Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Lying in Wait

by whalebot - Compo Entry

You are the final boss in a dungeon, but you're sleepy. Try to stay awake until the hero gets through the dungeon so you can annihilate him.

I highly recommend playing the desktop versions as the flash version runs a touch slower, but it still works okay. Also I was seeing some strange font issues on the web target, but nothing game-breaking :)

Bonus! See if you can uncover the hidden music track!

Enjoy!

Made with:
Game: HaxeFlixel
Graphics: Gimp/Aseprite/TexturePacker
Audio: SFXR/Caustic3/Audacity

UPDATE:

I've taken down all of the original links and just put the link to gamejolt where the game is now hosted. This version has a few fixes and some balancing, but is the original game. Thanks for playing/voting for my game!!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness63%
#16Humor4.27
#17Theme4.31
#36Audio3.91
#45Innovation3.95
#47Graphics4.20
#51Overall3.89
#57Mood3.88
#326Fun3.22

Comments

Birke says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:43am

That's not a monster simulator, that's how you get through Ludum Dare! :D Really liked the game. Good art and nice polish effects. It should have been shorter though since there was not a lot of different actions to take so it quickly became a bit repetitive. Also giving the player an incentive to use all the different interactions would be a good idea

jstclair13 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:47am

Great art and interesting concept. It's a to slap yourself in the face. Nice work!

ianh says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:51am

I like the design of the monster!

Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:51am

Hilarious! Love the art. Actually got very challenging by the end.

Acerio says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:13am

Well, that slapped me in the face. Good work :D

Jelinib says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:14am

I got to the end! Seems like head-to-pillar and keeping the lights on is the way to go! Unfortunately, I accidentally skipped the credits by pressing space again...

If I had to nitpick one thing, it's when the red square appears too far on the left, where it's humanly impossible to react to it in time (other than waiting for the yellow bar to go all the way right, and back)... But I think it also fits--it helps to elicit emotions that make me feel just like the monster!

Art, music, concept--everything's great! Very well done!

filiph says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:31am

Haha, this was way too much fun. (Especially considering this is essentially a waiting simulator. :))

tuben999 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:20am

Haha really great work!

peterthehe says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:45am

This would make a great mobile game. Challenging and stable. Good Job!

boardtobits says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:00pm

Felt a little long, but a cute concept for sure! I liked breaking through the pillar.

Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:01pm

Really creative and funny idea! Spot on graphics, sound and execution. I think its a perfect fit for a game jam

Clurect says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:52pm

Great game! The humor was nice!

colludium says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:48pm

Great graphics and sound! I agree with the other comments about game length, but that was very well done.

xWarZonex says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:55pm

Really nice concept, I liked the humor too. I thought the game lacked energy, but I guess that's the point of the game XD. I thought the gameplay was pretty fun, but it felt alittle slow. Good solid entry though! gj

Parappa says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:22pm

I love the atmosphere of this game.

JustinJ says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:38pm

Really cool! Loved all the art. Would be cool if the different methods of waking you up had different minigames, and it wasn't really clear to me how the different ones made a difference. Also loved the tunes!

Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:44pm

That was pretty great. I mean, you don't need all the different interactions, but you end up trying them all just because that damn hero takes so long to reach you! I don't think I've ever seen a game use boredom to prompt the player to experiment, which is pretty neat - I genuinely mean that in a good way, too, since that is kind of the point and once you do start to experiment you find some fun stuff.

Obviously, it helps that the art and music are great, too. I was particularly fond of the Final Fantasy-ish boss battle theme that you can play once you've found the speakers behind the wall.

goodolvic says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:44pm

Fantastic entry and perfectly designed for Ludum Dare! I enjoyed it, though as someone mentioned 5 floors is a lot to wait through with the limited number of options. But then I think that's your point...

garygreen says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:45pm

Great looking game and I loved the idea behind it. :-) Nice work.

Pampattitude says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:46pm

Hahah funny game, creative, challenging with lovely graphics!

EwChap says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:03am

Love the monster design and the animations. Good concept as well. few misses here and there were frustrating due to the red box being right at the start a few times, but outside of that real fun.

miotatsu says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:33am

awesome art, solid music, fits the theme well, and funny! good job :)

LukeZaz says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:34am

Really good game. Loved the music hidden in the wall. It was difficult to tell however why the screen was getting darker and even after I tried breathing hellish flames I didn't know the lights dimmed until I read the comments.

NAL says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:37am

Absolutely adorable idea, well executed. Really enjoyed this. Couple of notes: the blurry text (I think a result of drawing characters aliased on a .5 coordinate) was a little weird, and on my first try, I died just before the hero completed floor 4 - the popup for their completing floor 4 popped up mid-cutscene.

Great stuff though!

Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:06pm

Such a funny idea! I included it in part 2 of my Ludum Dare 33 Compilation video series, if you would like to take a look :) https://youtu.be/ml0OKpi-I0Y

paracatgames says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:47am

Awesome art, and I loved the humor! I would dig a post-jam version with other types of challenges besides timing the slider!

danialias says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 5:02am

Love this game! One of the best so far. The concept and the execution are great (art, sound and animation), and managing the lights and the sleep bar is a lot of fun. Great surprise inside the wall, by the way :)

Good job!

mickanio says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 7:34pm

Awesome animations! Loved the music too. I really liked how the monster walked. Felt real good : )

zatyka says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 2:07am

Very well presented. Visuals and audio were very polished. Gameplay carried on a bit long, though I did like how new waking-elements were uncovered. It felt very unfair when the red box appeared too far to the left. Nice job overall. High marks in theme and graphics!

OnionBlaze says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 4:15am

Quite funny, ahahah

Aug 28, 2015 @ 4:06pm

Psssst! You are in today's Ludum Dare to Believe! Check it out! - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BOdeYnQVeU0

Slothmachine says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 7:49pm

Sweet story nice graphcis. Dungeon bosses life is so exciting.

flokitall says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 7:50pm

Fun game, good difficulty curve and fits the theme perfectly! Well done!

My only complaint would be that the red section sometimes shows up at the very start of the bar and is practically impossible to hit. I did later realize however that I could wait for it to fill up completely and then come back down, but that isn't very intuitive.

Overall, this was really fun to play, the intro was funny and the game-play would probably work well on a touch screen as well :)

chromebookbob says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 10:42am

Really cute monster, and interesting gameplay

Dizzyman572 says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 2:49pm

What a fun little game! What's funny is that I've been getting little sleep because of school so I can really relate to the character. Lying in wait is a really clever game, and I enjoyed every minute of it. :)

Aug 30, 2015 @ 7:30pm

"Quit hitting yourself, quit hitting yourself"

So, this is a very innovative take on the theme. I love it. The repetition and the longevity of waiting for the hero kind of killed the fun. I laughed and enjoyed it.

Great entry!

-Loi Lemix

walsh9 says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 7:37am

I loved the design of the monster and I loved the music. This is a cool concept. I think playing at 3:30 AM may have added to the mood for me. Gotta agree with the people who said it was frustrating when the target appeared on the far left though.

6DownStudios says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 6:12am

I really dig this. Brilliant and hilarious take on the theme, and I have no problem with the repetitive nature of the gameplay. It complements the premise perfectly and gives you time to explore the environment and find the easter eggs, which I quite appreciate; art can be a very effective reward, especially in a game with such great character design, each frame of animation expressive. Soundtrack really grew on me too, but when I found the boombox, oh man. That'll keep those eyelids open. Great stuff.

Techblogogy says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 12:33pm

Fantastic little fun game. Best on humour I've seen. great job!

conormn says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 2:42pm

Great take on the theme, really well done :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]