Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

KleenEmUp

by tanjent - Compo Entry

In KleenEmUp your mission is to remove all the heroes from the arena. Stamp the monsters on the playfield and try to eat as many heroes as possible. If the monsters can't find anything to eat they spit out whatever previously eaten.
If all the monsters eat the same kind of item you earn a bonus action - be sure to use it!

For this time I've done both a Flash and HTML5 version of the same game. It would be very interesting to hear if you have any problems running the HTML5 version.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#140Innovation3.57
#527Overall3.05
#575Graphics2.88
#648Fun2.75
#660Humor2.26
#824Mood2.23
#846Theme2.53

Comments

Multiplexor says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:31pm

Hey! It's a nice concept!

It would be nice to put some music, sound effects, particle effects, to make the game more appealing.

tompudding says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:32pm

Interesting puzzle mechanic that I've not come across before.

Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:35pm

This is fun, but the addition of sound effects would really add to it. If you do an update, try using rings, round-rects, or something instead of the monsters -- they'd "frame" the things you're going to chomp instead of covering them up. I think that might make it easier to tell what you're doing. (Larger-sized playing pieces would help with that, too.) Nice job!

boardtobits says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:28am

Great puzzle idea. Unique take on the theme.

Eingya says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:58am

Cool puzzle concept! Not much in the way of playing on the given theme though.

Caspila says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:10am

Interesting puzzle concept but I got to agree with Multiplexor, you need more juice in there.
Good job, i'd like to see this concept more polished!

Afenda says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:12am

Nice system removing items. it'is very easy for me but it is fun game for 48h of compo.

fullmontis says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:13am

This is a lovely puzzle game, really like it! And it is quite hard too.

iossif says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:20am

that is a nice puzzle game.
the feedback on what i am hitting could be a bit clearer - i sometimes had to look 10 times before i was sure what pattern i am using and what i am hitting.

Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:33pm

Nice pattern mechanic ! It could use some more feedbacks and reward though, it feels kinda dry right now

tanjent says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 7:02pm

Whoa, thanks for your comments guys! I felt like this was a total turd because of this monster theme (that I am still not friends with). Maybe I'll revisit this mechanic someday later, if you have any cool ideas just dump them here m'kay?

Koneke says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 8:27pm

Pattern mechanic is nice, although it's a bit frustrating at times to lack control over it. Right now it feels like it's pretty chaotic, and you can just click without minding the board much, but I think the general mechanic could be refined and done something pretty neat with!

Komradus says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 10:00pm

Nice concept. Simple and enjoyable.

MrTwister says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 8:00am

I really loved the concept! It's definitely missing some animations and music but I really like your take on the theme! Pretty cool idea. Hope you develop this further.

ajopart says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 8:01am

Solid gameplay ! Well done.

Empyrealhell says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 2:31am

Really interesting take on the classic "lights out" game. Could use some audio and polish, but for what's there, it's really nice.

LittleThor says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 6:50pm

Interesting game! More "juicy" elements would have been great an appealing ^^
I think your "Reflections" paragraph is pretty acurate. Level design on puzzle games is a very hard and long process that can't be done in only 48hours.
Great work!

xWarZonex says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 7:14pm

Really cool game, and looks very complex. I'm not smart enough to learn how to play though XD.

Demy says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 11:21am

Nice little game, but I think that I can place the pattern beyond the frame a little is a cheating =)

glerikud says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 11:29am

Very nice concept! You could vary it up a little though, like making gems useful in a way maybe? And add some music, than it vould be perfect

bradur says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 11:48am

A well put together puzzle game. The atmosphere suffered a little from the lack of any sound effects whatsoever. Well done!

shawn42 says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 4:26pm

Basic concept is good, just add a bunch of polish and you'll have a nice little game here.

hgcummings says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 8:45pm

Nice game. Simple concept; very well executed. The variety of shapes and regurgitation mechanic lead to some interesting puzzles.

Kizler says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 5:30am

I really like how the puzzle mechanic works.

NightShadow0 says ...
Sep 6, 2015 @ 8:21pm

Interesting concept, but it doesn't seem like there's a lot to it, i didn't feel the difficulty increasing at all and barely had to think about my plays. Could be more interesting if you couldn't place your monster pattern if it overlapped with rocks, perhaps.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]