dear Friend! All I need is some start-up capital - please wire it to the following banc account number by expres cheque now!

01010111 says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 5:18am

I clicked so much that employees were $0 so I got 2k, and then I noticed my money freaking out! I kept wishing there were commas in the numbers because I felt dumb looking at big numbers and not knowing which one was bigger :P Anyway, the art is really really good, and you managed to make another really funny game!

Awesome job!!

Aug 27, 2015 @ 10:03am

Great fun, although after my second billion I started to get a little bored

psychonull says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 8:44pm

Hello dear friend, this scamming-simulator is great! everything feels just right. The graphics are great, they remind me about the game "to build a better mousetrap". Every detail (email templates, employee curriculum, etc) is a big plus.
Thousand separators or other kind of number representation (such as 200K, 2M, etc) would make the game so much enjoyable towards the end. Other than that, congratz on this awesome entry.

Aug 29, 2015 @ 8:29pm

Haha. At first, I thought "Spam-sending clicker game, funny" and was not planning to go very far... but then I thought "well ok, maybe just let me make enough to hire one employee" aaaand then the compulsion-loop snagged me. Good job! :)

OnionBlaze says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 8:36am

Lol, funny game! :D

dukope says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 6:39am

Nice! My only wish was for comma-separators in the numbers. And an ending.

valid4life says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 4:46am

Lots of fun! I actually had quite a few employees and had 4048 EPC!

OadT says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 10:04am

Very funny story. The gameplay needs some additional balancing, but it already makes quite fun :) Graphics and audio is great, I also love the different e-mail texts :D
Is it possible to have 3 bosses like in the screenshot? I had all employers but hadn't see an option to get a new boss. Maybe I simply overlooked it or its an older sceenshot. Anyway nice game!

Sep 2, 2015 @ 11:30am

Addictive! And I felt evil the whole time I was doing it. Great entry!

Drauthius says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 7:16pm

You know what they say, the first $50 is the hardest. Nice game! Must have been either really enjoyable or really frustrating to write all that bad engrish. :D

6DownStudios says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 5:11am

Great take on the theme, very funny! Art style and music really matches the hilarity of the premise, kudos!

Sep 13, 2015 @ 12:18pm

Funny idea! I included it in part 28 of my Ludum Dare 33 Compilation video series, if you would like to take a look :) https://youtu.be/UzsNzPlW29s

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]