Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

0G

by Jimjam - Jam Entry

There’s been an explosion on your space station, and now the place is filled with flaming debris and other bits and pieces. Naturally, the explosion took out all the vital systems so you’re left to sort out this soupy mess in zero gravity. Explore the station and get things back in order!

Hotfix:
* I've uploaded a hotfix build which should fix the issue of the cursor not being properly locked to the window. Please let me know if this is still an issue. My apologies to those who've already played! :/

Controls:
WASD or arrow keys: Fly around in zero gravity
Hold space: Brake
Left click and hold: Grip debris objects
Numerical keys: Make repairs

Notes:
- Some of the tutorial messages that pop up on screen can be easy to miss - keep an eye out for them
- The game probably requires quite a beefy PC (sorry if it runs terribly!)
- That being said, it’s recommended that you play on the “Fantastic” quality setting, at 16:9 and in fullscreen mode
- Hold escape to unlock the mouse cursor
- Braking is important in zero gravity!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#10Mood(Jam)4.48
#44Innovation(Jam)3.98
#60Overall(Jam)3.98
#77Graphics(Jam)4.39
#266Fun(Jam)3.43
#773Humor(Jam)2.29
#992Theme(Jam)2.58

Comments

JoshuaBurr says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:28am

Really loved this. I had a slight issue with the cursor not disappearing properly and so I was always clicking outside of the game window.

benmcnelly says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:30am

Woah killing it on the mood and graphics man!

TurtleP says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:49am

Very calm and relaxing, but finding the pieces seems to be more of a hassle than fun.

Pantoufle says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:29am

I really loved this game!
The idea is great and beautifully realized.
It took me some time to realize what were the Repair Bots and how to get them.
It took me some more time to realize that I would be more efficient with my headphones on.
The musics fits well and creates a relaxing atmosphere.
I really enjoyed it and I would like to see more of this in the future!
Great job!

Jimjam says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:12pm

Thanks for your feedback everyone, I'm glad the game is enjoyable :)

@JoshuaBurr: Not sure what the issue is there with the cursor, but it should be locking and hiding itself at the start. Thanks, I'll look into it.

@TurtleP: True, it can be quite a pain to hunt down all the pieces. I originally had fewer parts in mind, but ended up with 15 of them, which does make the process quite a hassle.
Thanks for your feedback.

amras0000 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:12pm

Hey, I'll give this a proper review/rating if I remember to later, but for now I'm unable to play the game because of the unlocked cursor. Could you please update your game with a "LockCursor" script somewhere?

function Update () {
Cursor.visible = false;
Cursor.lockState = CursorLockMode.Locked;
}

Shaw says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:46pm

Atmosphere, graphics, music, everything was totally spot on, only issue was the fact my mouse kept going outside of game window. Would love to see you take this further though. Excellent job.

Andrew Adams says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:50pm

Fun game. In the web build you may want to lock the cursor to the game screen.

Jimjam says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:02pm

Hey all, I'm just busy looking at this cursor locking issue. I am locking and hiding it, but not in Update, just Start, so that may be part of the problem. I'll do a fix for that and upload in a bit.
Thanks for the heads up everyone!

Jimjam says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:25pm

Alright, I'm busy uploading a hotfix that should fix the cursor not being locked to the window. Doh! Sorry to those who've already played.

reckhou says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:25pm

Great game. The physics part is good. But I didn't finish the story since I lost my direction.

voidstar33 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:06pm

Excellent!! another beautiful game. Brilliant.

hate-marina says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:40pm

Very Kubrick-ish, good job.
2447 seconds, 40 minutes - longest time spent playing LD game so far :D

nicotuason says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 1:54am

One of the most unique and well-executed ideas I've seen in a long time! Everything works together so well, and the music is perfect because it keeps you from getting too frustrated. My only suggestion is to lower the number of pieces you have to find, or make them closer, because the station is quite large and difficult to navigate. But besides that, awesome game!

Patomkin says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 8:56am

I really dig the initial repair process and overall mood of the game. Cool!

Jimjam says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 9:48am

Wow, thanks all, that's great to hear!

@hate-marina Haha, It's awesome to hear that, though I also feel a bit guilty for occupying so much of your time :P

tmpxyz says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 10:18am

the mood & BGM makes good effect.

I didn't make to the end as I got 3D-dizzy :)

Aug 26, 2015 @ 1:53pm

Very cool idea. Had trouble finding any repair bots, but even still just floatin around was very soothing.

TomOlivier says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 2:00pm

Very nice game, music is perfectly fitting the calm atmosphere. Since the station is big, it takes a lot of time to find all the pieces (and I actually couldn't find any bots or pick them up). But overall very nice work !

CADmiy says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 2:31pm

It's great, but why would you include the .pdb files?-)

Aug 26, 2015 @ 2:33pm

WOW! nice graphic and music, it's match very well. The blur makes me dizzy but it's fine after vision repaired.
I believe your team is experienced in game development.

dacharya64 says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:57pm

This is a great game! Love the soundtrack and the art is good. The whole atmosphere of the game really puts you right in the moment. Gotta say that all that zero-g travel did leave me a bit nauseous, haha. Made it to the end though!

One note--although helpful, the noise for the audio sensor did irk me a bit, esp. when I already had the body part piece so didn't need the sensor to tell me it was right in front of me.

Overall, loved the game, and looking forward to seeing more!

Zephyr Raine says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 9:37am

Black screen after the instructions :( couldn't play, looks sick though

tweedle says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 9:32pm

Sweet game! Flying around in zero G is a blast. I really enjoyed how you have to repair your own abilities to properly play the game. Really great immersion!

Tuism says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 10:46pm

The production value is phenomenal, I especially loved the depth of field - I've always wanted to employ it in a game, and this one did it pretty nicely. It was so cool that I was reluctant to fix it :(

The flying controls are frustrating - yes air break is important, but then you kind of just drifted from one stationary point to the next, felt like... snooker. And the camera auto-centering back to default gravity down makes it hard to control - I get that it orients the player, but it's frustrating trying to manoeuvre while it's turning your head all the time.

Then some direction for what you want to do would be nice... I repaired everything, then was left with repair 10% hull which I tried forever and then gave up. There was no other indication of what to do as far as I could till. I wondered around a bit and just was done with it :P

Great tech :)

aviktorov says ...
Sep 12, 2015 @ 9:04pm

I spent an hour playing! Excellent!
(But I had to start again, because of the arm was in the wall.)

Sep 13, 2015 @ 9:07am

Nicely done.
On the other hand, it was sickening a bit. xD
Anyways, nicely done, keep up the good work!

Creative Sectors: Kardfogú

handkor says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 7:24pm

Really good concept/story. Good job.

Sep 14, 2015 @ 6:11pm

Your game has been rated by our team member Antonin Charvat (music composer). Here is his comment: One of the best games I have ever played in LD. Very strong atmosphere, great music and original concept. Unfortunately I didn't manage to build complete robot, because I couldn't have found the last piece of it, although I have clearly heard the beeping around.

Oct 8, 2015 @ 12:45pm

Really awesome game. I love the look of it, and floating around in space is quite fun... I included it in part 31 of my Ludum Dare 33 Compilation video series, if you would like to take a look :) https://youtu.be/smH_qgd8pMY

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]