Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Lord of Fantasy III

by DraKlaW - Jam Entry

[UPDATE !]

We finally packaged the game for Windows ! You can download it below.

WARNING: If the game complain about missing "vcruntime140.dll", you must install the "Visual C++ Redistributable for Visual Studio 2015" (x86). For this, you must execute "vc_redist.x86.exe" wich is provided with the game if you chose the first link, or download in there: http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=48145

Have fun !

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

"I am Akhua of Normood ! And you... you killed my brother, prepare to die !"

First off, a little bit of fluff :

Ten years ago, the dark forces of evil gathered over the world of Gaea. Nobody dared to stand and fight for their freedom. The world was falling into darkness...

Until a simple man, now known all over Gaea, stood to defeat the dark forces. His entire village had been set on fire, his parents murdered and his little sister kidnapped. He fought to save her, and sent back Lord Draegerorn into the darkness. The Great Hero Talgarr then returned to his village, rebuilt it and lived peacefully with his little sister Ahkua.

The years passed quietly, and Ahkua grew to become a beautiful and strong woman. She and her brother healed their wounds, and turned themselves towards the future...

But the forces of evil had never vanished. They merely waited for the right time to reappear and take revenge against the world. They attacked the village and murdered the Great Hero Talgarr. Lord Draegerorn thought him to be the only barrier to his domination over Gaea. When she came back from her training, Akhua found the dead body of her brother. Thus, she took his sword and swore to avenge him and kill Lord Draegerorn.


=====


In our game you will play, obviously, as the Dark Lord Draegerorn. A group of adventurers will come to defeat you. They are ill-prepared, and will certainly fall swiftly under your mighty blows...

...however, this is no mere dark fantasy story. This bland universe you live in happens to be that of a hastily-crafted JRPG. And thus, before you get the chance to gloat over the dead bodies of your fallen enemies, the player will reload the game. He will head to GameFAQ and learn a couple new tricks to improve, farm up his party for a while, then head over to your dungeon and try again. And again. And again... eventually, with no auto-levelling or fancy glitch left to help you, his powers and skill will outmatch you. Your goal is to delay the inevitable for as long as you are able, killing and hurting PCs, and frustrating the player into making more mistakes until he just mashes the attack button and faces yet another Total Party Kill.

Just like most every boss since the dawn of video games, the PCs only see a chunk of your actual health bar. Your true form will unveil, and your powers will grow twice before the players can finally kill you.

In combat, you have access to several curses : you can strike a single player, cripple them (possibly preventing physical combat techniques) or drain their soul (depleting their mana and possibly disabling their spells altogether).

As your draconic form becomes revealed, you become able to switch your active element. Elemental strikes and storms will deal more damage, and you will grow immune to your current element. However, the opposite element (thunder vs. acid and fire vs. frost) will hurt you more in return. (For example, if you switch to thunder, you will inflict more damage to unshielded PCs ; their thunder spells won't affect you, fire and frost will deal normal damage, but acid will hurt you a lot more.)

Finally, additional curses will unlock, allowing you to slow all players by turning the arena into a pit of mud, or use vorpal strikes that deal lower damage, but have a chance to decapitate your target, killing them instantly.

But remember : after each party wipe, your enemy will reload the game, and reappear with more experience and improved strategies...

=====


Technical information : as of now, the game is only tested to compile and work under GNU/Linux. The C++ sources should compile under Windows, but this is not tested yet.

We will try to provide binaries for both these OSes shortly - in the meantime, GitHub hosts the source which should compile with cmake+make. Sorry for the inconvenience ! :)

The lair library required by the game is also hosted on Draklaw's GH.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#409Fun(Jam)3.22
#484Audio(Jam)2.91
#489Mood(Jam)3.17
#502Humor(Jam)2.83
#544Theme(Jam)3.43
#603Innovation(Jam)2.91
#677Overall(Jam)3.04
#684Graphics(Jam)3.04
#1537Coolness42%

Comments

Jajo says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 8:59am

It's a shame that you didn't fully export the game, it looks brilliant. I'll come back if and when you manage to create a proper exe file. I see the game has some good lore behind it and certainly has the potential for a great game.

Strike says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 6:55am

Totally agree with Jajo :-/

zenmumbler says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 2:32pm

Looks nice, but given that we're all looking at dozens of games, building one from source isn't going to happen. Looks like you've put some time into this so I'll check back later in the voting period.

nihilaleph says ...
Sep 6, 2015 @ 2:19am

Nice game! Really liked the JRPG style! Graphics are nice but I miss some more visual feedback, or some animation... Music and sfx are fun ^^ Also very cleaver to make the same party attack you over and over xp
The Storm curse always hits everybody, including dead chars, so every time you cast Storm you can hear the dyeing sfx xp
Anyway great job!

HellBlazer says ...
Sep 6, 2015 @ 3:18am

Very cool idea. It feels like maybe you didn't have time to implement it fully though? The strategy of the heroes never seemed to change, they just dealt more and more damage, and had more and more HP. No one ever cast any spells for instance, so soul drain seemed useless. Maybe I didn't make it far enough but... not really sure what I could have done to survive longer.

Also, the damage numbers really need to be more visible... or maybe also include them in the attack description text ("Ahkua attacks for 50 damage", etc.).

Anyway, I really like the idea of a jRPG villain simulator though, nice work.

Demy says ...
Sep 6, 2015 @ 12:35pm

Too easy, but nice idea.

Darkflint says ...
Sep 6, 2015 @ 5:00pm

RPG´s are always a nice idea :D I like the title, has it to do anything with Final Fantasy? ;)

zenmumbler says ...
Sep 6, 2015 @ 8:45pm

Given that this is a jam entry and there is only one thing going on, the bugs stand out for me. Dead characters are affected by multi-affect spells, Storm killed a character but his sprite remained; when defeated, the next party was already visible while it said "They were never seen again", and the text used male pronouns for clearly female characters.

I think what is missing is one or more of the following: - a set of graphics/animations for the various attacks; - actual strategies employed by the heroes. Now it's mostly mash-until-dead behaviour; - Visualised status effects, maybe even some cross-hero banter in text balloons.

It feels like you ran out of time, a post-compo version would be cool to see, keep going!

Wryxo says ...
Sep 6, 2015 @ 10:26pm

Very nice.

dancingmad says ...
Sep 9, 2015 @ 11:38am

Nice concept and very fun game! I really liked the different transformations of the boss like in a real old school RPG.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]