Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Grind'em'ard!

by nonetheless - Compo Entry

Hello again :)

So you are a little sociopathic monster and you like watching people suffer. So you've hidden behind the bush and throw metal rods at bikers. Not all of them, depending on who you choose you shouldn't aim at your friends, it will decrease the score.

50 points is considered winning as the quote texts at the top end then.

You have to refresh to play again, bug I cannot fix :|

Gameplay is pretty simple, you need to click or press space at the right moment to throw a metal rod at front wheel of bikers to make them suffer. Ohh yeah.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness53%
#20Graphics4.45
#114Humor3.59
#293Mood3.24
#353Audio2.96
#572Overall3.00
#674Theme3.04
#799Fun2.48
#812Innovation2.33

Comments

DaleP says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:55am

Great art style, unique interpretation of the theme. At first it was hard to tell where the rod was going to hit, and the ability to aim would have been nice since both hipsters and greasers often passed by at the same time.

bwafflecone says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:49am

Love the art style, and the music really fit well too.

Demy says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:52am

I love the graphics. The aiming is pretty hard though.

guoboism says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:04am

Great art. Simple game. Personally pick for art.

peterthehe says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:04am

5/5 Art

Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:08am

4 points - "you're good".
Music was a bit too much

TwixtorTitan says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:08am

It would have been more fun if I had the ability to aim :p

McFood says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:23am

Really great artwork. It felt very professional.
The music was a little jarring, but kind of cool.
I enjoyed the amusing flavour text.

As others have mentioned, the aiming is pretty hard. Often my targets would cross too fast for me to realistically hit them, and misses were frequent. I'm impressed you got to 50!

Nice work!

nonetheless says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:36am

@McFood
I did with more time than a minute ;) Probably I should have made it easier ....

LittleThor says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 1:45pm

Awesome art! A very fun and well made game. Nice work!
Nevertheless, it's difficult to know exactly where the hitbox are and it can be frustrating.

OxyOxspring says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:36pm

Fantastic artwork!

mantis says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:03pm

Let's trip some neeeeerds :D

cxsquared says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:07pm

Super great work. The game was fun, the take on the theme was awesome, the graphics were amazing. Really great work!

hobblygobbly says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:08pm

The art is awesome. I also had trouble figuring out where to rod was going to hit (aiming is difficult)

chrissou says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:09pm

Great graphics, love it.
The metal rods thrower really is a monster!
Really hard to aim

Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:12pm

cute, simple, and enjoyable. Has the makings of an addictive pick-up-and-play mobile game. My only complaint is that it can be a little tough to judge the path your projectile will follow in this perspective. A line drawn along the ground might really help make it clearer when you should be throwing rods at the bikers.

madmaw says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:29am

Nice game. Love the art and the colour palette.

Geckoo1337 says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 5:22am

A very fun and well made game. However, I don't know exactly where the hitbox are. I should play again :)

Aug 27, 2015 @ 8:10am

Not sure how accurate the shooting was - results seemed a bit random. Graphics were great though!

bombjack says ...
Sep 6, 2015 @ 11:58am

liked the art.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]